RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimano Flight Deck??(19 posts)

Shimano Flight Deck??lendog
Sep 9, 2003 7:24 AM
looking for a computer with cadence and hopefully wireless speed too. any thoughts on the flight deck vs. the specialized elite or the cateye Astrale??

The flight deck seems to be a pain in the rear to scroll through the menu's, and some have reported it is rather easy to accidently reset during a ride.

Thanks,
Lenny
re: Shimano Flight Deck??dirthead
Sep 9, 2003 7:31 AM
I am currently using a Flight Deck and love it. I agree with the point that the menus are not set up the way I would like them to be, but overall I like the features it offers. I really like the gear indicator and the ability to scroll through the menus without taking my hands off the bar. I thought I would use the cadence feature more, but I can now tell what my cadence is without looking at the display, so I really don't use that feature much. Before using a Flight Deck, I was constantly looking down at my rear cog to see what gear I was in. I think not having to do that, and being able to shift without moving my hands is great. Those benefits far outweigh the lousy menu setup, IMHO.
re: Shimano Flight Deck??daCaT_
Sep 9, 2003 8:46 AM
I came from the MTB world and was used to having my gears indicated on my shifters. That was the main reason for me to get the flight deck, but in the month I have had it (im new to the road) I find the cadence feature the one I use the most along with the always displayed gear indicator. That said, the heart rate monitor is still my most important information.

As for accidently resetting the computer is is very easy and I did reset on my first ride as i gripped the wrong place on the hoods as I started up from a stop sign. It hasnt been a problem since.

The other nice thing is there is only one cord. The computer knows the cadence from the speed and gear ratio so you dont need another cable going to your cranks.
If cadence is importantjtolleson
Sep 9, 2003 8:46 AM
then skip the Flite Deck. It's "virtual cadence" merely assumes a pedal RPM based on gear and speed. On an uphill, that means that it is probably accurate; on the flats it can be inaccurate, and on the downhills it is meaningless.

The true benefit from cadence readouts IMO is getting constant accurate feedback to confirm not only that you aren't pushing the wrong gear but to break other bad habits such as "pedal pedal glide pedal pedal glide" which are a problem with newer riders. The Flite Deck is useless for that.
WRONG WRONG WRONG - IGNORELD
Sep 9, 2003 9:11 AM
As you state, the virtual cadence is accurate when you are not coasting. That makes it accurate uphill, downhill, and on the flats as long as you are pedaling against the freewheel.

If you are coasting, it really doesn't matter what the cadence meter reports, because you're not pedaling anyway. Anyone who needs a computer to tell them if they are coasting or pedaling probably shouldn't be on a bike to begin with.
Gee, who knew that it could be such an emotional issue?jtolleson
Sep 9, 2003 9:41 AM
The key is that many riders who need assistance with cadence input aren't just seeking the right RPMs, they are needing constant feedback reminders to maintain an even pedal stroke (even a little lactic acid flush spin on a downhill).

I personally think that if cadence is important, then it is best reflected in terms of (drum roll please) how fast your feet are actually moving.

Funny thing about opinions, isn't it?
And how to you go down hills?pmf1
Sep 10, 2003 9:02 AM
Put the bike in a really low gear, like 25x39 and watch the "cadence" on the flight deck skyrocket. I think JTolleson has a good point -- the Flight Deck measure of cadence isn't useful.

Now let me add to the list:

1. Its expensive
2. Its big and clunky
3. The mount comes lose easy
4. If the lever censors quit working, your SOL. Would you buy a TV with a built in DVD player?
I was wondering when you would respond........Len J
Sep 9, 2003 9:22 AM
knowing how much you dislike "virtual cadence".

Your points are accurate to apoint, however, I found the flight deck cadence function very helpful since cadence speed & gear are directly relatd (as long as you are on top of the gear), It is very helpful in deteermining when to shift gears.

The only time it is inaccurate is when you are coasting.

Your newbie comment is spot on.

Len
: ) YMMVjtolleson
Sep 9, 2003 9:42 AM
or should I say "YCMV" (Your Cadence May Vary... depending on whether you are coasting or not...)
re: Shimano Flight Deck??PatM
Sep 9, 2003 8:53 AM
I have been using a flight deck for little over a month now and have grown to like it. There were a few reasons why I went to it;
1 - to clean up my handlebar, I have a light, HR monitor and a computer and had been using a space maker bar and/or mounting the light upside down.
2 - virtual cadence, I had a axiom 8.0c from performance and was sick of the extra wires -it was also starting to act funny.
3 - buttons on the hoods / gear display = cool factor.
What the FD does is use that space over your stem which means more room for whatever else you may want on your handlebar. The virtual cadence is right on the money, I left my old computer on the bike for a week or so just to make sure it was going to give me a accurate reading - it does. I usually ride with the cadence in the main display and speed in the lower - just to make sure I am keeping a good cadence. Also if you are going down a hill and look at the display you can adjust your gears. As for starting and stopping by accident - I have not done that yet, but I keep it in the back of my mind. Also I think the newer version only start/stops when you are on the time function - so I think(and I have not tested this) that for me since I have cadence in my main display I could hit the button all I want and it would still keep going. Like I said I have not tested that, I do know that I have to be in the time function to stop the unit from blinking(it has automatic start and stop). The only thing I don't like about it is the two layer menu - you have to hit the right button for a few seconds in order to get to the second menu(cadence,avg speed, max speed)
Hope this helps
re: Shimano Flight Deck??Trux
Sep 9, 2003 10:21 AM
I've enjoyed my Flight Deck wireless for almost two years. I like the graphic gear read-out and the cadence function.
Where I ride, the Rockies, I can't pedal down hill, so that a non issue.
I don't like losing the total mileage when changing the battery and I was not happy about its initial cost.
re: Shimano Flight Deck??BaadDawg
Sep 9, 2003 12:18 PM
Even though you lose the total mileage when you replace the battery you can re-set the mileage to anything you want including what it was before you took out the battery.

The battery in the fork sensor died 3 weeks after I bought my flitedeck. Since then it has been fine.

Look at the new Mavic wireless computer shown here. It doesn't have gear settings or button menu changes but it looks like a great idea.

http://www.bicycletest.com/
re: Shimano Flight Deck??spankdoggie
Sep 9, 2003 10:52 AM
I have the Flight Deck, and it is perfect, so far... I accidently reset it during a ride, but I learned how not to do it; that is all about getting used to a new tool...

It is very easy to scroll through the menus.
I recommend it.
Love itSao
Sep 9, 2003 12:39 PM
Mine works like a charm. Except when I reset it accidently. Argh.

Same original battery in the unit after a year and a half. I've changed the receptor(?) battery once.
Love it!MrCelloBoy
Sep 9, 2003 2:12 PM
They're perfect for tandems (Where you can't see the gears even if you wanted to) and I've NEVER reset the total by accident.
The Virtual cadence function has been discussed already. I agree, it's accurate when you'd need it; going uphill or on flats. If you're not pedaling you're not interested in cadence!
re: Shimano Flight Deck??moschika
Sep 9, 2003 2:25 PM
i've been using the flight deck for 2 weeks and don't regret it at all. it does what i want it too. i've never reset it accidentally. a couple of quirks are that you have to hit a back button on the display to start it going when starting a new ride but it's already become habit. love not being able to take hands off bars to scroll thru features, big display is a plus. easy set-up.
clarification...Sao
Sep 9, 2003 2:39 PM
The problem I've occasionally had with accidently resetting it is user error, just to clarify that it isn't a fault of the Flight Deck.

It usually happens at the end of a long, arduous ride when I'm somewhat delirious, go figure...

;-)
I agreelemmy999
Sep 9, 2003 6:29 PM
I don't like having to hit the button on the back to start it because those buttons hard to use. The main problem I had with setting up the computer was pushing the buttons on the rear of the computer. I have never reset mine (you have to hit both buttons at the same time) but I have only had it about 3 weeks. I really think the transmitter on the fork is bigger than it needs to be (the sigma sport on my mtn bike is much smaller, and the computer is auto start also). One last complaint is that I had to buy a cateye magnet because the one that comes with the computer does not work on bladed spokes (without some modifications).
me toomoschika
Sep 9, 2003 9:44 PM
i use a cateye magnet too. the flight deck magnet didn't fit very well on my round spokes either. the cateye is much more 'aero'. i had a spare magnet, so it was no big deal.