RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Still numb foot plus I lost two more pounds(29 posts)

Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundscyclingforhealth
Sep 13, 2003 10:58 AM
OK, I rode today. I adjusted my shoes to be a little looser to help blood flow to them. I still got the tingling in the right foot followed by the numbness. I really like the set of pedals on my bike, but I hate the numbness. I was thinking that maybe I should try a different pedal set. After looking at my shop I think I am going to try the Speedplay pedals. They have an interesting design compared to other pedals. What I am thinking is I will put one Speedplay on the right side and keep the Shimano pedal on the left to see if the numbness goes away. Has anyone else have any other suggestions? I did the step on the scales today. I am down to 297. I was thinking about trying a weight loss supplement like exercise in a bottle along with my cycling to see if that helps speed the process along. I also saw an infomercial the other night for a new product that garantees fast results. They wanted over $150 for a thirty day supply. I think I will wait to hear of more results with that one.
Look at your name closely firstspookyload
Sep 13, 2003 1:39 PM
Your name is cycling for health. Stay away from the weight loss supplements. All they do is raise your heart rate, which is a bad thing when doing aerobic conditioning. I have been reading your posts and watching your progress. I am very impressed. Don't give into a quicky pill option. Some of those can wreak havoc on your heart. You are losing weight very nicely at the pace you are going, don't give in to temptation. Keep going with what you are doing. Keep it natural and the weight will stay off, use chemicals and it wont!

As for your pedals, I would use both speedplays. The float is too different in the Speedplay and the Shimano pedals, it would be very noticable and drive you crazy! The speedplays are great pedals(I use them), and they will really help with any knee problem you might run into. If you are still having numbness problems, I would look at the shoe itself. If it is too narrow, you will get "hot spots" on the outsides of your feet. I have wide feet, and tried using Sidi Energy shoes. They were too narrow and I ended up with hot spots on the outsides of my feet. I switched to their mega size which is for us fat footed americans, and all was better on the first ride.
I know this sounds odd ...toomanybikes
Sep 13, 2003 1:49 PM
.. years ago I was taught this one.

Your cycling shoes have a very rigid sole which transmits vibration, that's why they ae good at they do. The vibration can cause the numbness. Try insoles in your shoes first, try spenco, spenco gel or even dr. scholls.

May get rid of the numbness and cheaper than new shoes or pedals.

I have used the spencos for years and they are thin enough not to interfere with the fit of your shoes.
Inserts?NC_Jim
Sep 13, 2003 3:59 PM
I have Speedplay X2's and have ridden them for about 4000 miles and just recently started getting numbness/ hot spots in my right foot. The only thing that has changed is the wear on the shoe. The problem has to be in the soles. New inserts have to be the answer.
Re: Inserts?toomanybikes
Sep 14, 2003 9:19 PM
What I actually meant is shoe insoles but for athletic uses - like you may get at a Running Room or something like that. They are pretty thin, don't take a bunch of room in your cleats and are cheap. They also do a great job of lessening vibration throught he sole of your shoe into your foot.
re: Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundskevinmd
Sep 13, 2003 4:11 PM
Where EXACTLY is your foot numb? Do you have numbness on the bottom of your foot, or just across the top, especially between your big and second toe?

There are only three major nerves that run into the foot, and you must be compressing one of them. I have problems with my right foot, and find that I have to wear my right shoe a bit differently than the left. Unless you are just cramming your foot into a too-small shoe or WAY overtightening the shoes, I doubt this has anything to do with blood flow or the pedals.

Weight loss suppliments are a very bad idea. Many of them work by using caffeine, ephedra (the FDA REALLY should ban the stuff) and other stimulants. Mixed with your overall underconditioning (I assume that due to your weight), and heavy exercise, it is just a recepie for disaster. I have lost count of the number of people I have seen with heat stroke, liver damage, kidney damage and worse (death) because of the use of these products in the wrong circumstances. Just keep pedaling, watch what you eat, and the pounds will come off. You are doing great! (I've dumped about 10 pounds in the past 6 weeks or so!)

-- Kevin
Speedplay "Trolls" for left, Speedplay "Numnutz" for right.cyclingforwealth
Sep 13, 2003 4:11 PM
Buy two sets of Speedplays. That will solve this problem. Then, in a week or so, after your upcoming posts about heart rate monitors, chamois pads,
helmets, etc., when you find your other foot going numb, use the other pedal in each pair. (Don't forget to post about stripping the threads when you change pedals.)
Speedplay "Trolls" for left, Speedplay "Numnutz" for right.Spoiler
Sep 14, 2003 5:15 AM
After stripping the threads, be sure to post about squeeking pedals.
As a favor, we should start keeping a check list of tired topics to be covered. This way, he won't accidentally bring up the same topic twice.
Spoiler = cyclingforWealth... That is a fact.spankdoggie
Sep 14, 2003 6:03 PM
I am not here often, but I am pretty good at spotting trolls, Spoiler. I have been through the ringer at golfreview.com the last two years, and I can spot a troll a mile away from my extensive experience at golfreview.com. Your name "Spoiler" is no longer a troll here at rbr, but your other name "cyclingforWealth" is now an obvious fact, based upon your continued responses right after the Wealth posts with a Spoiler response. Spoiler=Wealth: truth... You keep feeding your own troll; you can't help it Spoiler, but you are out in the open like a naked-ass drunk bastard streaking across the Giants infield during a 10-1 win...

I don't know...

Maybe the fact that this poor, fat, determined guy is a local, endears me to him. Hey cyclingforhealth, I will ride with your fat ass (I say that with love) someday; I have been on the lookout for you on my rides lately.
Spoiler = cyclingforWealth... That is a fact.Spoiler
Sep 14, 2003 6:22 PM
I'll break my ban on responding to you in order to clear my good name. Why would I post under "cyclingforWealth"?
Anything I have to say, I can say under Spoiler. Maybe, one day, I just thought up the name and though it was so damn cool I had to post under it? That's too elaborate for a simple-minded fool like me.
Maybe I just wanted to add another voice to the growing number of people who are calling CFH's posts bs? Nope, there's plenty of them already.
Now go back to posting pics of farm animal sex.
Ok.spankdoggie
Sep 14, 2003 7:15 PM
Which farm animal are you, Spoiler?
re: Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundsJoeMomma
Sep 13, 2003 5:17 PM
Look, if you are stupid enough to buy some "supplement" that you saw an infomercial for, then you might as well just go back to sitting on your damn couch! Supplements are not required by law to either A, contain what they say they do or B, work like they say they do.

I have been on the fence about if you are for real or not... and the reason for it is that you say too much crap that just doesn't fit with the rest of what you say. But if you are for real and are not a troll, then go see your damn doctor and ask about some perscription medication that costs $150 per 30 days, but actually works. Maybe you should inqure about a Xenecal perscription or an appetite supressant. Or better yet, get a nutritional consultant to design a diet to fit your needs. But if you are going to do stupid crap like trust informercials and ride different types of pedals to make you comfortable, maybe you shouldn't be riding. Your bike is not what is making you uncomfortable.... it's your body. When was the last time you excercised for a few months? Maybe you aren't comfortable because you are not used to riding....

I hate that this reply sounds so damn rude, but the truth is that you post every 3 days and say something really off the wall and come in for your near daily ego-stroking. If you are really trying to make a lifestyle change, great! but you don't need to let this board know every single step you take in the process. If you need a support group, this board isn't the right choice for you... maybe you should try the weightwatchers boards. They are a support board, and they will relate to what you are going thru and support you. This is a cycling discussion board, not a weight loss forum. I hope you can see the difference and understand why I think your posts are getting so annoying. You are not really coming here to talk bikes, you are here to talk about you and the 9 pounds you lost.
AgreedSprint-Nick
Sep 13, 2003 6:49 PM
The poster was straight and to the point, cyclingforhealth.

1) If your willing to spend an extra $150 a month go to a nutrionist and do it the right/healthy way. And not one that sets you up on their meals like Weight Watchers. Your goal is to lose weight and I'm guessing you want to lose weight for life. If you want to do it you need to begin searching for long term solutions and here a nutritionist can help.

2) About pedals... maybe try the insoles before you go out and buy new pedals and go from there. It could well be your body is not used to working out and its something you need to push through. If that doesn't work and after a little while your still hurting then get new pedals and put them on both sides... pedals are an all or nothing thing.

Without a doubt I respect and admire what your doing but please remember its not a problem throwing money will help solve. Theres no need for diet pills or going out and buying new pedals at the first sign of trouble, instead invest wisely. Like a couple people have elluded too there is a general consensus, myself included, that seeing a nutritionist would be a wise investment.

Good work and good luck!

Nick
Get a life Joespookyload
Sep 13, 2003 8:25 PM
So if this "General" forum isn't for building friendships and enhancing peoples riding, then what is it exactly. I am pretty sure there are forums for componets, racing, training, and every other specific catagory so what is this catagory for in your eyes? Maybe all the posts about first crashes and Lance Armstrongs divorce are more credible in your eyes. Why don't you take your USCF cat4 ego and go somewhere else with it.

And you are wrong about what you said in regards to supplements. They absolutely DO have to cantain what they say on the label, just like any other food or drug product packaged for resale in the US. The FDA does require that. What they don't have to do is perform in the way they are advertised. All they basically have to do is work as advertised on one test subject to avoid law suits for false advertising. So Joe Schmoe takes the supplement, losed ten pounds in a week, and they can advertise it as that. They don't have to mention he drank no water or ate nothing during the same week.
Hey SpookKristin
Sep 14, 2003 5:33 AM
A good number of us don't buy into this guy. He's kinda subtle about it; but this is a long time reader that is making fun of certain board regulars and past posts. Its all parady. Have you followed his posts? He buys a layed back recumbant and then reports that he has a saddle sore from the "saddle." This is a troll. Let the guys torment it for a while. It makes for good fun on a rainy Saturday afternoon.
Hey Spookcyclingforhealth
Sep 14, 2003 6:05 AM
Maybe you should look at my seat (saddle) on my bike. It is shaped like a saddle only wider on my recumbent. Obesity isn't a laughing matter. I wouldn't wish this upon any of you.
Yes I have been following his postsspookyload
Sep 14, 2003 8:11 AM
What if you are wrong about him being a troll? That would make all of you poking fun at him pretty arrogant jerks, right? Yes you included Kristin for telling me to let the others have their fun. I am sorry you guys don't buy into him. I guess I am more trusting of people than you "regulars". I have been posting and reading here since 1999, does that mean I am a regular too? If so count me out of your bashing club. Maybe you should take a look at the picture he posted of his recumbent. Looks to me like it does have a saddle. Sorry I am not up for flaming people on a rainy sunday afternoon. I guess the forum rules and the Forum PactII don't apply to you "regulars". Have your fun with him, but until he proves to be false, I will continue to support him.
Please pick that up off the ground.Spoiler
Sep 14, 2003 4:41 PM
Somebody might trip over that soapbox.
Preoccupation with "Trolls"deHonc
Sep 14, 2003 4:18 PM
Kristin,

Even if someone posts stuff that is made up or whatever - so what??? I don't understand why you are so worried if a poster's comments are this, that or the other. Even if the entire story is fiction - where is the harm?

Dan
Preoccupation with "Trolls"Spoiler
Sep 14, 2003 4:50 PM
The harm is in how far it has gone. The troll is trying to manipulate people by eliciting sympathy and support he doesn't deserve.
People go out the their way to answer questions. What they don't know is that their help is being wasted on some immature, runt who's giggling at his own mischief.
He's doing it to be funny, so we're joining in the fun.
This particular oneKristin
Sep 15, 2003 6:47 AM
Left me on my ass. I guess its just an immature reaction on my part, due to having been humiliated. Anyway. I need to take a break from this board. I'm agruing about trolls with complete strangers on the internet. Definately not the best use of my time. Cya.
re: Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundscyclingforhealth
Sep 14, 2003 6:14 AM
I am not on here to have my ego stroked. At 300 pounds, it is hard to have much of an ego. I am on here to find out how to better use my bicycle to help me with my weight loss. Hopefully one day, when I am thin and healthy I can get on here and have my ego stroked.
re: Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundsZenJones
Sep 14, 2003 9:47 AM
"Posted by: JoeMomma
Sep-13-03, 06:17 PM
ButI hate that this reply sounds so damn rude, but the truth is that you post every 3 days and say something really off the wall and come in for your near daily ego-stroking. If you are really trying to make a lifestyle change, great! but you don't need to let this board know every single step you take in the process. If you need a support group, this board isn't the right choice for you... maybe you should try the weightwatchers boards. They are a support board, and they will relate to what you are going thru and support you. This is a cycling discussion board, not a weight loss forum. I hope you can see the difference and understand why I think your posts are getting so annoying. You are not really coming here to talk bikes, you are here to talk about you and the 9 pounds you lost."

What?! This guy has more to offer than most here UNLESS you actually think people coming here to talk about their latest $4,000.00 bike purchase has much merit besides bragging-rights, 'dig me' posts, 'look at how much expendable income I have' posts, 'check out my amazing gear-now I just wish I rode the damn bike more than 15 minutes a week instead of sitting on my ass posting online here' posts, etc.

Actually, he's one of the only people here that...

1. Uses his gear and doesn't constantly ask about the latest carbon/titanium/digi-interfluxulating/metal zuget zinc silver bronzed scrantum 90 solent green molecular-cell zygote flanged frontforks currently being designed by Dr. Jounil Q. Penzidiick from Holland that will weigh .000000000001 less micro ounces than last weeks Flavor Of The Minute.

2. Posts results of what cycling actually does(i.e. weightloss) versus certain folks here that are nothing more than gear and gadget heads.

and lastly-

3. Troll or not... who's to say that half of the posts here about someones latest purchase that included a free set of titanium/carbon testicle cups isn't, in fact, ALSO 100% bullshit too?

But, you don't see people doubting their posts.

Bottom line... if Cyclingforhealth is real-props to him for his honesty, commitment and testicular fortitude and...

if he's jive... read about someone elses latest post on their recently purchased Linear Yoked Triple Flam Flaked Duodenally Perpetrated seatpost that promises to add 1.1 VO2 to their red bloodcell count and ignore Cyclingforhealth.
Leptoprin is for you!Spoiler
Sep 13, 2003 7:10 PM
http://www.thebestdietpill.com/
is this what your referring to?

This drug is for real. It attacks fat at the source, the genes themselves. Finally, solid science has caught up with the twenty-first century.

Since Leptoprin is for people trying to lose 20 pounds or more, you should triple the dosage to lose 60 pounds.

I honestly don't think there's any need to consult a doctor. I've been hired as a consultant starting exercise programs supplemented with Leptoprin.

The first thing I'd recommend would be for you to wear a heart rate monitor. Since the devise will be part of your Cyclingforhealth program, your health insurance should pick up the bill.

Wear your monitor on every ride. Before your ride, take 6 Leptoprin and strap on your monitor. Ride at your normal pace for five minutes. Then push harder until you reach your target heart rate. Calculating in your weight, and the length of your rides, I believe your target heart rate to be in the 210-230 bpm (beats per minute)

Once your target heart rate of 225 beats per minute is reached, set the target-heart rate alarm function on the device. This will help motivate you as an alarm rings if you start to fall behind the pace. Maintain that pace for 20-30 minutes.

Leptoprin may cause a dry throat. Resist the temptation to drink excess water. Water will just dilute the fat-burning power of the drug.

The pounds will melt away.
LOL. Thank you. nmKristin
Sep 14, 2003 5:35 AM
LMAO!!!superdog
Sep 14, 2003 7:17 AM
I have not laughed this hard in a long time! Thanks!
you mean he wasn't serious? nmDougSloan
Sep 15, 2003 8:02 AM
re: Still numb foot plus I lost two more poundsdaCaT_
Sep 14, 2003 9:09 PM
I would strongly suggest getting custom orthotics for your shoes. I have been having trouble with my feet all summer and got orthotics two weeks ago and the difference is unbelievable! They are a bit expensive but they also made the orthotics for my hiking boots and they have lasted many years.

Congratulations on losing more weight. Weight loss supplements can be very dangerous. They can really mess up your adrenal glands and make biking difficult in the long run. I had great luck with the Zone diet earlier in the year. It is safe and makes you think about your food choices.
The reason his foot is numb...ohmk1
Sep 15, 2003 5:32 AM
If this is a genuine post, foot numbness is very common to people who are new to riding recumbents-which is what cfh says he rides. Even though a GIANT Revive isn't what I would call an extreme bent.
He's probably trying to push too hard of gears at this point. CFH should concentrate on spinning for a good 3 months of riding, so his feet cab get used to the bent position.