RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


"Back to School" time...my morn. commute just went to hell..(16 posts)

"Back to School" time...my morn. commute just went to hell..biknben
Sep 10, 2003 5:12 AM
My morning commute was interupted by a big yellow blurr this morning. A bus pulled along side of me just long enough for me to notice the right blinker flashing. It made the right hand turn across my path as I'm even with the folding doors. I was forced to make the righthand turn with the bus to avoid disaster.

Bus came to a stop only a 100 yards up the road to pick up kids. Needless to say I got in her face. She blew me off and ignored me which just added to my fury.

She wouldn't give me her name (no surprise there) but I got the plate #. After going on my way, I realized I should have gotten the bus co. name and bus number in addition to the plate number.

Anyone have an opinion on best course of action? Should it be a careless driving summons or a letter to the bus co? I would normally consider letting this type of thing go but her attitude really pissed me off. I'm not some fly she can just wave off. I would like to remind her of that.

Just to clarrify, I was not actually hit but had to turn to avoid being hit.
I would call theJL
Sep 10, 2003 5:28 AM
police AND the bus company.

Since you don't remember the bus co. name, I would definitely start with the police. They may not give you the time of day, but maybe they'll actually be good enough to file a report. Better yet, is go to the township police station where it occurred and try to speak with someone face to face.

Since you know where the bus stop is, you can now look for this bus driver again to get their name and # to contact the company.

The only reason I hate seeing school starting up again is these insane bus drivers. I don't like to "classify", but I've had very few good incidents with these people. It's worse than the "Soccer Mom mentality." They're indestructible in these things.

Hope you get somewhere with this.

John
JL is right.....newridr
Sep 10, 2003 5:40 AM
Contact BOTH the police and the bus company.

Good luck and safe riding.

-Chris
Just wait at the same time and place tomorrow. nmorange_julius
Sep 10, 2003 5:30 AM
I wouldn't get my hopes up . . .ms
Sep 10, 2003 5:48 AM
I think that you should take some course of action. But, I wouldn't get my hopes up. Other than when school bus drivers do something that has an adverse impact on the kids on the bus, I get the feeling that they largely are immune from adverse actions based on their driving. I treat school busses as if they were nuclear waste carriers -- I just stay as far away as possible.
Call the Board Of Ed too.KeeponTrekkin
Sep 10, 2003 6:02 AM
Here in NJ, the Board of Ed is responsible for school bussing. The advantage of calling them is that they are civilians and you can be very demanding of them (which you cannot do with police.) The disadvantage is that they too can ignore you.

On a very sober note, a 3 yr. old was killed last friday in my town waiting with his mom & older sibling for the school bus. He ran into the path of an oncoming van which was in front of the school bus. Needless to say, noone knows why he did it or how it could have happened. Not bike related, but it should be a wake-up call to all Boards of Ed that they should see their responsibility as being broader than scheduling the bus routes.

Your driver sounds like the lady bus driver on South Park!

KoT
re: "Back to School" time...my morn. commute just went to hell..brian n
Sep 10, 2003 6:37 AM
this reminds me of a friend of mine in high school who had the same thing happen to him, only the bus knocked him down. the double wheels in the back actually RODE OVER HIS LOWER BACK, and while he was screaming in the street, the bus driver didn't do anything. later she said "i thought I hit the curb," despite the fact that she was making a left turn from the right lane without a blinker.

my buddy was actually unhurt in the long run.
not sure if it's a bus co or they're owned by the school systemJS Haiku Shop
Sep 10, 2003 6:44 AM
but i do know that their insurance policies are fairly stringent and they take **ANY** traffic inconsistencies or offenses (and complaints) **VERY** seriously. get a bus # (usually printed on the front & back in large black numbers), note time, place, location, and direction and report to the board of education. inquire about the "reporting structure" and ask for a person in charge. follow up in writing--school systems are notorious for governmental bureaucracy, your complaint has a 40% chance of slipping through the cracks.

getting bus information should be easy--they are on a route and schedule.

take care of it before somebody gets hurt.

i'll bet spoke wrench could shed some light on this situation.

-J
Dallas area ride killed by school bus.LEW
Sep 10, 2003 7:35 AM
Larry Schwartz, a ultra cyclist from the Dallas/Plano area was killed by a School bus this past May. Driver did not stop. Don't know what has come of this. Any one know?
Be safe..
Lew
complainDougSloan
Sep 10, 2003 7:42 AM
I used to be a school bus driver in college. I can tell you that the qualifications are minimal. If you have no criminal background and can demonstrate that you can drive the bus for about 5 miles without hitting anything, you have a job paying minimum wage. The job sucks. Who wants to drive a big, cumbersome truck at 6 o'clock in the morning with 40 screaming, fighting kids on board?

However, they did make it clear, and this was 20 years ago in Missouri, that even the slightest traffic infraction, even while not driving the bus, would get you fired.

If this is a regular route for you and the bus, it should be easy enough to see the same bus and driver again. You should be able to indentify her. Then, call the bus company. Usually, bus service is contracted out to private companies by the school district, but still heavily controlled by the district. I'd start with the company, though.

Doug
Deal with it and get on with your ride...270bullet
Sep 10, 2003 11:41 AM
Every day, every ride, there is some encounter with a car/bus/truck that is not ideal. Some guy turns left in front of you. Some guy turns right in front of you, some guy comes to close, some guy yells at you.

You were not hit, you were not hurt, you took good defensive action to save your skin. You demonstrated skill at avoiding a collision. You demonstrated being an A$$ by yelling at a bus driver in front of all the kids.
Deal with it and get on with your ride...Spoiler
Sep 10, 2003 11:52 AM
If this is the guy's regular route, and it's also the bus' regular route, and he just "deals with it" he's going to get run over every day.

Maybe the driver had already cut off a couple cyclists that very day. Those cyclist didn't say anything, so the driver had no reason to chance.

Yelling at the driver in front of kids makes a point. Hopefully the driver will remember the incident and not let it happen again. If he says nothing, maybe the driver will be running over little children next.
Deal with it and get on with your ride...270bullet
Sep 10, 2003 2:45 PM
Yea, it does make a point - you're an A$$hole - which is exactly what the drive probably felt as he was "getting in her face".

If it's his regular route and he knows the bus is going to turn right, then he won't be beside the bus when it turns right, but rather passing on the left, like a reasonable person.
Whatever you say bud...biknben
Sep 10, 2003 4:23 PM
After reading this response I don't think you understand what was happening. I was being overtaken by a bus. I was in the right shoulder and the bus was in the traffic lane to my left. The bus did not go by me before it made a right turn across my path. The bus didn't just pull over. It made a right hand turn and then, once on the side street it stopped a little way up the road.

Now, explain how the Fock I'm supposed to pass a bus on the left while this is happening.

If you think this behavior by motorists is acceptable then be sure to smile as you're pulling yourself out of the ditch when this happens to you.
If a verbal repremand makes me an A$$...biknben
Sep 10, 2003 4:13 PM
...Then I'm one big mother F'in A$$hole.

Yes, nearly every day I deal with being cut off or encountering close calls. The incident is all too typical. I worked my way out of the situation because I ride defensively and anticipate stupid behavior. I was on high alert when I realized the bus was slowing down next to me. I specifically looked at the turn signal to get a jump on the situation. I noticed it just as the driver turned the wheel.

This woman's behavior afterwards irked me as much as the incident itself. She thought she could ignore me and I'd go away. She refused to take responsibility for the incident. Before she drove off she asked if she had hit me. When I replied, "No" she said "Then why are you here?" I will not stand for this type of treatment. I'm not a piece of sh!t.

I'll be at that stop tomorrow morning with my digital. I'll get all the info I need and I will be writing a letter to the bus co. and the school district. I'm still considering going to the police.
Do you know what school district it was?KG 361
Sep 10, 2003 3:35 PM
If so, you could contact them and they should have, or be able to get, the driver of that route and/or her bus company.