RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New Klein Bike Due in on Tuesday!(10 posts)

New Klein Bike Due in on Tuesday!Reed Weedakowski
Sep 5, 2003 12:07 PM
Well, I did it. I'm here now. I just ordered a new "Klein Aurora 10" in silver cloud. Usually you find me at the sister site, Mountain Bike Review. After much debate I thought a road bike would be in order. Maybe you dudes & dudettes could give me some advise. Do I have to take the visor off my helmet? Will I need bright colored funky jerseys? Are baggy shorts out? Do I use a Camelbak? Must I shave my legs? Some of these questions may seem absurd but I am new to road biking. Help me look as normal as possible. Thanks. Reed
What's an Aurora 10?No_sprint
Sep 5, 2003 12:25 PM
I've had several Quantum Pros. Never heard of an Aurora.
What's an Aurora 10?Reed Weedakowski
Sep 5, 2003 1:39 PM
It's Klein's new road bike. It's not on their web site yet. Apparently there is the 10 & the 5. The frame is the same but components are different. I'll post a photo when it comes in. I got it in Silver Cloud. The price is around $1500.00. I made the decision to pick up a road bike and called my LBS to see what he could come up with in a Klein "Q" but he told me not to get the "Q" because he could have their new Aurora here next week. I said "cool, I'll take it. I'll post a photo ASAP.
might be 2004 Klein Aura? nmtl55
Sep 5, 2003 2:08 PM
Could be Aura.Reed Weedakowski
Sep 5, 2003 2:44 PM
Aura....Aurora... maybe I misheard. I'll know for sure next week.
re: New Klein Bike Due in on Tuesday!lemmy999
Sep 5, 2003 12:42 PM
I did the same thing this summer. I have been MTBing for 10+ years and all of the rain (and my wife) convinced me to get a road bike. I got a 2002 Klein Quantum Race. My opinions on your questions:

1)Visor?
I have left mine on so far since I use the same helmet for both. I haven't noticed it being a problem. Don't really care what anyone else thinks.

2)Jerseys?
I bought a tighter fitting Castelli jersey becaue some of my MTB jerseys would flap a bit in the wind (in the shoulder area) which made looking back over the shoulder a bit more difficult. I like brighter colors because it might make cars see you. Anything that might help. My L Pearl jerseys were a pretty good fit with the cuff around the arm being too small. I had to get an XL Castelli just to get it on. But it fits perfectly everywhere. I am a 41 chest and Castelli claims XL is for 46-48....

3)Baggy shorts?
I don't wear them when I MTB so I would definitely say they are out. On a road bike I would think they would be flopping in the wind too much and kind of be annoying. I don't like them on the MTB because they just seem too bulky and in the way (and sometimes get caught on the seat since I move around a lot).

4) Camel Back?
I don't notice too many people using them, but my wife and I do. I would like to get one that is a little more of a snug/areo fit than the one I use for mtn biking. I tend to drink more with a camel back and this makes me feel better. On fairly long rides I will put some gatorade in a water bottle and put it in the water bottle cage. When you ride without a camelback it definitely seems cooler while riding.

5) shaved legs.
I definitely won't. Most roadies admit that there is no advantage and they do it just because it is the thing to do if you are a roadie and possibly to show off your nice legs. I have nothing against people that shave and I think it is fine, but I just would rather spend more time working on my bike or riding than worrying about shaving. If it offered even a 0.5% performance gain I might consider it.

These are my opinions. But if you want to look "normal", then maybe you should consider shaving and getting rid of the visor.

Congratulations on your new bike.
Wear what you want and use what you want...JL
Sep 5, 2003 7:10 PM
just get out and ride the new bike. Don't let others tell you what you need to wear/not wear to look "normal".

Get out and ride.

Happy riding.

John
Yes! A new "Adventures of REED and WOODY" seriesJFR
Sep 5, 2003 7:54 PM
Reed, congrats on the new bike. Good times to come.

Visor - not even mtbing
Jersey - tight n bright
Shorts - xnay the bagg-ay
Camelback - see Shorts
Legs - shaving good (just 1-2 a week)

be the bike
Yes! A new "Adventures of REED and WOODY" seriesReed Weedakowski
Sep 6, 2003 2:23 PM
There have been adventures but sadly Woody has not been a part of them. Long story & his choice. I would not even know where to begin. There are some new characters. Professor Bob... retired educator, very into nature photography, bikes, kayaking and anything exciting. He's very cool and popular with the babes. Sandy... not the squirel from Sponge Bob! Top caliber athlete and babe. Also Pascal's wife. Trixie is still my gal. Smart, sexy, exciting and looking for adventure. I did put a story in here a week or so ago. It was a funny poem about the effects of a GU overdose that happened at the 24 Hours of Allamuchy. I raced on a tandem mountain bike and my stoker Franco ate a few too many too soon. He's now in a 12 step program to kick his habit. We still finished 2nd. (Trixie took 1st in the womens solo) Anyway I look forward to getting out on the road and having some fun.
wowJFR
Sep 6, 2003 3:53 PM
A new cast (except for Trixie, yea!), so much has happened, I'm not surprised, thanks for the update. I haven't kept up at all, the original "Adventures of Reed and Woody" series were great (but now that you mention it, I think I do recall Woody going away). I'll have to go see what I've missed when I've got a few mins.

Enjoy the road Reed (I'll be watching for some new short stories).

johnny