RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Glimpses of Lance at the SF Grand Prix(52 posts)

Glimpses of Lance at the SF Grand Prixelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 7:59 PM
As you all probably already know. Our hero was ill before and probably during the race. I don't have all the facts straight, but I believe he quit halfway through the race (after the 4th lap).

elsaltamontes
Lance waves goodbye.elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:01 PM
This was actually a lap after the previous image at the top of Fillmore.
elsaltamontes
I guess climbing was too difficult with only 9 gears:) nm.divve
Sep 15, 2003 8:00 AM
Who's in front of Lance here?elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:04 PM
This was seconds before the previous post.
Looks like Eki. GREAT pics, BTW - thanks! (nm)jtferraro
Sep 14, 2003 8:25 PM
On to the other racers...elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:12 PM
BIB47. Out of a hundred pan shots, this one came out!!
Nice shot!! n/mGiant_Tom
Sep 14, 2003 8:19 PM
Thanks, here's another a millisecond before.elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:47 PM
It's one thing watching these guys on OLN. But to see it in front of you, you realize how fast they really are going.
Very Nice Shot.............rubendc19
Sep 15, 2003 10:30 AM
The Winner!elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:17 PM
Bib3, from Team Saturn. (if anyone knows his name, step up)

Funny story here, this is about 200 yards past the finish. He was about to do another lap. He didn't realize that he had already won.
Looks like Horner? (nm)jtferraro
Sep 14, 2003 8:27 PM
It is. He won. nmKG 361
Sep 15, 2003 5:35 AM
Roar of crowd so loud, couldn't hear radio ear piece, so road onteamsloppy
Sep 14, 2003 11:18 PM
The rumor on the street(well, the embarcadero)was that the roar of the crowd was so loud, Horner could not hear over his radio ear piece confirming he had won (apparently the usual communication) and decided when in doubt to ride on. The crowd waved him down and turned him around back to the finish line.
That was funny...Lon Norder
Sep 15, 2003 8:36 AM
I saw it on the big screen. He was going full out all the way to Broadway. The announcer said "Heh heh, looks like Horner doesn't know he won the race". Then he started yelling "Stop! You Won! Stop!".
The top of Fillmore Streetelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:20 PM
It's hard to tell how steep this is, but you can see where they came from and how high up they are.
Another shot from the top of Fillmoreelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:24 PM
A...l...m...os....t to the crest...
Look like you had a great viewing spot...K_Zero
Sep 14, 2003 9:16 PM
Awesome photos -- they blow mine away!

Btw, which camera did you use take these photos? Digital SLR?

K-Zero
Thanks K_Zeroelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:40 PM
"It's all about the camera." (to parody a famous book)
Thanks! I have been shooting with my new Fuji S2Pro. You guessed it, a digital SLR. I upgraded from my Canon G2 which couldn't take the shots I wanted. I couldn't be happier. (but I'm broke) :)

It was a spectacular day. It was also nice that they did multiple laps. You can fine tune your shots each time they come around.

Your photos are great! I especially like the one from the bottom of Fillmore. I think that really shows the climb.

elsaltamontes
Wow. Sweet camera. Great shots. Shoot pro?? nmKristin
Sep 15, 2003 6:09 AM
Wow. Sweet camera. Great shots. Shoot pro?? nmelsaltamontes
Sep 15, 2003 12:50 PM
Thanks! I'm not pro, but would like to be. I shoot for Mtbr and RoadbikeREVIEW as extra work. (ConsumerREVIEW, the parent company is where I work full time as a graphic designer.) I'm able to get press pass. Not in this case though. I was too late!

elsaltamotnes
Hey, can you lend me some advice?Kristin
Sep 15, 2003 1:59 PM
I posted this on the Digital Imaging board, as well as the Tech Talk board and I'm not getting any traffic. I'm building a new PC. I will be using it primarily to scan film with a Dimage Elite scanner. Ground up. I'll be buying an AMD 1.6Ghz processor and a Soyo board. I have the burner and drives already. I need advice on video cards, how much RAM and what PCI SCSI controller to purchase. Do you have any suggestions? The Dimage will scan up to 55MB files from film. On my P2 it currently takes 30 minutes to do a high zoot scan. Here's a link to my other post.

Kristin "Cross post from PhotographyReview. Building new PC." 9/15/03 11:26am
The Peloton on Fillmoreelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:30 PM
The peloton reaching the peak.
The Peloton on FillmoreDutchy
Sep 14, 2003 9:07 PM
It must be steep, the Colnago in the front of the picture has a triple chainring.
good call nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 15, 2003 8:24 AM
Crankin'elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:34 PM
Finally, some grimacing...
Fillmore and Broadwayelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:38 PM
I like the warning sign. 'ILL'
After the gruelling climb...elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:44 PM
It flattens out on Broadway.

Great turn-out in San Francisco. I wish I would have gotten a shot of myself where I was standing. I was too late to get signed up with for a press pass, so I had to get creative. I climbed on the T-mobile tent and stood on their fence for 2 hours. Great spot, and I finally got kicked out. Thanks to T-mobile for these shots!
Our local Team Webcorelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:51 PM
They were representin'
Little tongue action...elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:55 PM
It must help when pedalling, cuz Tyler Hamilton does it all the time.
Bib 8, Team Saturn.elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 8:58 PM
Haulin'
speeed...elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:02 PM
nm
speeed...flying
Sep 14, 2003 9:41 PM
Man I love this shot!!
That slack chain adds to the sense of speed
Thanks for great pics!!
Looks like a 55 x 36 up front? nmMg1
Sep 15, 2003 9:33 AM
One on oneelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:05 PM
nm
One on onedavidcuttler
Sep 14, 2003 9:08 PM
Nice photos. I watched from the top of Taylor Street It was a great day!
New Zealand National Champ: Gordon McCauley nmnoveread
Sep 17, 2003 8:29 AM
Woah, nice bike.elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:08 PM
they must have been impressed with my Rivendell. :)
My ride...elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:11 PM
My Rivendell All Rounder got me all over SF!
Pushin' it.elsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:19 PM
nm
Double tapespookyload
Sep 14, 2003 11:35 PM
Notice his left bar is double taped. Wonder if he is doing it as a tribute to Tyler Hamilton?
Left wrist is double taped also (nm)Ray Sachs
Sep 15, 2003 4:05 AM
Double tapeEric_H
Sep 15, 2003 8:23 AM
The rider is Eric Wholberg of Canada. He broke his wrist in a training accident in early July, and it has been very slow to heal. I'm not 100% sure, but I think the break was not immediately apparent and not diagnosed until the swelling went down.

Being the tough guy he is, he has double-wrapped the bars and a soft cast, and still placed 10th at SF. Go Eric!
ofoto's stylin support carelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:22 PM
nm
Nice! The Navigators use an Allroad, too. (nm)jtferraro
Sep 15, 2003 5:50 AM
Comic reliefelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:23 PM
nm
the colnago trioelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:25 PM
in concert.
Victory Lapelsaltamontes
Sep 14, 2003 9:30 PM
I'm not sure if he had one, but maybe he was so far ahead that he felt the need to smile.

What a great race. I hope to see this become a world class event and see the rest of the big guys like Ullrich and Mayo, and Beloki come out to San Francisco. San Francisco turned out quite a crowd. Can't wait until next year.

- elsaltamontes
Great photos. K-Zero too. Thanks. nmBrianNYC
Sep 15, 2003 5:51 AM
what a hill!!!tarwheel
Sep 15, 2003 6:03 AM
Great shots. How steep is that climb? It looks incredibly steep, given that photos usually seem to make climbs look less steep. What sort of gearing do the racers use? Could you tell what their biggest gear was in back? I don't think I could make it up that hill with a triple, from the looks of it.
what a hill!!!The Human G-Nome
Sep 15, 2003 7:45 AM
the hill is about 18% (according to the race organizers) and is part of my normal monday training ride. wathcing Rolf Aldag S his way up it yesterday gives you a pretty good idea of how steep it is.
Outstanding photographic eye KZero..........rubendc19
Sep 15, 2003 10:37 AM
Outstanding photographic eye KZero..........aliensporebomb
Sep 16, 2003 2:41 AM
Indeed - he should be photographing for cycling magazines!

Awesome!