RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Under 300 Lbs!(27 posts)

Under 300 Lbs!cyclingforhealth
Sep 9, 2003 12:52 PM
I weighed in this morning. For the first time in years, I am under 300 pounds! I am going to keep on riding and eating the Subway diet.
you might give jarrod a run for his money yet (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 9, 2003 12:55 PM
"run?" nmnoveread
Sep 9, 2003 1:14 PM
Where have you been ?Scot_Gore
Sep 9, 2003 2:01 PM
I been posting cows for ya, after all :-)

Scot_Gore "Ride to Taylor's Falls – A Ride Report" 8/24/03 10:51am
congrats!!!! nmMKD
Sep 9, 2003 1:14 PM
Awesome.Jervis
Sep 9, 2003 1:49 PM
Keep it up. The pounds keep rolling off. I lost 15 over the summer.
You must have brushed your teeth. nmcyclingforwealth
Sep 9, 2003 2:02 PM
re: seriously, subway?collinsc
Sep 9, 2003 2:07 PM
I cant believe people think that is healthy. Subway will not help you reach your goals. Changing your lifestyle for permanent, life long health is the only thing that will keep. Eventually you will need to feed yourself, you really should learn how.
re: seriously, subway?DERICK
Sep 9, 2003 3:41 PM
I fully agree with you but it's probobly a lot better than what he was doing to himself. May not be the best for the long term but at least it's a step in the right direction while he learns more.

Congratulations
What's wrong with Subway?53T
Sep 9, 2003 4:14 PM
Lean turkey, vegtables, whole grain bread. Sounds like the athlete's diet to me.
dont forget to pick upcollinsc
Sep 9, 2003 4:32 PM
the bag of cheetos, the large coke, be sure to add oil and mayo and cheese.

and while youre at it, go ahead and forget that your sandwich is 12 inches long.

sure, it's better than mcdonalds, but starving is better than mcdonalds. If all youre eating is turkey, vegetables and whole grain bread, why cant you make this for yourself?
Do you have any idea what your talking about?Sprint-Nick
Sep 9, 2003 4:45 PM
As you may know fat does not make you fat... excess calories do. And of course you need some fat in your diet... fat which a plain turkey sandwich although low in fat does not have to help fill you help. Hence cheese on the sub is actually good, it helps bring up the total fat of the sandwich. Combined with a juice or 1%/skim milk and cookies instead of chips you have an excellent meal.

I do agree to try to stay away from the mayo and oil, however when used sparingly these can be a substitute for cheese.

More importantly the fresh veggies, fresh baked bread and non-deep fried meat make this meal far superior to almost any other fast food meal. On top of this since you can just stroll into a subway and get all the toppings that would be hard to keep at home if its what helps someone eat healthier its hard to criticize.

Cheers,
Nick
usually, its that most often, other people dont.collinsc
Sep 9, 2003 6:20 PM
"fat does not make you fat... excess calories do"

if one pound of fat is ~3500 calories, 150lbs of fat is 525000. That is nearly a years worth of extra calories.

"cheese on the sub is actually good"
"when used sparingly"

See above.

"far superior to almost any other fast food meal." (I believe I already conceded this point...)

"hard to keep at home"

my ONLY point, Nick, is that regarding the habits. Strolling into subway when youre hungry isnt any different from strolling into mickey d's.

Healthy is not a diet, it is a lifestyle. And one that does take a massive conscious effort to get into.
Sure subway is good for now (I hate to even imagine the sort of diet that makes you 300+lbs) at this point in cyclingforhealth's new life, anything is better than the old ways. But if he is serious, and he does seem sincere, things have to change.
Amen!KG 361
Sep 9, 2003 6:42 PM
So many people miss that point that you don't lose weight PERMANANTLY by being on a diet. Your eating habits must change. Forever. If they don't, you'll constantly do the Oprah.(Lose weight, gain weight, ad nauseum)
Just try not to make it a personal attackSprint-Nick
Sep 9, 2003 9:20 PM
Before I begin cyclingforhealth can read all of this so give the guy the credit for being proactive. Theres a lot of people like him who just give up and concede to being obese, its a problem of our society.

And if it matters I agree with both of you, but collinsc your tact at explaining your view was almost a personal attack shooting down the subway diet. Its one thing to express an opinion and its another to practically throw the book at him. Subway will not be a very viable long term solution for cfh but you need to ask yourself at this point is it worth pointing out? I struggled with doing it the last couple times he posted but decided it was better to say congrats and give him the credit he deserved. But now that the opinion has been stated by a few of us cfh I hope you take our advice on learning how to eat for the rest of your life by doing some reading and/or consulting a nutritionist.

Cheers,
Nick
Thats whygildomilo
Sep 10, 2003 5:19 AM
I used weight watchers for 3 months and stuck to it like glue. I lost about 10-12lbs a month. I have been off of weight watchers for 6 months now, and still remember all the portion sizing. This helps me when I go to a place like subway realize that you only need to eat half of a 6" sandwich for lunch. I rarely eat subway and eat a lot of hummus and veggie sandwichs now. Processed meat is scary in this country.
-GIl
What you say is true. Very scary.Kristin
Sep 10, 2003 7:44 AM
That's why I stopped reading Robin Cook. Enough of his novels and I'll starve to death.
Completely disagreeKristin
Sep 10, 2003 7:37 AM
Strolling into Subway is a whole hell of a lot better than strolling into Mickey D's any day of the week. If you have to eat on the run, Subway is not a bad choice. Now you won't lose 150 pounds by eating anything you have a hankering for on Subway's menu, but a 6" turkey sub on wheat with veggies and a slice of Provalone, a glass of water and a cookie is WAY more nutritional than anything on McDonald's menu. And besides, the "Jerod" diet is limited to only certain selections on the menu, not the entire menu. Have you ever ever looked at their little pamplet?

Okay, so eating at Subway 2 times a day is not the best option in the world; but its not a horrible starting point while one learns about good nutrition. What Nick says is true...kinda. I suspect Nick meant that eating "fatty" foods like cheese is not as bad as you made it sound in your post. Fearing fat grams is out-of-fashion. Its been shown that low-carb fatty foods, like cheese, don't get stored in the body as readily as complex carbs.
Hmmm... its working for cyclingforhealthSprint-Nick
Sep 9, 2003 4:36 PM
I disagree with you. Right now what cyclingforhealth is doing is working for him. So cyclingforhealth keep doing what your doing if its helping you lose weight.

However I do agree with collinsc... eventually you will have to 100% how to eat healthy without going to subway. There will be days where you HAVE to go to a restaurant or can't make it to subway, and in the long term eating subway everyday isn't all that economical either. So I'd like to recommend 2 things; 1) start doing reading on nutrition - nancy clarks sport nutrition is a great start and 2) investing in a nutritionist even every couple weeks to help you settle into a meal plan is also a great idea.

Option 2 is great because they can give you great feedback.

Congrats cyclingforhealth... keep up the good work!

Cheers,
Nick
re: Under 300 Lbs!FTF
Sep 9, 2003 3:27 PM
About a year and some ago, I was over 315 (thats as high as the scale went) Now I wheigh 203, Which is as thin as I think is healthy i"m 6'6". My mother saw me recnetly and said that I looked emaciated, which I took as a complement.
re: Under 300 Lbs!pump
Sep 9, 2003 5:17 PM
bottom line: Cyclingforhealth got off of his butt and took responsibility for HIS health situation to better himself. That first step takes alot of courage and sticking to anything also takes an ample amount of self-discipline and pride. Congrats CFH!
Contact the Subway co.geeker
Sep 9, 2003 6:00 PM
If you lose enough weight, they might put you in a TV commercial with Jared. Hold out until they agree to show the 'bent, too. ;-)
Great Idea, Congrats CFH! Keep it up! nmTNRyder
Sep 9, 2003 6:34 PM
re: Congratulations!novardr
Sep 9, 2003 7:54 PM
Congratulations my Brother, take the encouragement and disregard the negative waves. Do not get discouraged if you hit a wall and the weight does not seem to come off. Stick to what you are doing and try to incorporate the healthy eating habits into your daily lifestyle. I see some posts from folks who probably do not understand what is like to be large and try to make the transition to a lifetime healthy lifestyle. Myself I tip the scales at 280+ at only 5"10" My wake up call came last year at my parent's' 50th wedding anniversary. I got a lot of comments about my size and when I saw myself in the pictures, I decided to get busy. I looked bloated and was extremely out of shape. After only 18 months out of the military I went from a solid reasonably fit 215 lbs. to a bloated looking, sucking wind climbing the stairs 295 lbs. Although I have only lost 15 pounds, I have lost a lot of inches on my thighs, hips, waist and now I am losing inches on my chest. I know in time that the weight is going to go down. I have been through this before 3 times, but did it the military way, Lose it or get out. I lost 25-40 lbs every time, but did it too quickly. I always gained it all back and then some. This time I am taking it slow. As a few of these posters have said it has got to be a lifestyle change. My low weight lost I attribute to 2 factors, 1. I have not made enough changes in my diet and 2. Muscle mass build up from riding. I feel as fit now as I did when I went through aircrewman survival training 20 years ago. I completed 75 miles Sunday @ average 16 mph pace. How about one of you 145 pounders strapping an extra 100 hundred pounds to your back and doing the same. On September 20th I am going to lead a team of 9 riders on the MS 150 at a 15-16 mph pace. Even though I am the 2nd oldest, largest and heaviest in the group, no one has dropped me yet. We range in age from 22 to 45. CFH keep up the good work, keep on spinning and know that you have been in inspiration for me to do the same and Thanks to all you folks that have been supporting and encouraging this man because it has done the same for me. CFH when the little guy tries to tell you what to do, tell him what I do, "Never underestimate the power and speed of a fat man." or "I am kind of like a freight train. It takes a little while to get my steam built up, but when I am at speed you better not be in the way." Take care and I will try to post more to let you know how I am doing.
re: Congratulations!ECF
Sep 10, 2003 5:08 AM
Agreed! I've been 280+ for far too long. I just decided to do the MS150 (city to shore) myself and have been in training for 6 weeks now. I don't know if I've lost any weight since I hid the scale a long time ago. We just didn't get along. :-)

CFH, keep up the good work and keep posting your progress. There are plenty of us in the same boat as you. I'd be thrilled to get to 225 right now.

"Never underestimate the power and speed of a fat man."

Wow, great line. The group I ride with always loses me on the up-hills, but I ride off the front on the downhills. Amazing how an extra 100 pounds will propel you down a long hill, eh? A few weeks ago we were descending a long downhill and I coasted past the ride leader like they weren't moving at all. The discussion afterwards was priceless. My favorite line...

"Never underestimate the effect of momentum"

Keep up the good work guys.
absolutely inspirational!zonaspeed
Sep 9, 2003 8:32 PM
Keep up the good work! You and novardr are absolutely amazing and I mean that I really do. Keep it up!
SO HOW DO YOU LIKE YOUR NEW BIKE SO FAR?ohmk1
Sep 10, 2003 5:23 AM
Curious as to how you're liking your new ride.