RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


august / ytd mileage in subject line w/nm please (nm)(66 posts)

august / ytd mileage in subject line w/nm please (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 5:55 AM
August 806mi / ytd 3,675 mi .... (nm)Dorf411
Sep 2, 2003 6:00 AM
august 779.92, ytd 5919.26 nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 6:01 AM
628 / 5131 (nm)Mike P
Sep 2, 2003 6:04 AM
369 (bad month!) and 3064 nmKG 361
Sep 2, 2003 6:07 AM
707 and 4539 - part of the month spent incarcerated (nm)terry b
Sep 2, 2003 6:09 AM
August ? - YTD 5212 (nm)mickey-mac
Sep 2, 2003 6:12 AM
nm
Aug.=941...YTD=5,040 (nm)biknben
Sep 2, 2003 6:13 AM
220.27 (150 less than last month! grr!) / 1205.95 / Goal: 2K mialiensporebomb
Sep 2, 2003 6:23 AM
Sigh. I'm hoping to make up for last month this month and
then keep riding into the "dead months". Now that I have
a trainer, a MTB, a commuter and the roadie I can do it.
Now I gotta get colder weather clothes.
Whoops - forgot to add a 11 mile ride in there. 230-somethin-nmaliensporebomb
Sep 2, 2003 8:16 PM
nm
August=6 hrs mtb; 2 hrs road (in trial) nmDougSloan
Sep 2, 2003 6:23 AM
492/3588, plus 63 spin classes(nm)LEW
Sep 2, 2003 6:24 AM
No credit given for Spin classes...biknben
Sep 2, 2003 6:37 AM
We all know you are just there to look at chicks anyway.

Who do you think you are trying to con? :-)
impressive! but, no spin, trainer, rollers, mtb...road only nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 6:41 AM
why no mtb? it's twice as hard, per mile nmDougSloan
Sep 2, 2003 6:58 AM
hard=matter of perspective. plus, 'roadbikereview.com' nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 7:05 AM
I'd say more than twice as hard.OldEdScott
Sep 2, 2003 7:09 AM
On the four-times-yearly occasion that I take my old steel hardtail out for a hilly two-hour jaunt around Dale Hollow Lake with my d!ckheaded brother-in-law, my HR pegs at 90 percent max three minutes into the ride and pretty much stays there till we're finished. Whew. I'm more blown by 12 miles of that than by even a hard 40-miler on the road.
you may be rightDougSloan
Sep 2, 2003 7:22 AM
There is a trail close to my house that has 35% climbs, and this is over rocks, ruts, roots, and loose soil, and the trail is only about 1-2 feet wide, with a hundred foot cliff next to it. It takes every muscle, every corpuscle, every oxygen molecule I can muster to the muscles to survive, with heart rate pegging the monitor. Much harder than any section of pavement.

Doug
Hell, my DH B-in-L finally made me take the HR monitorOldEdScott
Sep 2, 2003 7:33 AM
off, because it was beeping that hellish you're-about-to-have-a-coronary alarm constantly.

His exact words were, "Hail FAR, boy, you don't need that noisy contraption, I can TELL you your heart's gonna beat fast on this trail, and as long as pain ain't shooting down your left arm, you're prob'ly OK."

I believe that his was his version of RPE training ...
August = 552, ytd = 2978 (nm)CHRoadie
Sep 2, 2003 6:24 AM
nm
571/5306 - fewer but more intense miles in AugustDMoore
Sep 2, 2003 6:31 AM
I love this! This is where I get to lampoon mileage BS!OldEdScott
Sep 2, 2003 6:31 AM
Only 1,963.56 (broken back; knee replacement surgey; lack of motivation; three weeks rain)/ 17,612.77 (I know it's not much, but you have to remember that in Jan-Feb I was having that artificial heart implanted in Louisville.)
amen my brother. I have no earthly idea (although I couldbill
Sep 2, 2003 8:23 AM
figure it out, I suppose, if I cared.
I got home every damn time I went out, though.
Quite easy if you keep a log.KG 361
Sep 2, 2003 9:24 AM
I know it's anal and it doesn't really matter diddly, but it fills a need that I have to quantify everything. It's an illness.........
agreed, I have no idea eitherlaffeaux
Sep 2, 2003 1:00 PM
There are too many bikes, and too many ways to ride to make the total mileage seem relavent. Road miles, mtb miles, commute miles, single speed miles... it's all a blur. It's more fun to ride then keep track of how far you've gone.
aug=1006 miles/ YTD=6075bicycle268
Sep 2, 2003 6:35 AM
correction: YTD=6479 (I almost shortchanged myself) NMbicycle268
Sep 2, 2003 6:45 AM
August 523 miles/ YTD 2762 miles (nm)Chicago_Steve
Sep 2, 2003 6:35 AM
nm
600 even/ 3100-3400 ytd aprox (rode w/o computer) (nm)PaulCL
Sep 2, 2003 6:39 AM
348.5 / 3339 2 week vacation this month nmvindicator
Sep 2, 2003 6:43 AM
610 (biggest month ever)/ 2410 ytd. (nm)JL
Sep 2, 2003 6:43 AM
Hey! I thought you just moved. How'd you manage that? =)KG 361
Sep 2, 2003 9:19 AM
You'll be one lean, mean, ridin' machine. Are you planning to do biknbens ride in Oct? Maybe we could car-pool it since I drive on 78 anyway and I'm sure that's how you'd go. E-mail me.

Mark
Feeling great. Sent you an email. (nm)JL
Sep 2, 2003 10:03 AM
August: 669miles/YTD: 4701milesnoveread
Sep 2, 2003 6:51 AM
And I'll type a message if I want! :)

Noveread
The Empty Wrapper
477/ 3418 miles(nm)bigrider
Sep 2, 2003 6:54 AM
Don't know. Rode retro. No odo. Had fun though. nmContinental
Sep 2, 2003 6:55 AM
me, toogtx
Sep 2, 2003 7:52 AM
got rid of the cyclometer 15 years ago...
Aug=442, YTD=3328 + 105hrs on a spinner (nm)TFerguson
Sep 2, 2003 7:03 AM
501/1867 - last 20 miles very painful. nmTNSquared
Sep 2, 2003 7:19 AM
surprised to hear a rider walked last couple hills yesterday nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 7:25 AM
hey, wasn't me!!! :) & today I can only barely walk. nmTNSquared
Sep 2, 2003 7:44 AM
I know it wasn't youJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 7:55 AM
but i was surprised...those hills are only little rollers. i made a point to warn everyone about the last hill before the end. no immodesty intended, but i went up those last 2 in 53/12, though at perhaps 60 rpm. it--and the one right before it--were just lumps. :)

yesterday's frisky 40 felt like a hard 90 to me. not sure why. maybe all the labor day weekend "hydrating".

better eat your pasta this week. you have a long weekend looming.
could have been though, as far back as I fell....TNSquared
Sep 2, 2003 8:11 AM
will try to eat up, but holding a fork right now is fairly difficult as well. Nothing like a restless night's sleep to let all the bumps and bruises really surface. I feel like I got slammed into a road or something. :)
What happened? Good rides?SpecialTater
Sep 2, 2003 9:20 AM
Wish I could have done the Moscow ride yest. Sounds like fun. I barely got out of bed all weekend.

Post a report or email 'em. I want to cycle vicariously through y'all.
TN2 testing gravity againJS Haiku Shop
Sep 2, 2003 9:26 AM
did his best LA impression when an uninsured motorist took a blind curve in the road with a liberal line, forcing most of us to take avasive action. TN2 went into the weeds, and in a daring display of mountain bike handling skills, nearly pulled back out of the rough stuff...that is, until he hit a 2x4 hidden in the grass and went sprawling upon his face on the pavement. it was cool to watch! i'm hoping that signals the end of bernard hinault's interest in me and a renewed sense of staying vertical for the rest of the year.

other than that, it was the normal weekend, plus an extra group ride on monday. TN2...any brief ride reports for sun/mon?
That sucksSpecialTater
Sep 2, 2003 11:06 AM
looks like my jinx jumped on TN2 since my mileage has been less than ideal.
ride reports...TNSquared
Sep 2, 2003 12:19 PM
sunday - sunny, hot, fast
monday - cloudy, humid, fast

great extended weekend of riding, and i especially enjoyed monday's jaunt out through rural fayette county, as J unknowlingly planned a route that passed by the house where i spent most of my childhood. however, as J referenced, i crashed just after the turnaround on monday when an errant driver came around a blind turn on the wrong side of the road. i have to admit i was pretty upset about it until i read the post here this morning about the two cyclist who were killed (others injured)in a similar incident. now i'm thankful to only be bruised and sore.
Aug 602/ YTD 3672yellowspox
Sep 2, 2003 7:33 AM
479 ; 2031 for the year; modest 3000 goal..n.m.koala
Sep 2, 2003 7:33 AM
aug = 480; ytd = ??_rt_
Sep 2, 2003 7:39 AM
August: 1126/ ytd: 5238 nmUncle Tim
Sep 2, 2003 8:24 AM
Aug (660) YTD (3000) nmJohn445
Sep 2, 2003 8:44 AM
august 1,114.09/ytd 6,694.67(nm)12x23
Sep 2, 2003 9:11 AM
611 in August, 4458 YTDtarwheel
Sep 2, 2003 9:24 AM
What are you doing with all this information? Is there a prize for most, least, most average mileage?
August=15, YTD=8315 nm.MB1
Sep 2, 2003 9:47 AM
How is the healing progressing? Well, I hope? nmnoveread
Sep 2, 2003 11:29 AM
August 350/ ytd 2557, 1200 running.nmJuanmoretime
Sep 2, 2003 10:23 AM
Weak month: 340. Weak year to date: 3515 (LBS empoyees don't ride much!) -nmTig
Sep 2, 2003 10:38 AM
August 1226--YTD 8306Tarheel71
Sep 2, 2003 11:36 AM
280/280 nmgildomilo
Sep 2, 2003 2:13 PM
500/2120 (nm)DaveG
Sep 2, 2003 3:07 PM
August - 1045 miles. YTD - 5334 mi.Tom C
Sep 2, 2003 4:23 PM
About 900 for Aug/ 8500 YTD (nm)timfire
Sep 2, 2003 5:27 PM
-timfire
801 August, 4616 YTD nmDave Hickey
Sep 2, 2003 5:38 PM
re: august / ytd mileage in subject line w/nm please (nm)philippec
Sep 2, 2003 10:57 PM
1561 miles august, 8356 ytd nm
oops...1561 miles august, 8356 ytd nmphilippec
Sep 2, 2003 11:02 PM