RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??(19 posts)

OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??JBergland
Sep 9, 2003 9:01 AM
I jumped into the full cable this year mostly for OLN. Now the coverage has been pretty good for the most part, but I'm quickly becoming disappointed. The schedule of when cycling events are going to be aired (days/times/etc.) seems to change each and every month. There is also very few rebroadcasting of events later the same night. missed it at 7:00. catch it later at 11:00?? Looking at the viewing coverage of the Vuelta. you've got to be kidding me!! No primetime airing?? PBR for 2-3 hours?? Looking forward to Oct., cycling all but disappears!!

Disappointed, and getting worse!!:)
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??ClydeTri
Sep 9, 2003 9:05 AM
You want to go back to when we got one hour of the TDF on network after it was over and nothing else? Got a solution for you..go buy a VCR and tape it in the morning..then you can watch it primetime and cut out the commercials.

Its all about the bucks...their programming people tell them they can make more profit with what they are showing...be greatful for what we have.
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??shrEd
Sep 9, 2003 9:15 AM
Exactly! I actually prefer to watch my tapes of the Grand Tours because you can FF past the stupid commercials or replay key moments.

Wait, is this a commercial for TiVo?

I was annoyed at no LIVE coverage on the weekends. We (yes, my wife loves to watch road racing) really enjoyed watching a stage while eating breakfast on a Saturday or Sunday morning before the day takes over.

C'est La Vie,

Ed
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??JBergland
Sep 9, 2003 10:16 AM
I do have a VCR... tapes to!! Thanks for the suggestion anyway.

My point is this... OLN's cycling related coverage is very POOR right now. They have a rebroadcast from 3:00-4:30???? What target market is that going after???? Then PBR or something similar for 2-4 hours just about every night. Take a look what Oct. is going to bring... even less!! I WOULD NOT rather go back to the 1 hour of post-event network coverage... but OLN's current schedule has got to change!!
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??asgelle
Sep 9, 2003 11:22 AM
OLN has said they want to anchor their summer schedule with two main sports: cycling and bull riding. They say that neither one is sufficiently popular to carry the network so each need the other for the outlet to survive. OLN has decided that they would scale up their cycling coverage in July at the expense of PBR but then increase PBR later, which is what you're seeing now. My opinion is that restricting the Vuelta to only two broadcasts a day to support more extended coverge of the Tour and Giro is a small price to pay. Remembering what coverage used to be like, I feel pretty ridiculous saying "only two broadcasts a day".
Only two per day????JBergland
Sep 9, 2003 11:44 AM
"Remembering what coverage used to be like, I feel pretty ridiculous saying "only two broadcasts a day"."

I think two broadcasts per day is plenty... but put one at least CLOSE to 'prime-time'!!:)
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??GixxerRick
Sep 9, 2003 11:05 AM
The only reason im happy is because there the only channel that shows the races...For that, thank u OLN..It could be alot worse, such as only showing highlights of the races, 30 mins programs, etc...
you're not alonevelocity
Sep 9, 2003 9:24 AM
In the past I've sent OLN e-mails applauding their cycling coverage but in this case sent one expressing my extreme disappointment that they weren't reairing it primetime or late night. OLN replied that the Vuelta viewership is much smaller than the audience for the Giro and the TdF. Can't see though how there wouldn't be more Vuelta viewers than watchers of their regular programming.
Well obviously youDwayne Barry
Sep 9, 2003 10:25 AM
underestimate the popularity of rodeo. There's probably a newsgroup where in July the rodeo fans are complaining about the stupid bike racing! (or at least the sponsors who would buy air-time during rodeo but not cycling).
Maybe I'm underestimating OLN's non-cycling viewershipvelocity
Sep 9, 2003 1:29 PM
Hell, from seeing rodeo commercials over and over during TdF, etc., I'm about to become a fan myself ;^)!

But, seriously, can't see why OLN can't at least reair the Vuelta late night ('round midnight would be nice).
hey jbergland...ClydeTri
Sep 9, 2003 10:24 AM
to further answer your question..go look at the giro/tdf/vuelta forum here..very few comments..during the TDF it was flooded with comments. The vuelta has much much fewer people interested in it...thus, we get bull riding.
hey jbergland...JBergland
Sep 9, 2003 11:37 AM
ClydeTri,
I certainly understand the Vuelta is much less popular than the other Grand Tours... but a rebroadcast at 3:00 in the afternoon... what is OLN thinking???? 2-4 hours of Da-Bulls just about every night?? Look at Oct. if you haven't already. I'm not anti PBR or anything... I like watching bulls crush those crazy cowboys as much as the next guy... but how about a little more of a balance... maybe one night with a couple cycling events through the ENTIRE season. And how about some rebroadcasting of earlier spring/summer events (copyright problems probably)??

JB
Could be much much worseNo_sprint
Sep 9, 2003 10:45 AM
if you didn't have OLN.

I've had it wish my Dish Network system for a few years now and I think it's great.

Furthermore I've got two digital recorders that capture everything I want with the push of one button. Up to 140 hours total.

I don't miss anything I don't want to miss. I haven't seen a commercial in longer than I can remember.

This is the only way to watch TV in my opinion.
YES, my cable provider does not carry it.bimini
Sep 9, 2003 10:46 AM
I had to "watch" the tour on the internet.

I did see a couple days of the coverage on OLN. The commentary was kind of lame compared to the cycling news internet report, but at least you got to see the bikes, riders and crowds.

Also compare it to the network (was it ABC's) 1 hour coverage on the final day. Opps, I can't compare. I never saw anything so lame (except for last years tour on the networks).

Point is, they are the only place running cycling as a real sport on TV. Yes, the coverage and timing could be better but as least they are covering it like a real sport.

I would love to be able to get OLN at home. I would probably go out and get a Replay TV or TiVo unit if they did.
be thankful that you have OLNstephenb
Sep 9, 2003 10:55 AM
Back in 1969 when Merckx ruled the roost I had to wait 2 months to see black and white photos of the races in Miroir du Cyclisme (sp).
Just 3 years ago we had to suffer through ESPN's poor coverage of the grand tours (no Giro or Vuelta).
Live coverage of the Vuelta 5 days a week? What more can you ask for? Cycling is less than a minor sport in the USA
regardless of what we might think....
re: OLN Coverage... anyone else disappointed??scary slow
Sep 9, 2003 11:19 AM
I am a little disappointed with times the coverage airs. I bought into digital cable about 2 years ago just to get OLN. The cost of digital is about $40 higher per month than standard cable. Now I am getting ready to order the PVR option so I can record the Vuelta. I am still greatful for OLN even carrying the event. The only one making out on this deal though is the cable company.
Perfect for me!!! (warning, gloating ahead!)peter1
Sep 9, 2003 2:19 PM
I work in the evenings, so it's a real treat to FINALLY be able to see something live. Nothing like waking up about 9:30, firing up a pot of coffee and fetching the Times, then listening to Bobke natter on...not to mention the shaky Spanish TV feed...or, if I sleep in, catching the rerun in the arvo...

I feel for those of you who can't get it in the evenings. I thought OLN would rebroadcast it at midnight. That's probably why the Vuelta forum is dead.
re: OLN Coverageil sogno
Sep 9, 2003 5:06 PM
On the West Coast, we get the Vuelta coverage at 6:30 am and at Noon. Obviously, my wife and I tape it and watch it in the evening.

Of course, we enjoy the coverage immensely and our TV seems permanently set to the Outdoor Life Network, but there are other problems with OLN that our fellow posters sometimes neglect to mention.

One is a tendency for OLN to adjust their schedule without notice. About ten percent of the time, when my wife and I cue up the tape to watch bicycle coverage, we end up seeing something like RV World. Not to be flip, but OLN could use a guy like Mussolini...someone who could make the trains run on time.

Second, the video quality of OLN, even via a satellite dish, varies between okay and abysmal. I'm not talking about the picture breakup that Phil and Paul constantly apologize for, either. I'm talking about a consistent graininess, lack of contrast, poor color balance and mediocre color registration.
What's disappointing about the VueltaKen K
Sep 10, 2003 6:05 AM
Is that the podium girls/women are not as absolutely HOT as they have been the past two years. Of course that's just me being superficial.