RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cycle Sport(12 posts)

Cycle Sportlotterypick
Sep 2, 2003 11:46 AM
I just found this magazine and it's great. It makes Bicycling seem like shallow pop.

Any way, I'm thinking of subscribing, but wondering if I just don't know about some better mag.

Is Cycle Sport the way to go, or is there another mag I should look into. Thanks for your thoughts.
I will not renew my subsciption because thechopper
Sep 2, 2003 11:56 AM
magazine arrives so long after races have finished and started. For instance, my Tour de France preview magazine arrived after the TDF had finished and I have yet to get my Post TDF magazine in the mail. I think it comes over by boat to the US so is very, very late and you feel like you're reading those horribly outdated magazines in your dentists office. I will look through it once it arrives at the local Borders to check the bike reviews, etc. but I will not be subscribing again.
best racing magmohair_chair
Sep 2, 2003 11:56 AM
It's almost totally oriented towards racing, so if that's what you are into, it's great. They have token equipment reviews and some other features, but it's all about racing. They make sure Lance and USPS and the Australians get slightly more than their fair share of ink every month, but they are an English magazine, and they celebrate the English speakers.

Fantastic photos, too, from the best photogs in the business.

I have a subscription and I love it. I let mine lapse, but started it up again, and got to choose another free video!
re: Cycle SportAkirasho
Sep 2, 2003 12:19 PM
... there are a few cycling magazines that hit on or near specific niches...

Cycle Sport... tends towards Pro Euro road racing. Can have good behind the scenes news... as well as a few decent product reviews (agreed, by the time the mag reaches me... it seems a bit dated).
VeloNews... tends towards both road and offroad dirt... both in the US and abroad (mostly Europe).
Asphalt... a new quarterly rag that mimics it's roots in a Bicycle Guide sort of way... tends towards roadies who ride for fitness and recreation as well as touring and a bit of race.
Cycling Plus... UK rag that is still largely relavent for cyclists in the US... they are what Bicycling used to be (though generally about 2-3 weeks behind when delivered to the US).
ProCycling... Cycle Sport's twin.

There are of course a few others (offroad, tandem, recumbent, etc) but these are the ones I subscribe to (along with a couple of dirt mags)... couldn't get through the month without them.

Be the bike.
Thanks guyslotterypick
Sep 2, 2003 12:55 PM
Reading Cycle Sport took me like a few days, whereas I'm through Bicycling in about a couple hours max.

Just one last question. Is it worth subscribing to Cycling Plus also.
... depends on your cycling jones...Akirasho
Sep 2, 2003 6:12 PM
Cycling Plus is a kind of cycling junkie's mag... at least from a US POV.

While many of the news blurbs are only relavent to UK cyclists, there are other good reads on bikes, travel, food, cycling culture, etc... as well as decent DIY (they even presented an entire series on building your own frame a few years ago).

You see many of the same products that are available in the US... along with a few you might not have thought or known of (again, a junkie thing).

Neither mag is particularily cheap... but they are good reads (you're right... Cycle Sport along with the others I mentioned above, take more than a few hours to skim... and you find yourself using them for reference). Course, the cost spread over a year... especially compared with other crap many folks now subscribe to (cell, cable, satellite) is negligible. The only problem is... as of this posting, I don't think that Cycling Plus offers a. online subscriptions (I've always allowed for the time difference and called them direct) or b. multiple year subscriptions to the US (I'd prefer to subscribe 2 or 3 years in advance).

I like Cycling Plus... but then, I'm a junkie.

Be the bike.
online Cycling Plus subscriptions...stephenb
Sep 2, 2003 7:14 PM
Cylcing Plus is an excellent magazine and does offer online subscriptions. At least that's how I did it.

You can find them by doing a Google search for Futurenet Publishing or go to:

https://secure.widearea.co.uk/cisubs/FPL/CYP/CYPFNT

Subscription rate is 38 GBP @ year to the USA.
More on C+, Ride Cycling Review, and other bike porn.orange_julius
Sep 3, 2003 5:44 AM
C+'s reviews are very thoughtful and intelligent. They
take a dozen or so products from different manufacturers
and compare their merits. I like this a lot better than
Bicycling's approach where they just take one (or sometimes
two) and then just blahblah saying why you should buy that
one product. If it's up to them, every bike will be stiff,
smooth, comfortable, and is a great value. You know that
this is not true.

The downside is that C+'s ride/trails coverage do not
apply to the US (for a good reason; they are in the UK),
but I really like their "do it yourself" stuff.

I'm just waiting for my Bicyling subscription to run out
now .....

Anyways, to make it even more confusing, I just discovered
an Aussie magazine, Ride Cycling Review. They come out
four times a year, really nice pictures, analysis, and
reviews. They will come very late, but heck if you want
up-to-date race coverage you should do it online! The
pictures are great and the reviews are also nice. I think
they are done by the cousins of the people who do
cyclingnews.com, so the reviews have similar flavor, and
they do a little bit of comparison.

In summary, I think Bicycling is the Hustler of bike porn,
CS is FHM, C+ is Playboy. And maybe RideCR is National
Geographic. Something like that.
Another C+ / CS junkieTrent in WA
Sep 2, 2003 10:29 PM
I subscribe to both magazines and love them. CS is a wonderfully well-written magazine that covers racing from a fan's point of view, while C+ is more of a general road-cycling magazine that covers everything from touring to track racing in every issue. Their reviews are thorough. But if you read them both, you'll find yourself using Brit idioms (shall we talk kit at the cake stop, blokes?) without knowing you're doing it. Not a bad thing, though, all in all.

Trent
Funny you mention languagelotterypick
Sep 3, 2003 6:53 AM
I went on a 5 miler with my 9 and 7 year olds last night and I taught them the word Allez.

My older son got mad at my younger for saying allez every time they started going up a hill or wanted to accelerate, which is pretty much always.

I'm ready for some euro speak!
Thanks for the tip.JL
Sep 2, 2003 1:30 PM
I just ordered a subscription to Asphalt magazine. Looks pretty nice from little bit on the website. I shouldn't get backed up reading it either, since I have 3 months between issues :)

Happy riding.

John
VeloNews, baby!peter1
Sep 3, 2003 12:35 PM
I like VeloNews because of its U.S. focus and that they cover mtb racing, too. Also, they publish 20 issues a year which means you're actually reading about a race in the year it ran. Good tech features, too. I feel like I'm supporting U.S. cycling thru my subscription, somehow.

I buy the Euro mags whenever the cover catches my eye. Living in NYC, the selection is really good at the international magazine stands.

And where else you gonna get coverage of the Niedersachsen Rundfahrt?