RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My butt has finally found it's soulmate.....(17 posts)

My butt has finally found it's soulmate.....tirider
Aug 25, 2003 12:02 PM
...tsk tsk tsk... it's not what some of you were thinking! I had my inaugural ride on my new Fizik Aliante saddle yesterday and I am in love! Over the years I have ridden most of the saddles out there and this one seems to find the perfect compromise between confort and light weight... and yes I've owned Brooks saddles, but I can't bring myself now to bolt a boat anchor to a bike I've spent thousands on in the quest to shave grams, so I've suffered over the years to one degree or the other (I've currently used the Flite TT which weighs 165 grams). The Aliante has just the right amount of padding for me, plus softer compression zones in the right spots that all the gels and cutouts of other saddles could never quite replicate for confort. Now for the bad news... it retails somewhere between $145 and $160 for the titanium rail version (listed 235 grams) and $185 to $200 for the carbon rail version (listed 180 grams). I weighed both at a local shop and the carbon's actual weight was actually 201 grams and the titanium's was the listed 235 grams, so I bought the titanium one. I have long femurs and tend to slide my saddles back on the post, so I also felt the titanium one might be a bit more durable given the leverage I subject my saddles to. I've got my fingers crossed, but I can't remember the last time I've ridden with no discomfort whatsoever. Perhaps there is true love after all.
re: My butt is still searching....AFrizzledFry
Aug 25, 2003 12:12 PM
I too cant remember the last time I've ridden with no discomfort whatsoever. I've been thinking about the Aliante saddle for a long time now. I currently ride a Terry Fly saddle, which just doesn't get the job done well enough for me. thanks for your post. anyone else have Aliante success stories?
re: My butt is still searching....tirider
Aug 25, 2003 12:35 PM
At 46 years of age nothing much gets me excited anymore, so imagine my surprise when I realised mid-ride that I was completely comfortable. I had forgotten what it feels like to actually relax and just put all my weight on the saddle for extended periods... I usually found myself trying to float over them to relieve the pressure points. Now on to a longer ride to test out my new love.....
re: Aliante success.....mainframe
Aug 25, 2003 12:47 PM
Yup, I've had one on my Look for about six months, no complaints and a nice improvement. My Fiite was cutting the tender area due to a seam. Also, be advised that Aliante's carbon rails are somewhat large diameter which can have seatpost clamping implications. I chose the titanium, weight difference notwithstanding.
Question for you...No_sprint
Aug 25, 2003 1:14 PM
I've ridden just about anything that looked decent to me too. The saddles I dislike most are *rounded top* saddles like most people use and like. These are the Flite types. I've found what works best for me is the SLR because its' flat top and it's somewhat flexible mid-section. Does the Fizik have similar attributes or is it a more rounded shape like the Flite? Is it somewhat flexible in the middle?
Question for you...tirider
Aug 25, 2003 2:31 PM
It definately isn't flat like the SLR... the shape, looking from the side, is similar to the Flite. However the different density kevlar of the Aliante shell does away with the hard contact points I get when down in the drops when riding Flites. I've owned the standard 135 gram SLR and the all carbon version, and while I found them more comfortable than their appearance would warrant, they became uncomfortable to me after about 25 miles. Perhaps the newer version with more padding would help. My main complaint with the standard Flite saddle was that the concave shape would become more pronounced when they got older, aggravating the problems inherent to that design. My solution when riding the Flite was to cant the nose up a bit and ride on the back portion of seat, which was relatively flat then. This however wouldn't work for those who prefer a lip at the back to push against when climbing, but it worked for me.
HEY, the Aliante is MY butt's soulmate!terry b
Aug 25, 2003 1:33 PM
currently in the courting state too and finding I like is a whole lot. even better than the Fizik Paves I've been amassing over the last couple of months. Great saddle.
Keep us posted on reliabilityChicago_Steve
Aug 25, 2003 2:05 PM
Glad to hear that the Fizik is working out. I'm a long time Flite guy but have been contemplating an Aliante soon. The only downside I can see in these saddles (beyond price) is that I've read some reports that the leather wears a bit quickly. Keep us posted on the durability of the saddle...
I'm a convert too....t0adman
Aug 25, 2003 2:24 PM
I got my silver Aliante (ti) about 3 months ago and I love it too. It's considerably more comfortable than the saddle I had but it's still not a dream on 60+ mile rides. Maybe I'm still just a little too heavy, or my crotch isn't tough enough, or who knows, but I did an 80 yesterday and finished with a little discomfort. I think I just need to toughen up because the Aliante is the best I've ridden in a long time. Only complaint is the durability. Don't let the saddle touch anything but your butt because the leather is very delicate.
My butt agrees with your buttCHRoadie
Aug 25, 2003 2:43 PM
I was amazed at how comfortable the Aliante was right out of the box. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Yes!
me, tooToothpick
Aug 25, 2003 2:54 PM
I had been riding a Brooks Swift this year. I got the Aliante on my new bike. First ride of 63 miles, no pain, but still I was not sold as the Brooks is comfy. Second ride of 20 miles, then the third ride at HHH this weekend, went 100 miles with no saddle issues. This one is staying on the bike, although I'll still ride the Swift on the old bike. It just seems to kind of belong there.

The Selle Italia Flight Trans Am Gel Flow was nothing other than a torture device to me.
But my butt is SmurfyCrankist
Aug 25, 2003 3:27 PM
(No it's not blue.)

I've had the Aliante (CF) for a couple of months, mounted on Thomson post. The rail diameter is a bit oversize but went on OK. Mine came in at 200gr., an acceptable 10% over. I have a Selle Basso which came in about 35% overweight so I sent in a complaint (just because). I am still waiting for my million dollar pain and suffering settlement as well as the full-page NY Times formal apology. So perhaps they just lost my e-mail. :(
Aliante is the Barco Lounger of light saddles. Take great care to adjust nose up/down for best results. Like someone else said, it's a heck of a thing to be 30-40 miles down the road and suddenly notice that I'm not noticing my saddle (apologies to Yogi).
Mike
Hey Mike, you were rightterry b
Aug 25, 2003 7:57 PM
about that Aliante. I've got it on my Calfee, it is a Barcalounger.
Fizik got the sitbone area perfect for skinny butts...koala
Aug 25, 2003 5:31 PM
..and mine only weighed 189(carbon). I cant believe that after 60 miles of this saddle and a little Assos, my butt is the least sore area on me!
OUCH!!! nmEl Caballito
Aug 25, 2003 11:41 PM
x
First Century on my new Aliantedirthead
Aug 26, 2003 4:14 AM
I rode my first century (HH100) on a new Fizik Aliante this past weekend. It was my second ride on the saddle! I was previously using a SLR, which was pretty comfortable. I decided to try the Aliante (Ti model) because of all the positive reviews of it's comfort. I know you aren't supposed to change anything so close to a century ride, but what the hell. My first ride on it was a 60 mile training ride the weekend before the century. It felt ok, but since the shape is a little more curvy than the slr, it just felt different, but comfortable. After sitting on the saddle for 5 1/2 hrs and riding 102 miles, my arse was the only thing not hurting. My body was in total pain, but my butt felt great. I never felt any discomfort whatsoever in my rear end region during the ride, NONE! It is the most awesome saddle I have ever ridden on. All the positive reviews are correct. It is expensive, but it is worth it. I got the Ti version, since my Alien post would require me to spend another $30 to get the mounting hardware to fit the carbon rails.

Bottom line - get the saddle, it will be the best money you ever spent!
re: Color choice.....03Vortex
Aug 26, 2003 9:59 AM
What color are all of you buying? Black, Silver, Blue. Availability depemds on whether you go with Ti or carbon rails.