RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Question for Delta Insight mirror users(8 posts)

Question for Delta Insight mirror userslemmy999
Aug 30, 2003 7:51 PM
I just bought this mirror and I think I am going to like it, but I don't like the idea of the hard plastic resting againsted the paint of my bike. On my mtn bike I stored my pump on the seat tube and it came down and rubbed the paint off in a section of the top tube (over many months). Has anyone had a problem with these mirrors rubbing off the paint? Any ideas to prevent this possible problem?
re: Question for Delta Insight mirror userssiclmn
Aug 30, 2003 9:30 PM
Please read reviews about such products before you buy them. The thing that is so wrong with this mirror and "handlebar mounted mirrors" is that in order to look at them you must shift your view from ahead to down thus taking you eyes off the road for a second or two. Try doing this all day on a century ride and you will be even more fatigued. The best and only mirror worth buying is a sunglass mounted model called the "Take a look" mirror. All you do is shift your eyeball to look at what is behind you. You will see everything with no blind spots. The mirror will not need re-adjusting during your ride.
Tried thoselemmy999
Aug 31, 2003 5:07 AM
and didn't like them. sunglass mounted kind of cock my sunglasses and the helmet mounted never seem to be lined up just right. The problem with both is that I have to move my neck to just the right position to see. With the Insight I do have to take my eyes off of the road, but not nearly as much as I do when I turn around.
You tried "Take-A-Look"? No other compares. (nm)TFerguson
Aug 31, 2003 9:57 AM
btw, I DID read the reviewslemmy999
Aug 31, 2003 5:18 AM
I have done weeks of research on this mirror and noticed that some people love it and some people hate it. Lickton Bicycle told me the same thing when I bought it from them. Do you work for Bike Peddler?
No help with your question...TFerguson
Aug 31, 2003 3:22 AM
but very interested in if it works. What can you actually see?
Thanks,
TF
No help with your question...lemmy999
Aug 31, 2003 5:11 AM
I haven't tried it on a ride yet, but riding around the neighborhood it looks promising. You do see the seatpost, but it doesn't block as much as you think it would and really doesn't obscure anything. My legs to not interfere nearly as much as I thought they wood. But you do have to shift your eyes (and head) down to see in the mirror (the helmet and sunglasses mount you only have to shift your eyes a small amount). However I like how once it is set up, it seems easier to get a good view of the rear than with other styles of mirrors.
re: Question for Delta Insight mirror usersZyzbot
Aug 31, 2003 6:41 AM
I have used the Delta Insight mirrors for years. No problems with harming the paint. The biggest problem is the elastic retainers break. I switched to small zip ties to hold the mirror instead.

As far as having to look down...it is no problem at all and I suffer no fatigue on long rides. You learn to just quickly glance down and then right back up. It definitely beats having to turn my head to look to the rear.

I tried those sunglasses mounted mirrors but never could get used to them.