RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


opinions on Selle Italia saddles(14 posts)

opinions on Selle Italia saddlescapt pearl
Aug 26, 2003 8:25 AM
I'm considering the following saddles and could use some opinions:

Flite Ti (original), 180g, $50
Flite TT, 165g, $80
SLR, 135, $65

My mountain bike buddy swears by the TT. I've seen some nice words about the original Flite Ti on the CX board. I know that the SLR is pretty much the de facto stanard of light, cheap, and reasonably comfortable (which is totally subjective).

I'm not necessarily married to Selle Italia, but they have a good rep, and these 3 are pretty affordable for the weight.

The saddle will be used for group rides and tri's by a non-hardcore guy.

Thanks,

-capt p
re: opinions on Selle Italia saddlesRom12_1
Aug 26, 2003 8:34 AM
I like my Flite Ti. Since saddle preference depends so much on personal feel, its really hard to say how much you'll like any of the 3 listed. But, since the Flite Ti is relatively cheap, atleast your out less cash if its not for you. By the way, you might be able to get it for less than $50 if you really look around. I think I paid in the 40s a few months ago. Bought it online somewhere.
re: opinions on Selle Italia saddlesaerox
Aug 26, 2003 9:02 AM
I was using a 15 year old Selle Italia TURBO until the leather worn to the plastic shell. After reading all the positive reviews on the Flite saddles, I purchased the basic Flite saddle from eBay ($36 incl. S/H) and there was absolutely NO break-in period.
What saddle are you presently riding on?
my current saddlecapt pearl
Aug 26, 2003 10:42 AM
...is definitely a fairly aggressive profile, visually simular to the selle italia's, for what that's worth. The name is pretty unreadable, it looks like a carbon frame. The cover looks like a "carbon fiber" print and has ripped exposing the foam padding (it's pretty worn).

I thought it would be uncomfortable, but it's been pretty good for up to ~30 miles (my longest rides to date).

I'll look tonite and try to make out the name.

Thanks for all the imput. I'm leaning hard to the Flite Ti as it's by far the bang-4-bux leader of the list and has some favorable reviews so far. Any idea if I can remove the "selle italia" patch/logo if I get an older one to make it more comfortable?

Thanks.

-capt p
Selle Italia are top quality. BUTT....Atombomber
Aug 26, 2003 9:05 AM
Do the models listed fit yours? I had the original Flite Ti for years, but switched to the TurboMatic series and they fit better and offer vibration damping so comfort is much better, but at a weight penalty. The weight is non-rotational, so if there is somewhere to sacrifice light weight for comfort, the saddle is a good place.
re: opinions on Selle Italia saddlesTNSquared
Aug 26, 2003 9:12 AM
I've had only two saddles thus far. The first was a Selle San Marco Era Luxe that came stock on my bike. Don't know what the "Luxe" was as it felt like a 2x4 jammed under my butt. Flat, hard, darn uncomfortable.

The second was a Flite Ti - no gel, no cutout. It felt great on day one and has remained so through rides up to 100 miles. I seriously considered the fizik Aliante, but at $150+ I decided to give the $50 Flite a try first. Glad I did.

The Flite curves away on the sides, which makes it fairly narrow and made it alot more comfortable for me. Along with the smooth leather, this made for no chafing and no butt soreness. YMMV.

I suggest going to www.selleitalia.com and reading the section on how the choose the correct saddle shape and construction.

One note: If you go with the Flite, try to be sure you are getting the 2003 model. It is entirely smooth leather. The older models have large embroidered logos which I've read can be bothersome, causing irritating friction and ruining your shorts
re: opinions on Selle Italia saddlesGFocker
Aug 26, 2003 9:37 AM
I've had a Flite ti for two years now with no regrets. It's light, cheap, and comfortable. You can't ask for much more than that. However, as the others pointed out, it all depends on personal preference with a saddle.
re: opinions on Selle Italia saddlesPEDDLEFOOT
Aug 26, 2003 9:51 AM
After going through 6 or 7 different saddles I found the Flites and have had no problems since.As stated before saddles are so persnal that one persons perfect saddle is anothers brick.I agree with a previous response as to trying out the Flite Ti first since it is reasonably priced and will give you a good idea as to the shape of the saddle in relation to your particular needs.I have both the Flite Ti and the Genuine Gel.I just finished a century Sunday with the Gel and had no discomfort.I really don't notice any difference between the two myself.I'm not sure how much the gel in the Genuine Gel saddle helps.I think it comes down to whether the shape of the saddle fits the shape of your rear end.Good luck.
Flite TiDropped
Aug 26, 2003 10:20 AM
I've run the basic old school Flite Ti on all of my bikes for 10 or so years now. It is the most comfortable saddle I've ever ridden. You butt may be different, of course . . . .
Me Too: Flite TiMShaw
Aug 26, 2003 11:53 AM
Except that I was doing several 3-4 hour rides/week and my arse started getting really sore. Sit bones mostly. Upgraded to the Flite Gel, not as much soreness on the sit bones, but overall it has the same feel.

I still have a pair of Flites for my mtn bikes, and an Era on my 'cross bike. The Era's not bad, but it isn't as good either.

Mike
My flite ti is lighter and as comfy as my Fizik Alianteyoucancallmejoe
Aug 26, 2003 10:46 AM
There you go. I bought the Aliante since I was going to do the PBP. My flite weighs 185 grams and is equal in comfort to my $180 205 gram Aliante.

Don't skimp on the shorts either. In my opinion that is where you can't spend too much money (except for the way overpriced Assos line).
Flite Ti to SLR . . .Look381i
Aug 26, 2003 10:50 AM
I believe that with saddles less is more.

I loved the Flite Ti and had gone through several over the years. (I had briefly tried the Flite Ti Gel, but junked it because of the embroidered ribs. I like plain and smooth.) The only complaint I had was that the nose, although narrow, rubbed my shorts, causing premature wear. On a long ride (over 60 or 70), it would lead to chafing also.

Last year I switched to SLRs on my bikes. Comfort is about the same, but the even narrower, shallower nose reduces shorts wear and eliminates chafing. Like the Flite Ti, it fits my sit bones just right. And it is smooth, of course.

Good luck.
I have ridden all 3 and have an opinion on "best"Tommasini
Aug 26, 2003 1:37 PM
I had ridden the regular Ti for several years. Tried a SLR and hated it because as my body pushed back against the wider part of the saddle (because there isn't enough dip in it to help hold you in place) the sharp edges of the saddle edge gave me (and several others who gave up on them) saddle sores. So I switched to a Flite TT. Nice shape to take care of the issues I had with the SLR but now the shell is composite that is so stiff - it was like riding an ultra stiff frame. The nads went numb too easily too. Switched back to the regular Ti and my smooth ride came back plus I didn't worry about long term damage to my privates. Others might say those saddles worked for them - all I gotta say is there are distinct differences between them and the comfy regular Ti. Saddles are very personnal - mine it the regular Ti. Good luck what ever you do.
none of them for melaffeaux
Aug 26, 2003 1:51 PM
I have used a standard Flight TI, and a Flight Gel on my road bikes in the past, but didn't like either. I'd used the Flight Gel on my MTB and liked it (still have one on the bike), so I figured I'd use it on my road bike. The stitching that runs down the side of the saddle chaffed me unbelievably - after 600 miles or so, I said, "enough!" and bought the standard Flight.

The standard Flite was significantly better than the Gel version, but still not great. I've used many other saddles that I much prefer to the Flites - Serfas Aria, Terry Zero, and Avocet O2, to name a few.