RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


De Rosa arrives!(18 posts)

De Rosa arrives!Crankist
Sep 11, 2003 7:03 PM
UPS showed up at work this a.m., box was perfect. I waited for what I considered a decent period, 1 torturous hour, and left knowing that whatever work-related project I touched would be junk. Oh, and plus I wanted to ride :)
Small bits of final assembly were easy: Competitive Cyclist did a perfect job -and I am one fussy SOB. OK, so it's not the tape I'd have used and the Astrale 8 lead wire's a bit sloppy, but I really don't expect a mechanic to fart around the way I would. Shifts perfectly, brakes are centered perfectly, frame rides like it's dead true, and the paint is well, perfect. Brendan was unutterably tolerant of many changes, one of which was a last minute decision to drop DA03 for Chorus 10. (I'm glad I did this for several reasons: the Italian thing, my first Campy, and a really sour taste in my mouth with Shimano given the DA04 pricing structure -$385 for shifters, $165 for a cassette as examples- and the new outright price-fixing policy). He accepted a late request for price matching on the frame (Thanks C-40!), saving me $250. And finally, holy crap, it was done on time. I sure like to b1tch at poor service (and mediocre), and God knows I've had plenty of practice in my business, so it's really a pleasure to stumble across folks this damn good!
Anyway, there's a lot to like with Chorus and the frame about scoots out from under in a sprint. That's the $100/mile review. Later I'll compare it to the Zurich it replaces. Camera doesn't seem to do well at 640 x 480, but since I'm gonna have to listen to a bunch of crap about the stack height, I thought it best to avoid more b1tching about image size. It's good to be alive!
16.5 frame, full carbon fork, CK headset
Full Chorus
Ritchey WCS O/S bar and stem
Fizik Aliante, Thompson post
Record hubs, O/Ps, 3x, 32 front & rear, Revo, alum nips front, brass drive side 15/14 rear.
~18.8 lbs as pictured

Mike
ST detailCrankist
Sep 11, 2003 7:08 PM
Pearl white is far more impressive in person. No orangepeel here.
Tires and 16.5 tubingFez
Sep 13, 2003 8:11 AM
Nice looking bike!

Am not familiar with the tubing, but from the picture it appears to be quite oversize for steel tubing. Looks substantially wider than Reynolds 853. Is this one of the larger diameter steel tubes out on the market?

And what kind of tires? Are they some special TdF Michelin edition?
TT detailCrankist
Sep 11, 2003 7:13 PM
unusual tig dropsCrankist
Sep 11, 2003 7:17 PM
BB weld detailCrankist
Sep 11, 2003 7:21 PM
BB weld detailaliensporebomb
Sep 11, 2003 8:35 PM
Beautiful looking bike, great color choice too.
Sweet ride! Makes the mouth water... -nmTig
Sep 12, 2003 4:14 AM
Stunning, simply stunning.sn69
Sep 11, 2003 7:54 PM
Let's hear it for steel. FWIW, I'm leaning hard towards converting my Shimano Dean steel to a Chorus gruppo.

Again, terrific looking rig.
Ride well,
Scott
..Steeeel. I also have a Zurich...Spunout
Sep 12, 2003 4:02 AM
Every time I think of replacing it, I test ride an AL bike and realise that nothing touches steel, even in stiffness.

Please review the EOM 16.5 frame as opposed to 853. I know the tubes are bigger and thinner; is it as stiff as the Zurich?

The DeRosa will have shorter seatstays also, and should quicken the bike up over the Zurich.
..Steeeel. I also have a Zurich...Crankist
Sep 12, 2003 9:02 AM
Significantly stiffer than the Z. And yes, short chainstays (I think you meant chainstays) mean the ST clears rear tire by only 1/4".
Chorus...PsyDoc
Sep 12, 2003 4:28 AM
What are the differences that you notice between DA and Chorus? I have been contemplating getting a Chorus group to replace my DA stuff.
Chorus...Crankist
Sep 12, 2003 5:39 AM
Well I've got darn few miles, but this much I can say: I've never has as smooth a shift from 39 to 53, front trim is easier, and all shifts seem to happen distinctly faster. And none of that clunking Campy symptom some have described.
Thanks...nm.PsyDoc
Sep 12, 2003 6:38 AM
100% art nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 12, 2003 4:55 AM
Mike - very, very nice!terry b
Sep 12, 2003 6:11 AM
you picked a beauty.
thanks TerryCrankist
Sep 12, 2003 7:42 AM
I'm off to Trinidad,CO for a weekend ride, but I'll contact you early next week for ride plans.
Mike
Very nice! I have a Primato and love it.High Gear
Sep 12, 2003 6:36 PM
De Rosa is a name you can't go wrong with. They pay such anttention to detail.