RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I survived the cablecar accident. Thanks for the prayers.(20 posts)

I survived the cablecar accident. Thanks for the prayers.RadicalRonPruitt
Aug 27, 2003 3:55 PM
I am alive and well. Thank you for all of your prayers and the many cards that were sent to University of
California, San Francisco. I was on the 8th floor in the Long building. Gayle thought I was dead, and
many of the doctors did not think I would live, apparently. I was riding down California Street (I hit
47 miles an hour coming West towards Steiner down the hill) and crossed Vanness Avenue. Technically, I
was not hit by the cablecar. I ran into the cablecar. My wheels got trapped in the tracks, and hit,
at a relatively high speed into the back of the cable car. Gayle immediately came to San Francisco
because, of course, she feared for the worst. She was there when I got discharged, and I started to
slowly heal.

Apparently, I went into atrial fibbleration(?). They told me I code blued. It is all history now, and
I am back home. My riding partner was able to quickly document some of the events that occurred, and I
felt it would be important to share them with all my friends here.

Here is the ambulance arriving to the scene.



This photo is of a firemarshall or somebody, running a red light to come help me. I want to sincerely
thank the San Francisco Fire Department for there quick actions. I was unconscious at the time, and
I understand that without their professional help, I would have been dead.



This is the intersection where it all went terribly wrong.



My riding partner also grabbed this picture of the cable car after the crash. The cablecar was almost
empty. He was laughing that these two people were still on the cablecar, as though it would leave
soon. He thought it was funny. I did not think so.



This is my bicycle. It was relatively unharmed, thank heavens.



I could not leave San Francisco without getting back on the bike and riding the same route. It would
become a form of therapy that would help me come back home to Wisconsin without a fear of living
life with happiness again. My dear wife Gayle took this picture of me on my ride after the accident.



I have many friends here, and I want to thank all of you again for your support, but I do want to
mention that when times get rough, you find out who your enemies are. In my darkest hour, some
people made jokes at my expense. I will forgive and forget, but it still hurts inside. My
physical pain has healed, but it will take time for the emotional pain to subside. San Francisco
is a wonderful city. I have many stories and pictures before the tragedy, but I have a newfound
view of life, and I don't give much credence to mean people. There was a bumper sticker on a 1981
Honda Civic in San Francisco. It said "Mean People Suck." I agree with that bumper sticker.

I am glad to be back.
While you were away, our prayers were answered...rwbadley
Aug 27, 2003 4:26 PM
and you miraculously survived an extremely well documented accident. I love the first-hand, blow by blow account. I was hoping for more of the gory details though.

Did the helmet save you? It's really hard to tell from this end if there is any brain damage. Was anything hanging out? How's your spleen doing? They say the spleen and the collarbone are the first to go... Or was it just a road rash? How many band-aids did it take? Make sure to use tincture of mentho-sputum on that.

You gotta watch out. Did you know, many people that go into hospitals never come out alive? They got some new virus that scares hell out of penicillin. It sometimes takes a week or two to act up. If you start to feel bad, you'll need to go back to the source so they can hunt it down. They probably won't be able to cure it, but they want to watch the mutant virus in action, before the lethal consequences set in.

I've seen that bumper sticker (mean people suck) too. I always wondered just how mean somebody has to be before they suck. And just what is it they are sucking? Where is the line drawn re: sucking degree vs meanness? Is it an on-off sort of thing, like a light switch? Or is it a gradual descent into suckdom depending on how mean the person is... and who judges the degree of sucking the mean person gets? If I were a little meaner, maybe I could get more sucking?...

RW
3 broken ribs and a serious concussion.RadicalRonPruitt
Aug 27, 2003 5:23 PM
I did not take any of the pictures. My riding partner was there, and took the pictures in case legal action was needed. I was unconscious and it would have been impossible to take pictures. Gayle took a picture of me when I rode the same ride again, to overcome my fears. It happened so fast. I slipped on the tracks, and ran straight into the back of the stopped cablecar. It was just an accident, and no claim can be made.

By the way, I have been reading some of these posts here, since coming home, and too many people here are being accused of being me, Ron Pruitt. There is only one Ron Pruitt, and I win every time someone new comes onto this board, and you people post about how skeptical you are whether the person is real. Skepticism is killing this board.

I am just glad I survived my accident. This board has been the last thing I was worried about for a long time. I am glad to be alive.
Tour de force, 4 stars, must see!terry b
Aug 27, 2003 6:20 PM
They need to give awards for posts like this! I'm truly impressed.

Are the twins happy that Daddy is home?
Oh, I concur!Zonic Man
Aug 27, 2003 9:48 PM
That's TWO thumbs up!
Did the iPod survive? nmgcbgcb
Aug 27, 2003 6:41 PM
This thread is proof that you guys are suckers.spankdoggie
Aug 27, 2003 6:49 PM
Is this the same dude that posted as CalmedDownRonPruitt at golfreview.com? I think it is. Why didn't you tell me you were in San Francisco? I could have hooked you up.

You guys want the truth?

YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!!!

RadicalRonPruitt and Spankdoggie are the same.
Put that in your pipes and smoke it bastards.
I am both.

Damn. You guys believe anything, so I might as well let you know that I am RadicalRonPruitt, CalmedDownRonPruitt, GrandFatherPruitt, et al.

I am not the fat guy, though. That is someone else; either a real guy or a fake guy. You guys are like a bunch of confused 8 year old children that were just told by an adult that the sun is made of butter, and the moon is made of cheese.

I forgot how fun this forum is.
Thanks guys for making this forum fun.
Your not foolin anyone here dog spanker!the bull
Aug 27, 2003 6:59 PM
We know who you are!
YA BASTARD!
spankdoggie...SlowFast
Aug 27, 2003 7:37 PM
The only dog you may spank is Gayle... no self respecting canine would have you, B*ST*RD BOY!

RRP... You're not well, you're sick.

CDRP... A weak incarnation of RRP. Go spank your monkey instead of the keyboard.

CFH... 306 pounds of total, obvious, pitiful BS.

In conclusion, YOU are an idiot. I can and would be happy to ride circles around your worthless *ss, and if you want to go over to the golf forum, I'll spot you five a side and still clean your double bogey makin' clock!! Good day.
Slowfast...spankdoggie
Aug 27, 2003 7:54 PM
May I recommend another beer?
How very disappointing...SlowFast
Aug 27, 2003 8:24 PM
I expected a good old fashioned sp cussin'! Maybe I will have a (good) beer. It probably makes sense to replace some carbs after my Wednesday evening fast 40 mile club ride. BTW, did you ride today? Or play golf?
Spaghetti.spankdoggie
Aug 27, 2003 8:40 PM
I golf Friday morning.
Go eat some spaghetti... again.
Ate a huge plate Friday evening...SlowFast
Aug 27, 2003 9:01 PM
Before I did the Hotter n' Hell 100 (miles) Saturday without stopping. Are you planning on trying a century any time soon on your newly acquired recumbent, or perhaps your amazingly undamaged road bike? Oh, and have you ever broken 90 on anything more difficult than the local Putt Putt? Do they take tee times at your Putt Putt? And what color ball do you use? Probably blue, I would guess.
Pride.spankdoggie
Aug 27, 2003 9:04 PM
Pride comes before a crash, my dear friend. I don't have a recumbent, but I do have a Serotta. What kind of bike do you ride?

Jackass.
That's more like it!SlowFast
Aug 27, 2003 9:23 PM
Finally an appropriate spankmonkey retort. What happened to the Giant in the photos documenting your terrible RRP/CDRP/SD/CFH vs. the cable car crash? I bet you're REALLY glad you weren't riding the Serotta that day, huh?

My bike... I own (and actually ride) a Trek 5200, as well as a Fuji Team, among others. BTW, I'm not your friend, dear or otherwise. Good night to all of your personas.
Bicycles...spankdoggie
Aug 27, 2003 9:38 PM
You are just jealous because I have a Serotta CSI with Ksyriums, full Dura Ace, F1 fork, and all the accessories...
Fuji Team is a good bike, though...for the price. You are in good shape, but you ride and write like a cheap strung-out jackass. It is not about the bike; you need to learn that. Show some respect to me next time you cross my path, you bastard.

Don't hate the player; hate the game.

Spaghetti dreams
Jealous? Of a troll? Hah!SlowFast
Aug 28, 2003 8:08 PM
You got no game. You got no freakin' Serotta (and if you do I don't care one whit, I'll ride you into the ground regardless). I write like Hemingway compared to any and all of your personas. If we EVER cross paths... well let's just say that you wouldn't get any respect. Yes, I'm in good shape. You won't be able to run or ride away, only hide. And at 306 (in your CFH incarnation), hiding may be kinda hard.

Headwind and rain to you forever (if you even ride).
maybe you should actually ride on occasionwspokes
Aug 28, 2003 3:37 AM
Something tells me you need to get out and ride. Actually It amazes me the continuous boring posts you and your alter egos create...I am firmly convinced that you don't even have a bike...you don't even ride. You are probably some softball playing, beer drinking, volunteer fireman receiving welfare, sitting on your ass getting fat, and posting to this board in between sifting through your child porn you lonely dolt!
Because I think we should share.RadicalRonPruitt
Aug 27, 2003 8:31 PM
I thought I would share this intriguing photo of the Golden Gate Bridge. If you look at the small "ropes" connecting the bridge, and then compare them to the actual size, you become awed at the size of the bridge. It is good to be alive. I still hurt quite a bit, but my ribs are still hurting.

Gayle thinks some of you are being silly.
A lifetime original movie moment...wspokes
Aug 28, 2003 3:29 AM
You should get yourself a movie of the week....or a candidate for a tee shirt! Glad you made it..amazed to see you riding after being discharged from the hospital...you are an amazing....