RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New shoes, numb toes, let's review. I want every wacky and(13 posts)

New shoes, numb toes, let's review. I want every wacky andbill
Sep 11, 2003 1:28 PM
non-wacky thought as to why my toes are going numb with these shoes, because I can't figure it out.
They are last year's NW Silverado shoes. Carbon outsole plate. Theoretical retail value of $180, purchased for $90. The soles seem sort of stiff, although they are somewhat disappointing in that regard.
I put them on, they feel fine. Twenty miles later, my toes are numb. The placement holes for the cleats seem sort of forward, so I have the cleats moved back literally as far as they'll go to get the pedal spindle under the ball of my foot.
I don't really have hot spots -- just pretty much the front part of my foot goes a bit numb. I even put in Superfeet insoles.
It's Your Webbed Feet, Bill...Gregory Taylor
Sep 11, 2003 1:44 PM
Webbed feet are notoriously hard to fit for bike shoes. Have you ever seen a duck in Northwaves? I think not.

Sounds like to me that the sole isn't stiff enough. Try moving the cleat forward, just for laughs.
I . . . I . . . I don't know what to say to this . . . . nmbill
Sep 12, 2003 7:31 AM
re: New shoes, numb toes, let's review. I want every wacky andNASA Noddler
Sep 11, 2003 1:45 PM
Wear the new shoes as loose as you can get them on a ride and evaluate. Can you move the cleats right or left on the sole of the shoe, try that next.

Have you been using some other brand of shoe that wasn't causing you problems?
Yeah, $270 DMT's. They're great, but I was looking forbill
Sep 11, 2003 2:42 PM
something with a similar profile (a lower profile than, for example, a pair of Carnacs I bought used that are indeed comfortable but that require a different saddle height) so that I could stop burning up the DMT's so fast. The thing is, these NW's seem pretty similar to the DMT's; they just aren't working for me. I'm trying to set the cleats up the same, etc., but it's just not working.
I spent $90 to avoid spending $270, but it looks as if, in due time, I'll probably lay out the $270, so that my next pair of shoes will cost me $360.
you want wacky...PmbH
Sep 11, 2003 1:59 PM
Compare them to your old shoes - is the thickness from the footbed to the cleat any different? i.e., does your new shoe have a thinner or thicker sole?

I had an instance when I changed shoes, and the sole thickness changed enough that it affected my saddle height. The change in saddle height didn't specifically make my toes numb, but it did create a number of other leg/foot instances of discomfort that I could not identify for a loooong time.
I think I know whyFrith
Sep 11, 2003 2:08 PM
because I have the same problem. Mostly on my right foot with the baby toe and depending on the length of the ride those toes around it. I'm am the same in that I couldn't imagine having more comfortable shoes. Unfortunately I haven't figured out how to fix it but I have paid enough attention to know what's causing it.
In my case something is causing my foot to push forward and to the right. I have examined my pedal stroke and noticed that my knee tracks outwards during the power part of the stroke my foot wants to follow it. I've also noticed that I'm prone to a toes pointed down pedal technique which further pushes my foot forward.
Here are some thoughts I've come up with as to how i might solve it...
Insoles - The present insole has very little arch built in...my thinking is that a more contoured insole will act as a sort of groove for my foot.
Pedal technique - nothing i can really do about my knee tracking but i think i may try and change the toes down thing.
cleat positioned all the way to the inside...my thinking being that if my foot is centered around where it is trying to go then it won't push as much against the shoe.
cleat positioned further forward...this is just a guess but with more of the foot balanced behind the cleat the tendancy might be for it to slide back rather than forward.
pedals - I'm using mountain bike spd's and I have always felt as though my foot were pronated outwards...almost as if the pedal axle is bent downwards (get me?)..this also happens to be how i walk...i believe it's called under-pronation.
As you can see I've put way to much thought into this and it might simply be remedied by a change of shoe and pedal system (something i'm in need of anyway)
I think I know why - Try this -lc21998
Sep 12, 2003 8:30 AM
I have a very similar problem (small toes of left foot going numb). I just switched shoes (from Lake's to Sidi's) and the new ones are much better. It's still there though.

Here's what you (and I) need to do: Go to Slowtwitch.com and read a review of the LeWedge, which is a piece of plastic that you put between your shoe and the cleat and which tips your foot a bit so that it pushes down on the pedal evenly rather than just on the outside or inside of your foot. You can buy the LeWedges online for about $25. Dan Empfield (creator of Quintana Roo and editor of Slowtwitch) claims they're great. Then let me know if they work ;-)
Straps too tight. Loosen up, Bill! nmBrooks
Sep 11, 2003 3:39 PM
Check the tongue for slippageNatC
Sep 11, 2003 5:48 PM
If the tongue slides forward in the shoe even a little bit, it an bunch up on top of the midfoot, pinching the nerves on top of the foot. Does the tongue have a slot for the velcro strap to pass through it to help hold it in place?
FWIW, I'm having the same problem with my NW'sCRM
Sep 12, 2003 10:52 AM
I switched to Northwave Centurion's last year because I wanted velcro closures as opposed to the all mechanical closures on my Sidis. No problems last year, but all sorts of foot and numb toe problems this year. I've moved the cleat all over the place but can't find a sweet spot with no problems. I'm thinking about wearing the Sidis for a few rides to see if it that cures it. Beyond that, I have no idea what's causing it.
Bill, it's that danged Pegoretti :-)ET
Sep 12, 2003 11:28 AM
Seriously, maybe it's the angle that your toes rest in the shoe that causes the numbness. I've noticed this in some running shoes too. If so, not much you can do about it. You may just have to swallow the loss and get different shoes; not worth risking permanent numbness and the like. I wonder if the top-of-the-line Evolutions (a shoe I am considering) would give you similar problems.
Bill, the shoes are different. Left shoe goes on left foot,djg
Sep 13, 2003 6:49 AM
right shoe goes on right foot. Your wife could help you sort this out, but probably won't. Ask one of the kids.

I had Pierre help me with this during a fit session at spokes, before he got canned, and let me tell you the improvement was amazing.