RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Houston radio station re-airs the anti-cyclist shock jock episode days after 2 local cyclists killed(14 posts)

Houston radio station re-airs the anti-cyclist shock jock episode days after 2 local cyclists killedTig
Sep 3, 2003 7:29 PM
We all remember the Walton & Johnson shock jock episode a few months ago where they complained about road cyclists in their tight shorts, pointy helmets, and how people should just "give them a tap" to knock them off the road, etc... They are syndicated shock jocks (jerks) that play several different characters. The many negative responses from all over the country Clear Channel Communications, the parent company, received after the original broadcast forced the jocks to apologize on the air, and the local station, KLOL, donated money to bike advocate charities. Many of you here voiced your opinions to Clear Channel/KLOL last time and helped make a difference... or at least we thought!

So, yesterday morning, just 3 days after 2 cyclists were killed by the out of control pickup truck in Brazoria County which is just south of Houston, http://thefacts.com/story.lasso?wcd=9722 KLOL airs the original anti-cyclist segment again. Sure, this was a foul up on their part, but this isn't acceptable.

So, here we go again. Please feel free to contact the station, Clear Channel, and other cyclists to voice your opinion about such a tasteless act. Please, no threats or vulgarity. Let's try to be professional about this if we want our voices to be heard clearly. Hit them in where it hurts: public opinion and their pocket book (loss of radio listeners, TV viewers, and their outdoor businesses). To see if they own a radio station, TV station, or business near you at their "contact us" page that allows you to search: http://www.clearchannel.com/contactus.php

Clear Channel world wide public relations email: pr@clearchannel.com
Clear Channel radio public relations email: lisacdollinger@clearchannel.com
KLOL program director: http://www.klol.com/email-vince.html

I found a few names but no email addresses of Jim Meltzer, Clear Channel's Regional Vice President and Kieth Metheny, the regional vice president of programming. If anyone locates their email addresses, please post them.

I occasionally ride with some of the survivors, so this hits very close to home.
Thanks,
Doug
Repsonse sent. To think, there was once a time when 101 KLOLsn69
Sep 3, 2003 8:27 PM
was a decent station. Then again, 104 KRBE used to have b@lls too. Cheap Channel has ruined just about every market they've invaded. I suffered through them (and ignored those two bigots Walton and Moron) for two years in New Orleans, and now I'm glad to see that a handful of indie stations are burying 91X in San Diego.

In any case, how pathetic....
Thanks for posting Doug.
Scott
Is there anything to base a lawsuit on?Sprint-Nick
Sep 4, 2003 6:21 AM
Before I begin I'm sorry to hear the people who were killed were so close to you.

What extent of freedom of speech actually gives you but is there anything to base a lawsuit on? My guess is just the act of filing the lawsuit is the only way to really get their attention. Just think of the other jokes similar to this that'd make a huge uproar:
- we don't like group X... lets all try to light their house on fire.
- I'm sick of waiting for group X in the cross walks... I'll give anyone who hits any of them 10 points and the winner will get a new bumper.

Good luck getting through to the boneheads at the station.

-Nick
Hit them where it hurts...advertising. Lets do this.Kristin
Sep 4, 2003 6:38 AM
Lets find out who there advertisers are and refuse to buy any products advertised by Clear Channel radio for the period of...how long? One month? Two? Not sure. I'd say 30 day's at least. If you participate in the boycott, then send them and the advertisers a message explaining what you're doing any why you're doing it.

I'm not sure yet how to figure out who their advertisers are, but I'll look into it and post later. Does this sound like a good idea to anyone? If there seems to be a lot of interest in a boycott, and the plan is distributed to several cycling sites, then it could have a tangible impact.
i'm in nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 4, 2003 6:53 AM
do you know how many markets clear channel is in?ColnagoFE
Sep 4, 2003 7:04 AM
you wouldn't be able to buy much after you eliminate all their advertisers. they are huge. sorta like boycotting everything you see on cbs.
uhuh. You go after the big fish. For instanceKristin
Sep 4, 2003 7:24 AM
Budwiser is a national advertiser of CC. Yes. Some of you may be called upon to sacrifice!! I'm thinking we pick 3-5 of the top advertisers and target them specifically. Put up a web site where people can submit their names to a list of boycotters. This would be a way to show the advertisers how many are invovled. Then people just need to follow through so it impacts someones sales report. Actually a quick google search on clear channel advertisers reveals that lots of people are already boycotting them. They are not very popular.
Take the Bud--At least my Sauza Hornitos tequila is safe! ;)(nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 4, 2003 8:35 AM
boycotting Budweiser would NOT be much of a sacrifice -LOL!! nm.Sao
Sep 4, 2003 8:58 AM
Nice Work--One Step furtherteoteoteo
Sep 4, 2003 7:11 AM
Kristin,

I just proposed the same thing to TIG via e mail. I want this to HURT them so who is game for making this a website that takes the thing to the public--not a smear campaign but just a solid dose of little people standing up for ourselves.

Is anyone out there capable of putting this effort up on a page? Right now I am working on getting more eyes drawn to this matter via friends/connections.
We need one good author and one good developer.Kristin
Sep 4, 2003 7:31 AM
Someone needs to write a comprehensive, yet condensed, article which explains the issue and the response. Something compelling that will be understood by the uninitiated. It should not be me. Who's up for it? I know that JKu would do this well, as would Mohair, ColnagoFE, or LenJ. There are others as well.

Someone would need to host the web page, but it wouldn't require must effort or disk space, but should be able to handle lots of hits--hopefully.
Should also be tied in with bike advocacy groupsColnagoFE
Sep 4, 2003 8:42 AM
I'm sure that the local groups I know of would be all over this. I'm guessing most large cities have their own groups as that this could be distributed. I'd be willing to give any help I can to get this created. I might also have a web server we could put this up on if needed.
re: Houston radio station re-airs the anti-cyclist shock jock episode days after 2 local cyclists killedlonghorn
Sep 4, 2003 8:38 AM
This is really getting ridiculous. I sent one to the Houston guys and one to Dollinger.
I am posting this to an Ohio based siteTNRyder
Sep 4, 2003 7:09 PM
I am also E-mailing the local Clear Channel station.