RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Calfee vs. Aegis?????(13 posts)

Calfee vs. Aegis?????Rom12_1
Sep 9, 2003 6:34 AM
Chronically looking at carbon fiber frames. I was wondering if any had ridden/owned the Calfee Luna or Tetra Pro or Aegis Victory or Aro Svelte. Not much in reviews. Any helpful thoughts on the above frames. Thanks.
re: Calfee vs. Aegis?????Zyzbot
Sep 9, 2003 6:45 AM
I have owned an Aegis Aro Svelte for over 2 years now. I actually like it better than my Litespeed Classic. The ride is just as smooth and it seems to climb better. I really can't say much negative about it except maybe the paint chips a bit too easily. You can get really nice "custom" paint jobs from Aegis too.

I test rode a Trek 5200 2 months ago and found it to be similar in feel to my Aegis.
Tetra Pro - way 2 goSTI
Sep 9, 2003 6:48 AM
I used to ride an Aegis, am now riding a Luna Pro. I would suggest getting the Tetra though, as it is lighter. I have had no issues at all with my Luna, but you should know that I am in the process of building up a Cinelli aluminum frame. It is even lighter and just as stiff. For many years now I have been a Carbon advocate, still am to a certain degree. It is tough to beat the strength to weight ratio. If you can afford it, I would even recommend going all the way to a Dragonfly.
Keep the rubber side down.
Tetra Pro - way 2 goRom12_1
Sep 9, 2003 8:12 AM
STI, if you don't mind me asking. Why did you stop riding your Aegis and switch to Calfee?
re: Calfee vs. Aegis?????PaulCL
Sep 9, 2003 6:49 AM
I bought an Aegis Victory the end of May. I also looked at the Calfee - Luna I think. My final decision between the two came down to three things: price, looks, and availability.

OK..price. My LBS gave me a Victory Race stock with the bionic weave (funny, I don't feel like Lee Majors???) for $1700 with the fork. The Calfee would net me $1000 more.

Looks. I just like the Aegis more. My frame/fork are black with my black rims....oooooooohhhhhhhh!

Availability. I was in a hurry. I was leaving for Colorado in three weeks. I couldn't wait for the Calfee. The Aegis was available now. Hopefully, you don't have a time crunch.

OK...the ride. I'd never done any extensive riding on a CF frame before I bought the Aegis. I have owned steel and Ti bikes. I gotta say that I love the ride. It is so-so more comfy and smooth than my Colnago Ti frame - though the Colnago was nicer than the steel. My Victory with Record and a mish-mash of light wheels weighs in around 17lbs.

If you have any specific questions, I'll be more than happy to answer them.

paul
Any problems with La Bicicletta or RA Cycles...Rom12_1
Sep 9, 2003 6:57 AM
Thanks for all the info. Very helpful. Would appreciate any more input as well. I was considering orderign from the above two places or Wrench Science. Any thoughts with those?
Had problems with La Bicicletta...52-16SS
Sep 9, 2003 7:31 AM
A couple of months ago I ordered some tires, rim tape and a seatpost from LaBicicletta. I received my order confirmation immediately (automatic) but nothing happened for a week after which I called them. They said that they didn't have the seatpost length I needed, (when were they planning to tell me)so I just asked them to send me the tires and rim tape and cancel the seatpost. After another week I received the tires and the WRONG rim tape. Of course they did charge me for the more expensive rim tape I had ordered. Since it was only $5 I didn't bother with complaining to them, I'll just not buy from them again. No experience with the other stores, though I find WS to be generally expensive.

SS
Always been happy w/ Labicicletta.compmf1
Sep 9, 2003 8:33 AM
I've bought a lot of stuff from them over the years (including a Litespeed frame) and never had a problem. They're friendly, knowledgable and prompt. I'd recommend them 100%

Personally, the Aegis seems like the better deal to me. Its a one-piece design. The guys who make them have been fabricating carbon frames for a long time. Everyone I've talked to that owns a Calfee (OK, its only 3 people) initially had problems with them that were later fixed free of charge.

I've got 2 carbon bikes and the ride is similar. I bet the $1000 more you spend on the Calfee doesn't get you that much more (although that's the way it goes with bike stuff). Calfee has always struck me as the Seven of carbon bikes. Kind of a small boutiquey image that appeals to snobs.
RA Cyclesmahoneyjoe
Sep 9, 2003 7:12 PM
I bought a look kg281 frame and fork from ra cycles last summer; they advertised it as having a newer version fork than it actually came/shipped with; they made good with, in my view, a better fork at the same price, an uzo pro, so very happy with them; frame was well boxed and no problems there; my pre-purchase research on this board gave them good reviews in general, although warnings for attitude.
re: Calfee vs. Aegis?????Rom12_1
Sep 9, 2003 7:02 AM
Paul, is Record worth it? Currently riding shimano 105. Would like to get Campy to try, just because....I don't know...just because. But, its a huge investment. Have you ridden Chorus or Centaur? I really like the looks of the Aegis frames as well. Have you heard of any warranty problems etc? Thanks. Scott
Record worth it??PaulCL
Sep 9, 2003 7:48 AM
Record would be an huge move up from 105. Is it worth it over 105?? Yes. Over Chorus?? probably no. The only reason that I got Record (vs Chorus) was that I had just gotten an enormous bonus and wanted to treat myself to the best. If I built up another primary bike, I'd go for Chorus or Centaur. Record for show, Chorus for go. I'm currently piecing together a rainy day bike with Veloce purchased online.

Aegis and warranty. The warranty is lifetime on any manufacturers defect. If you break it, they will repair or replace the frame at a significant discount to wholesale. Look at their webpage for more info. www.aegisbicycles.com

I had the chain drop off my big ring and scratch the BB/chainstay area on my first ride. I was so bummed. Having never owned a CF bike, I was concerned about the integrity of the frame after a scratch. I emailed Aegis with my concerns. Get this...the president of the company emailed me back with what to look for in the scratch. The scratch was no big deal, but I was impressed.

Paul
I'm not Paul, but . . .Look381i
Sep 9, 2003 9:07 AM
I do have single bikes with Record 10, Chorus 10 and Centaur 10 (cyclocross). I also have a tandem with old style 105. Having ridden mostly Campy for 32 years, I am biased in that direction.

That said, based on my own and my friends' experiences, I believe that the top three groups in both Shimano and Campy are at least functional and reliable and would be comfortable trusting my ride to any of them. Obviously the higher up you go in the line, the better finish and lighter weight you get. You also get some not so obvious engineering differences (usually improvements), such as ball-bearing "brifters" v bushings (Campy).

I think Chorus and Centaur are great groups. You should buy the one of those two that you can afford. Record is probably overpriced. My Record-equipped bike was the product of my "advanced" age (54). I didn't want to go to the great velodrome in the sky without having ridden the "best." I love Record now and probably won't go back without a fight. But the truth is that if I didn't get off the bike to look at the shifters, rear der and crankset, I wouldn't notice that it isn't Chorus or Centaur.

I don't care to reiterate the points in the perennial Shimano v. Campy debate, so I'll offer the same advice I would about buying almost any component that your body touches: try it to see if you like it. As you know, Campy brifters work differently than the Shimano. Choice is mostly taste and habit, but there are differences.

(Perhaps the most telling fact is that pros use both Dura Ace and Record successfully, and retired pros are apparently content with Ultegra and Chorus in bikes they buy themselves.) Buy what you like, take good care of it, and it will give great service for years, until something spiffier comes out.
re: Calfee vs. Aegis?????PMC
Sep 9, 2003 7:08 AM
I've owned a Aro Svelte for a couple of years and have no major complaints. A couple of minor ones are
- Paint chips easy
- Headtube is quite long for a non-integrated headset in my size
- Came with an Ouzo Pro for that had the incorrect rake (43 vrs 45). Not sure if that one goes on the shop or Aegis.

I got mine really cheap and for the money, it has been a great bike. I really like the ride and it always gets plenty of comments with the unique looking seat tube angle and you just don't see too many around. It's not a race stock so it's a bit heavier than the new ones but that isn't a big deal for me. I've never laid it down but Aegis has a pretty good crash replacement policy.