RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


One more "need help choosing frame" question(12 posts)

One more "need help choosing frame" questionB2
Sep 2, 2003 10:40 AM
I'm trying to help a friend purchase a bike. He's a pretty big guy at 6'-3" & 240 lbs so he will need a fairly stout frame. The bike would be used for "competitive" recreational riding as well organized centuries and the like. This is a guy that hadn't ridden a bike for 3 – 4 years that went and borrowed a bike from a friend and rode STP (~200 miles) in one day. Granted every time I got going more than 19mph or 20mph, I got the slow down a little command, but still quite an accomplishment none the less.

The budget is a somewhat flexible $2,500 and he has no problem with internet purchases from reputable firms if the price is right. Any suggestions for a complete bike or frame and build that would best meet this criteria?

Thanks,
Bryan
not enough info...C-40
Sep 2, 2003 10:53 AM
The primary criteria for selecting a frame size is cycling inseam, as measured from floor to hard crotch contact in bare feet. Height alone is not enough.

For general fit info, see www.cyfac-usa.com.
I guess I wasn't very clearB2
Sep 2, 2003 11:18 AM
I was looking for recommendations for a manufacturer and model, not sizing recommendations.

Now that you bring it up though, here's where he's headed regarding size. Constructive criticism would be welcome.

Cycling in seam is 35".
Looking 59cm c-c or 61cm to 62cm c-t.
Comfort is a priority so saddle to bar height is an important criteria.

Thanks,
Bryan
you were clear. nmSteve_0
Sep 2, 2003 11:38 AM
I guess I wasn't very cleargeeker
Sep 2, 2003 1:10 PM
For big guys with saddle-bar height a priority, the first names that come to mind (for framesets) are Rivendell, Gunnar and Heron. Don't know the links offhand, but they come up on search engines. Rivendell's fit article is interesting in any event.

As another poster suggested, Pegoretti might be worth a look (I've actually ordered one).

FWIW, many big riders like Cannondales, and Cannondale makes a "sport road" frame based on the CAAD5, with shorter top tube and longer head tube. The full bike (R1000 Sport) is spec'd weirdly (eg suspension seatpost), but a good Cannondale dealer should be able to build one up to his specs.
why inseam in important...C-40
Sep 2, 2003 2:06 PM
Unless you get a custom frame, some have longer top tubes than others in the large sizes. It's good to avoid brands that may have a TT length that produces a poor fit. Tall, long torso riders often complain about Colnago's short top tubes. In smaller sizes they are not short at all.

Your friend is a bit on the long torso side. He might want to consider a Fondriest Madonna di Campiglio frame in the XL size. It has plenty of head tube length. The top tube is not overly long, though. If the frame is still on sale for $800, a complete bike with Campy chorus 10 speed could be built for about $2000.

The Colnago Master X-light would be a great steel frame, but it's more difficult to get a good price. It also has a 1.5cm shorter head tube, that might be a problem.

It's important to know all of the desired frame dimensions before searching for a particular brand.
re: One more "need help choosing frame" question03Vortex
Sep 2, 2003 11:02 AM
At that weight, I would suggest steel in that price range. He is too big heavy for anything carbon fiber in my opinion. Aluminum maybe but not with cf stays.
Tall headtube, custom tubeset required...Spunout
Sep 2, 2003 11:25 AM
Look for a smarter steel builder like Steelman or Landshark that will make a comfortable bike with a tall enough headtube to be comfortable for him.

I think you could get a Veloce equipped bike for $2,500 from either of the above.
not necessarily ...tarwheel
Sep 2, 2003 12:42 PM
Pegorettis have extended headtubes in their stock frames. The Pegoretti Pasolanto is a nice quality, relatively light steel frame for a reasonable price -- about $1,100-1,200. You're not going to find a Peg at your average cycle shop, but some of the better large stores carry them -- like chicagoland bikes, competitive cyclist, cycles bikyle. You can also custom order a Landshark in Deda 0.1 steel with extended headtube and steel fork for about the same price.
Its an opinion I guess....Zman
Sep 2, 2003 4:15 PM
I would totally disagree with "No Carbon Fiber" comment. I come in around 260 and ride a Trek 5500 with 7701 wheels. I have no problems whatsover, the bike is awesome. I also have a Cannondale R2000SI (full aluminum with a carbon fork) and have never had a problem with it.

The weight is not the issue, how you ride the bike is much more important. I won a State Mountainbike Championship on a full suspension bike (Cannondale) that weighed in at 24.5 pounds with Crossmax Wheels. I rode carefully and respected both myself and my equipment.

Anybody can wreck anything, if you ride with respect to your bike you really should not have a issue. I may need to true my wheels a little more often but I still get to ride the same bikes as the pros without any penalty.

Z
My .02stillridn
Sep 2, 2003 5:26 PM
I am 6'3 and 220 I ride a 62cm C-Dale. I just oreded a 60cm Specialized Allez Comp. I have a new never built 60cm Motorola Eddy Merckx I would love to get out of my office.When I bought this I was told this is the ultimate big guy bike. I dont need something this great for my little rides. The guys at the shop think I am nuts for selling it. E-mail me if interested
Stillridn - what's your email address? (nm)B2
Sep 2, 2003 6:39 PM