RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone know of this saddle Selle Italia Storika?...(8 posts)

Anyone know of this saddle Selle Italia Storika?...Djudd
Sep 9, 2003 2:57 PM
I saw it in the Aug "procycling" in a section hailing products out for the TdF centenary (including a remake of the vintage Molteni Eddy Merckx!!). This saddle was very retro with leather base and what looked like contrasting leather patches on either side. The photo was very uninformative as it was taken much to close to give any perspective on the look of the saddle. Has anyone seen this seat? or have release or distribution info on it?

thanks
re: Anyone know of this saddle Selle Italia Storika?...DIRT BOY
Sep 9, 2003 3:30 PM
Here you go: http://www.speedgoat.com/prod/store/categorie.asp?pid=5235

Selle Italia Storika Saddle

Product Info:
Features "retro-modern" saddle with the traditional "brass" rivet appearance of years gone by and modern technology. Suspended leather pads on a "skeleton" frame flex in the soft tissue seating areas providing comfort never experienced on the "retro" saddles.

Specifications:

| titanium alloy rails
| extra light nylon base
| retro design
| every individual has a different body type and recommending saddles is difficult; the people at Speedgoat use everything from a Flite with all padding removed (and no cycling shorts) to some DH saddles; we're always happy to help you with specific saddle suggestions based on our experiences, so never hesitate to ask for help -- but keep in mind, opinions vary

Weight: 205 grams
re: Anyone know of this saddle Selle Italia Storika?...DIRT BOY
Sep 9, 2003 3:31 PM
Here you go: http://www.speedgoat.com/prod/store/categorie.asp?pid=5235

Selle Italia Storika Saddle

Product Info:
Features "retro-modern" saddle with the traditional "brass" rivet appearance of years gone by and modern technology. Suspended leather pads on a "skeleton" frame flex in the soft tissue seating areas providing comfort never experienced on the "retro" saddles.

Specifications:

| titanium alloy rails
| extra light nylon base
| retro design
| every individual has a different body type and recommending saddles is difficult; the people at Speedgoat use everything from a Flite with all padding removed (and no cycling shorts) to some DH saddles; we're always happy to help you with specific saddle suggestions based on our experiences, so never hesitate to ask for help -- but keep in mind, opinions vary

Weight: 205 grams

DIRT BOY
Largest Gallery of Light Weight Bikes
re: Anyone know of this saddle Selle Italia Storika?...DERICK
Sep 9, 2003 3:36 PM
http://www.mtbreview.com/tradeshow/interbike2002/kore/productpage1.shtml

http://www.cbike.com/saddles.htm#Storika

http://www.glorycycles.com/seitst.html



http://www.bikyle.com/saddlesrd.asp

Behold the power of Google.
Thanks all...it's somewhat more elaborate than hoped for...Djudd
Sep 9, 2003 5:46 PM
though still attractive in an odd way
I saw one at my LBS..Qubeley
Sep 9, 2003 8:24 PM
I was really interested in the saddle when it first appeared in the magazine, could be the perfect for my retro-modern Gios.
The actual thing is really not as impressive as it looks in the magazine. I think this saddle is from the same line with SLR, similar shape and light built. comfort on this saddle is achieved by the flex of saddle. The leather patches and rivet is more for the look than anything else. No breaking-in required for this saddle, as I was able to flex the saddle quite a bit with my weak little hands.
My problem with this seat is its POOR finish. The patches are poorly cut. It looks like it's done by a 4th grader with a pair of scissors. No typical "italian craftmanship" here. Definitely not as neat looking as it appeared in the photo above. The leather patches are muche thiner than it looks in the picture. When I hold this saddle in my hand, it just feels very flimsy.
I am sure this saddle can be comfortable, but my expectation were high, and the actual thing is just so-so. For $120, I think I'll stick with my old San Marco Regal.
Nice Bike!!!Fez
Sep 10, 2003 5:24 AM
Got any more info & pics? How old is the frameset?

Nice modern touches, like the new carbon levers.
For more info..Qubeley
Sep 10, 2003 9:06 AM
check out retro forum, 1983 Gios Torino Professional:
Qubeley "My new steed--Gios Turino" 7/26/03 10:52am