RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pissed off ( performance coupons)(13 posts)

Pissed off ( performance coupons)GixxerRick
Sep 8, 2003 10:41 AM
I used a Performance coupons given to me by one of the members on the board two weeks ago, the online receipt indicated that the coupon actually worked, well i recieved my order this weekend and the statement that came with the order doesnt show any sort of coupon, and my CC card was charged the full amount. CAlled up Performance today to bit@h to them and they said they they dont have any sort of coupon going out to the public now. They said they need to verify my coupon and that i have to send in the actual coupon, what type of BS is that..I told them I'll send in the coupon number since thats all i have, and the lady said no, she would need the actual coupon.... now im debating weather to send back the entire order since there was no 20 percent off anyways.... What you guys think, you ever experience this type of problem from performance yet?
I have, but had a paper couponpitt83
Sep 8, 2003 11:14 AM
And they made good on it. Credited my card very quickly. They're tough with the coupon thing. I think it was Outdoor magazine which had printed coupons inside. You could try the newsstand and check?
I don't think you have much of a leg to stand onColnagoFE
Sep 8, 2003 11:18 AM
Using #s you find on the Internet is great if it works, but I don't think you have a legitimate complaint if they decide that you shouldn't be entitled to it.
send back......african
Sep 8, 2003 11:41 AM
send it back and just re order it when the coupon works (or when you have an actual coupon). The online order said you get a discount so you expected one, then you get the order and no discount was given - thats crap.
send back......TimePedal
Sep 8, 2003 1:08 PM
Happened to me as well.. Thankfully though, the jerseys I bought were actually even cheaper at the store. I bought some jerseys for $69 and then a 20% discount, but the store told me that they were actually $49 on close-out (store price only, not online). Performance didn't give me a 20% discount, so I returned the jerseys and just re-bought them at $49. So I guess I made out better.
re: Pissed off ( performance coupons)thegeek
Sep 8, 2003 2:53 PM
Had the same thing happen...ordered online and checkout screen showed a discount but then they CANCELLED my order without explanation.

When I called in to find out why they told me about the coupon. I do a lot of business w/Performance and wasn't out to cheat them so I paid full price.

-chris
A slight ethical challengeKerry Irons
Sep 8, 2003 4:34 PM
So what exactly did you do to "earn" this Performance coupon? Nothing? And now you're ticked that they didn't honor this thing that they never gave you in the first place? What's wrong with this picture? Time to enroll in Ethics 101 and study hard.
A slight ethical challengeHillRepeater
Sep 8, 2003 6:23 PM
If Performance publishes a coupon, then it's their intention for someone to use it. If their site accepts the coupon, it shows their intent to process it. If you see the total price with the coupon amount reflected a the time of purchase, you have every right to expect that credit to be applied - that was the price you agreed to at the point of purchase. Without the benefit of the reduction in price due to the coupon, the order may never have been placed.

No one does anything to 'earn' a coupon. It's a marketing tactic for a business. If Performance wants to market with coupons, they should expect people to use them. If they fail to honor the coupons -they- provided, then I think you should be questioning Performance's ethics - not the buyer's.
sounds like Performance has figured out what we're up to...BergMann
Sep 8, 2003 6:40 PM
I've wondered how long it would take places like Performance, Nashbar, etc. to figure out their coupon codes are circulating on the net.

Although you don't really have any leverage in this situation, if I were you, I'd send the order back just out of principle: Performance's prices suck, and it isn't worth buying from them without a coupon (sort of like Macy's...).
Interesting. I think they wouldn't care.PseuZQ
Sep 8, 2003 8:19 PM
I actually suggested to a prospective client that coupon codes be planted on enthusiast websites (such as all the *review.com sites) to drive traffic to the merchants.

I know that if prices are relatively similar across various merchants, I'll use a coupon code. Surely they still make money given their margins even after the discount, and a purchase on the coupon-ed site is better than no purchase, or a purchase made at a competitor's site.

(I know, I know. Viral marketing is *so* 2000....)
Did you print the order confirmation page?russw19
Sep 8, 2003 8:12 PM
If so, send them that... otherwise you can challenge your credit card bill. If you printed that out and it said what your total was, then they should honor that... otherwise, you are out of luck.

On the bright side, you can always shop at some other place that is cheaper. There are plenty of them out there. If people aren't loyal to a LBS, why be loyal to a mail order house?

Russ
Did you print the order confirmation page?GixxerRick
Sep 8, 2003 10:08 PM
Yea i still have the order confirmation page saved in my email, I dont care if i get screwed and the coupon didnt work, it just would have been nice to know that it didnt work during the order confirmation process online....no biggie...At least i know now.... I just wanted to give you guys a heads up if any of you do order with a performance coupon, becareful....
So what's the problem?djg
Sep 9, 2003 9:57 AM
If you have the order confirmation page, send it along. I cannot imagine they won't honor it (although I'd be interested to hear if that turns out not to be the case). They should stick by their deal--if not, just return the stuff.

I used the 20% code with no problem. Actually got them to price match an ouzo pro down to 259 before applying the 20% discount (down to about 207, not counting team points).

Once in a while they'll screw up an order of mine, but they've always made it right. Good luck.