RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this bad for the seat?(9 posts)

Is this bad for the seat?Mr Nick
Sep 7, 2003 3:43 PM
Will having the seat all the way back have any negative effects on the rails or the seat overall? It is really comfortable right were it is I am just trying to figure out if I need a set back seatpost. I have heard that you want the stem in the middle or the rails.
Depends on how strong the seat isKerry Irons
Sep 7, 2003 4:34 PM
If the frame is flexing a lot due to being cantilevered off the back, then it likely will give you both comfort/fit proplems and reduced saddle life. If the thing is stout enough to not be flexy in this arrangment, then you're OK. It depends on the saddle itself and the weight of the rider. Middle of the rails (the stem???) is a nice place to be, but many (most?) of us are someplace else.
re: Is this bad for the seat?pumpkin
Sep 7, 2003 4:54 PM
Nick, I've got the exact same set-up. Prolink on a Thompson post. I'm 200 lbs. and have my saddle all the way back. No problems after 2 years.
BTW, my once comfy Prolink just started to become agonizing. I think the foam in these things breaks down after a while.
Good luck,
AL
Same hereLive Steam
Sep 7, 2003 5:11 PM
I am using the same saddle on my bike and the saddle is all the way back on the rails. I think the rails are rather short compared to other saddles. I haven't had a problem yet and it is a comfortable saddle.
That bike is gorgeous (nm)witcomb
Sep 7, 2003 5:27 PM
Thanks :O)Live Steam
Sep 7, 2003 6:33 PM
I have to say it is a wonderful riding frame - if that is correct to say. I can put lots of hard miles in and still not get that beat up feeling and the roads I ride/race on are not that user friendly. The compact geometry and the stiff BB give instant results to pedal power.

I have carbon Profile cages on it now. They look pretty cool with matching yellow graphics over the carbon weave.
re: Is this bad for the seat?filtersweep
Sep 7, 2003 6:10 PM
Buy an SLR- it is like having a back seat- there is so much "rail." The "foam" will never break down. Guaranteed!
but is it as comfortable?Mr Nick
Sep 7, 2003 6:44 PM
Agree, SLR has lots of rail to play with...Fez
Sep 7, 2003 10:01 PM
My limited experience with various saddles tells me that the SLR "centered" position is roughly equivalent to the all the way back position of other saddles like the Prolink.

And if you need to move the SLR even further back, you can, thanks to rails that appear to be quite a bit longer than most other saddles.

Do a search on the SLR as to opinions on its comfort. Check the reviews on it as well. My experience was that is fairly comfortable, but the leather covering was fairly delicate.