RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Selle Italia Flite or SLR?(8 posts)

Selle Italia Flite or SLR?dawgcatchr
Sep 3, 2003 12:28 PM
My Flite is starting to wear down, and I am considering replacing it with an SLR (or just buying another Flite). I have been very happy with the Flite-I am about 5 foot 8, 150 lbs, 29 inch waist, so the Flite fits me well. I ride 8-12 hours per week, mostly 1.5-3 hour rides. Any opinions on whether the SLR is a worthy replacement, or should I stick with what works?
re: Selle Italia Flite or SLR?No_sprint
Sep 3, 2003 12:33 PM
5'8" and 150 here too. I tried the Flite with no luck whatsoever. I have two SLRs now. They are entirely different shapes with completely different characteristics.
IMO Don't try to fix whats working (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Sep 3, 2003 12:34 PM
I switched from Selle Italia Flite to SLR...shrEd
Sep 3, 2003 1:16 PM
...and I'm very happy I made the switch. They are two different seats and although I thought the Flite fit pretty good, I realized the SLR fit even better. I was actually amazed at how comfortable it is considering its very minimal and super light. You're probably gonna have to try, but I think it may be worth it to at least try.

Ed
re: Selle Italia Flite or SLR?bburgbiker
Sep 3, 2003 2:20 PM
do you like the overall shape of your flite but could stand to lose 100g or so? how about the best of both worlds? i was considering both of those saddles and have used a standard flite on my mtn. bike for years and ended up with a flite tt. tt stands for tubular titanium (not time trial) so it has the same rails as the slr and also has a carbon shell. it is 30g heavier than the slr but if you're already used to the flite shape it might be the one for you.

one thing i can say about the flite tt or slr is that either will take a little breaking in but once you've got a couple hundred miles in it should be comfy as a couch.

not many shops and few web retailers carry this saddle but i got mine new on ebay for around $50. also, the suede cover smoothed out after a bit and is smooth but not slick.
This is one example whereFez
Sep 3, 2003 5:56 PM
You should let your a55 do the talking.

I have used them both. The Flite Ti has been around for at least a decade and works well for a lot of folks. I remember how minimalist it looked when it was first introduced a decade ago - kind of similar to how minimalist the SLR is by today's standards.

The SLR Ti was comfortable for me as well. I think it works best for people who have their saddle position dialed in pretty well and who actually sit on their sit bones. People who don't should probably stick to other designs with more padding or a cutout or whatever.

The only thing I noticed with the SLR Ti was that a good pair of shorts was more essential for comfort and that the minimalist padding in the saddle became noticeable on rides greater than 3 hours.

Other than that the only complaint I had was the very delicate leather covering. I could never lean it against a rough surface without scuffing it up pretty badly.
I hate that saddle with a passion!BergMann
Sep 3, 2003 9:09 PM
As a flite fan you might have the anatomy for the SLR, but beware that the SLR is effectively _unpadded_. The whimpy 3mm open-cell foam underneath the leather compresses instantly and provides _no_ cushioning. If you have lots of meaty tissue underneath your sit bones, this may not be a problem, but on me it produced _bruises_ in less than 3 rides.

Bottom line: caveat emptor.
re: Selle Italia Flite or SLR?John445
Sep 4, 2003 6:05 AM
Just went thru the same senario. I have ridden Flite Ti for 4 years, tried SLR. SLR was hard, I decided to give it about 200 miles. 200 miles later it was not only still hard but my lower back was developing pain. I then tried a Flite Gel to no avail. On to a Selle San Marco ERA, not for me. Today I am back on my 4 year old Flite. In short, I agree with the reply that states, "If it ain't broke don't fix it." Even buying a new Flite does not guarantee the same ride as your current saddle. Good luck and let us know where your posterior settles.

John