RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Have you gone MAD? World Champ Colors and Yellow Jersey's?(39 posts)

Have you gone MAD? World Champ Colors and Yellow Jersey's?Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 11:35 AM
Ok, I'm having a hard time dealing with all this "non-sense" about what we should and shouldn't wear. I'm new to the whole roadie thing. I've rode MTB's for 6 years now, and I've been gaining interset in the road scene for the last two. AND yes, Lance Armstrong and his book opend my eyes to it.

I am a HUGE sports fanatic. I love and watch sports when ever I get a chance. I also support the my favorite teams and players. Likewise for cycling. I wear there apparel, I wear there jersey's, I root for them out loud.

Now that lance has won yet another Tour, I'm sure there will be yet another USPS yellow Jeresy for me to buy and wear. I support him. I root for him out loud.

Now why do I get crap for supproting him. Sure I didn't earn that yellow jesrey, does that matter? Have we become that narrow minded?

Tail Wind
Long live the FANATIC!
People are frickin uptight a-holes!eschelon
Aug 22, 2003 11:51 AM
I really frickin hate people who get in a bunch that say stupid sh1t like: "you shouldn't wear the world champion or yellow jersey or team jersey kit because you didn't earn it"...I mean, if that's so, they why the hell did they make it in the first place?

I say go for it. Wear away! Show your pride! F@@k the rest of them that have a problem with you because "you didn't earn it."...jesusfrickinchrist!
People are frickin uptight a-holes!Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 11:56 AM
AMEN BROTHA!!!!

damn, and I thought I was the only one out there.

Long Live TEAM support.
Long Live the LOVE for your sport.

Tail Wind
You have no IDEA! nmthe bull
Aug 22, 2003 2:41 PM
People are frickin uptight a-holes!Cheezhead
Aug 23, 2003 12:06 PM
the reason that they make the kits is to make money. That is no excuse. You didn't earn it, you shouldn't wear it. There should only be ONE way to get into a yellow jersey.
I agreegregario
Aug 22, 2003 12:01 PM
I've already picked up my USPS Retro Jersey. It's pretty cool. Although I personally wouldn't wear a yellow or world champ jersey I have no trouble with others wearing them. Some of us sound like 16 year old girls by saying what someone else should or shouldn't wear. Get over it.
totally!Rich_Racer
Aug 22, 2003 12:05 PM
If you were to wear a soccer or basketball jersey of your favourite team people would not automatically assume you thought you were good enough to play for them - only that you supported them and were proud of the fact. Why are things different in cycling??
totally!Alpedhuez55
Aug 22, 2003 12:27 PM
In think some racers do not like that. Even club racers. I guess they feel wearing team colors is something you earn. I would not wear team colors if I were able to race, but I do not think it uis that big a deal to go on a group ride wearing a team shirt.

Mike Y.
totally!Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 12:35 PM
How do you think a football player feels when he looks into the stands and see's hundreds of people wearing his jersey?

I'm sure he isn't pissed off... or think some one is trying to disgrace his beloved proffesion.

If I'm sponserd, then my loyalty to the team. I'm not.

I ride for me. You should ride for YOU.

Tail Wind.
Different traditions. (nm)JFR
Aug 22, 2003 12:34 PM
nm
Different traditions. (nm)Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 12:39 PM
So your saying that WE shouldn't celebrate our tradition?

Be proud of our tradition?

I'm by far not the one who rode the first bike, I'm the one that continues to CELEBRATE tradition.

People act is if we're burning the flag. I don't uderstand.
No. It's a matter of HOW you celebrateJFR
Aug 22, 2003 1:21 PM
Wearing a yellow/rainbow jersey, to some, does not celebrate the history of the jersey and what it represents... it INSULTS it.
GROW - UP.Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 1:27 PM
then it's time we re-think this whole thing...

Next time you wave that american flag, think of all the armed forces out there your insulting...

sounds stupid huh?

Tail Wind
Sounds stupid? Yes.JFR
Aug 22, 2003 2:23 PM
I can't believe you're trying to make that comparison.
perhaps far stretched.. but fly it proudly. yellow or whateverTail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 2:30 PM
Next time you see someone cruising around in a yellow, what ever jersey, think to your self.... there's a rider with passion.

(never mind that he's 40 pounds over weight)

Tail Wind.
Went to a Milan v Barca friendly the other day, and sittingdjg
Aug 23, 2003 9:24 AM
in front of me was a guy in a Michael Owen shirt. I'm pretty sure it wasn't Michael Owen. Too tall. Too fat. Other issues. And I'm pretty sure he wasn't trying to get the world to think he was Michael Owen. Seemed ok to me.

The reason cycling is different--or is seen by some folks as different--is that cycling has this weird history of jerseys that sort of do double-duty as trophies. A couple of weeks ago I passed a guy on the bike trail wearing the National Champion jersey. I don't know him, but I recognized him--he really was the national road champion (this year's race). So for some, wearing the yellow jersey is akin to hanging a repro of Lance's trophy on your mantel. The reason this has gotten complicated is that, in recent years (or decades by now), the promoters have started licensing their intellectual property so that there are millions of repro jerseys on the market for fans to buy and wear. If every bike shop has green jersey repros for sale, wearing a green jersey becomes something other than the creepy and pathetic manufacture of a one-off fake TDF trophy. It becomes something more like the Michael Owen shirt. Or at least I think it does, when I care to think about it, which is not often.

In the end, if it's not the actual yellow jersey (green, pink, wc, whatever) then I think it's a shirt with pockets in the back. And I do not care what shirts other folks choose to wear (although I do appreciate the policy in our finer restaurants that people wear some sort of shirt or other ... and shoes too).
These are my peopleTail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 12:09 PM
Rock what ever you want.

Just RIDE.

LONG LIVE THE TAIL WIND.
Rode part way up Alpe D'Huez with a guy clad in the Worldchopper
Aug 22, 2003 12:20 PM
Championship outift this year on the day of the stage. The guy got more comments than anyone else, people kept saying things like hey Mario, Go Mario, etc. None of it seemed to be derogatory; however, on one of the busiest cycling days of the year when you see thousands of riders, he was the only one I saw wearing that kit, yellow jerseys you saw but not that one.
No confusion there... would never find Mario on l'Alpe! nmPdxMark
Aug 22, 2003 12:50 PM
Critical difference,TJeanloz
Aug 22, 2003 1:04 PM
There is a difference between wearing a USPS, or other pro team jersey, and wearing the World Championship, Yellow, Green, etc. jerseys.

The difference is that these jerseys are a PRIZE you get for WINNING something. For competitive cyclists, the opportunity to wear the Yellow Jersey is something that is a complete dream. Note that Armstrong himself often doesn't wear it to start the Tour - though he is allowed to - because he wants to earn it anew. When every shmo is wearing a "replica" it demeans the value of the prize. It's not like wearing a Packers jersey, it's like wearing a Packers Super Bowl ring that you bought on e-bay. That's the difference.

I feel less strongly about wearing a regular-edition team jersey, though it's probably not something I would do.
have you made written complaints to the ASO?eschelon
Aug 22, 2003 1:15 PM
or the UCI regarding them squandering the prestige of these jerseys by allowing the cycling clothing manufacturers to sell such jerseys to the public to be worn by them?

I mean, if it's okay by these folks...then what's the fuss about what other people shouldn't wear because they didn't earn it?
have you made written complaints to the ASO?TJeanloz
Aug 22, 2003 1:35 PM
What the UCI is suddenly the arbitor of good taste?

If you want to wear a Tour jersey, knock yourself out. I'll think you look like a jackass, but you shouldn't care what I think.

As an amusing aside, I was once on a ride in Boulder with a kid who was visiting campus (looking at colleges) - we pulled up behind a rider in FULL USPS gear; bike and all. Kid says, "look at this total loser" (we're well out of earshot), yes kid, that's Tyler Hamilton, who's the loser now?
Critical difference,MikeBiker
Aug 22, 2003 1:18 PM
How would I recognizeb "The yellow jersey" as opposed to a yellow jersey. I own a yellow jersey but it says "Tour de north county" or something like that. I did not earn it, it bought it cheaply at a fitness festival. Does the Tour yellow jersey say "Tour de France" on it?

Mike
A yellow jersey is fine,TJeanloz
Aug 22, 2003 1:31 PM
I'm talking about a strict replica yellow jersey, with all the right logos on it. Yellow as a color is not banned, after all, my alma mater (Colorado) had yellow jerseys.
A brief rant, not solely directed at TJTrent in WA
Aug 22, 2003 9:59 PM
But you can't "get a strict replica yellow jersey with all the right logos on it," can you? An actual competition yellow, green, or KOM jersey is going to have the sponsors' logos all over it--the generic replica won't.



Can't you tell the difference? What kind of cycling "fan" are you?



Sarcasm aside, I really don't get the arcana that seems to be the roadie code of honor / cred as it gets served up on this board occasionally. When riding around Holland and Belgium this summer, I saw plenty of middle-aged guys jetting around on their weekend warrior bikes decked out in Rabo, Landbouw, Lotto, etc., kit. They weren't under any illusion that they could mix it up with Boogerd & co., and the other people out riding didn't take it as some sort of affront. Someone wearing "top club" team kit, or a replica yellow jersey, isn't necessarily doing anything more complicated that declaring their knowledge of or interest in bike racing. Or maybe they just like the jersey--a bunch of folks around here have Euskatel jerseys, and they ain't no Basques. Suggesting that the average Joe or Jane Shmoe biker guy / chick is laying down smack or posturing by pulling on team wear, or is trying to arrogate some sort of honor they haven't earned, betrays the residual effects of testosterone poisoning.

And no, I don't have any TdF jerseys or pro team wear myself. Too expensive.

Trent
Finaly, someone makes a valid point.Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 1:31 PM
I agree...

and I add this. To the person who bought that packers ring, wouldn't you consider your self the ultimate packers fan? I envey you. I imagine you bleed packer green and gold, you remember the days of old, and every superbowl, you put that ring on and wear it in support of those who sacrificed to earn it.

Tail Wind
RE: Packers ringTJeanloz
Aug 22, 2003 1:51 PM
As a sports fan, I have nothing wrong with owning a championship ring as a piece of memorabilia, which you may don on special occasions, like when you watch a big game (that's a little over the top, but why not?). Likewise, if you owned an autographed yellow USPS jersey, and pulled it over your shoulders while you watched Armstrong on OLN, that's o.k. too.

It's the riding around every-other-day, throwing it the wash, treating it like it's just another jersey that I have an issue with.
Hng the hat up kid your 26 now.... and too OLDTail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 2:14 PM
Growing up as a kid I used to pretend I was Babe Ruth, I had a number three Yankees Jersey, and an old Yankee hat my great granfather gave me. I ran around all day pointing to the fences and swinging away... damn those were the days.. I guess now that I'm all grown up.... at 26, I'll have to hang up the yellow jersey and put my dreams on the shelf, becuase it's "not hip" it's "velo gay"....

no really... riding a bike doesn't allow me to dream that I'm off in a far away country flying past the huge german...

reall....

Tail Wind
Critical difference to your critical differenceFez
Aug 22, 2003 2:18 PM
TJ, I agree with you in that the yellow jersey is a prize.

But there is a problem with your comparison with Super Bowl Rings.

In football, replica jerseys are sold to the public and worn all the time. Super Bowl rings are not sold to the public, to the best of my knowledge. If they were, I'm sure they would be worn by those who purchased one (and did not earn it).

In cycling, replica team jerseys are sold and worn all the time. Yellow jerseys are also sold to the public. Like it or not, they are sold to the public; as a result, they are worn by the public.

That said, I probably wouldn't wear a team jersey or a yellow jersey as a recreational cyclist.
Good point. Never thought of it that way. nmKen of Fresno
Aug 22, 2003 5:24 PM
you obviously haven't seen my wife in her polka dot jerseyStinky Hippie
Aug 22, 2003 8:17 PM
...I'm betting you'd be singing a different tune if you did:)

Feel the gin
<<< TO ALL >>> LIVE THE DREAM. <<<Tail Wind
Aug 22, 2003 2:25 PM
While your still young and able to ride that silly, over priced, under used, over tech'd, damn I need more carbon, BIKE.

LIVE THE DREAM, DREAM TO LIVE

Tail Wind
re: Have you gone MAD? World Champ Colors and Yellow Jersey's?pedalruns
Aug 22, 2003 4:09 PM
Ride what you want... I just bought a CSC jersery (my first pro jersery) as I wanted to support Tyler Hamilton.. Of course now he might be changing teams..

A lot of that comes from local club guys... like guys that race Cat 1,2.. It would look pretty stupid for these guys to wear pro team jerserys.. since they could possible race against them..

But is you are a regular rider... Big deal what you wear.. Now if you are on a team or a club, you should wear your own teams colors(as you pay to be on a club, so you should want to support it), but every once in a while shouldn't matter..

Don't worry what the next guy thinks, ride what you feel good in..

And if Tyler doesn't crash... Watch out Lance!
Should THIS guy on our club ride wear the jersey!the bull
Aug 22, 2003 5:38 PM
YES!
You should not! YOu are not a NATIONAL CHAMP!
I would never even think of sporting the colors!!
All the crap abot the US flag YOU HAVE NO IDEA!!!!
That is a bunch of crap!!!!!!
It would be more me pinning a PURPLE HEART ON MY CHEST!
Hey Bull---- Should THIS guykiwisimon
Aug 23, 2003 2:43 PM
Hey bull do everyone a favor and ask him what he thinks about replica jerseys? I think he would say no problem, anything that motivates people to ride seems ok to me and anyone who is anyone will know who a real champ is. Can you tell Greg that he's the real thing and some of his fans are waiting for another book
cheers
can you post back here with his answer?
Well..the bull
Aug 23, 2003 3:06 PM
Your right he (Dave LeDuke,Masters World Champion) could probally careless about anyone wearing his jersey.In fact now that I have though about it if it were me, I would be flatered!It would tickle me to death to see someone wearing my jersey! Esp. since I would not even wear it unless I was in a UCI/USCF sanctioned race.
Well..russw19
Aug 23, 2003 5:43 PM
And in my opinion, unless you are the current holder of the jersey, that is the only place you shouldn't wear it.

I have won a jersey... I won two of them as State Road Race Champion of Florida two years in a row. If I would have shown up to a race and seen someone else wearing my jersey, I would have politely asked them to change.. if they didn't, I would have demanded the Race Referee tell them to change. But on a training ride, if I saw someone wearing it, I might chuckle inside. I would probably have thought (especially because at that time I was way more arrogant than I am now) that should they actually have trained as hard as I did those years, they could have won that jersey too. All that is moot because I have never seen anyone wearing that jersey, but that's my take on it.

If someone wants to wear a team or club jersey or a Tour Champion or World's or World Cup Leader's jersey on a casual training ride. I have no issue with that. They are a fan riding a bike... that's cool by me. But I am of the opinion that the line is crossed if you try to race in a jersey that is not your club, a National Team Jersey if you aren't a member of it, or a Tour Winner or World Champ's Jersey. Then it's in poor taste as you are passing yourself off as something you are not. But then the USCF and UCI have rules to keep you from doing this, so I would leave it at that.

I own a Saeco jersey and shorts... both were given to me by my Cannondale Rep when I worked for a Cannondale Dealer because I have an R5000 in the Saeco paint. I would never race in it, and I don't wear the jersey and shorts at the same time... but I have worn the jersey on some solo rides, and I don't see that as a problem. No one in my area is going to think I am a memeber of the Saeco team, let alone know what the hell that jersey even represents. But hey, it's a free jersey, so I am certainly going to wear it. It would be a bigger insult in my mind to snub my friend that gave it to me than to have anyone be silly enough to think I was trying to pass myself off as a Saeco rider.

Just don't show up to a race in a jersey you didn't earn and I think the rest of the arguements about this are overly dramatic.

Russ
sense of humour failure....TheJoker
Aug 23, 2003 4:43 PM
I have a world champ jersey. the reason i have it is so all the other roadies think I'm the world champ. if anyone asks me what the stripes mean, i say 'it means i'm the world champ'...

roffle...
You did earn that yellow jerseyhayaku
Aug 24, 2003 5:37 AM
by going to the store and paying for it. the one that LA wears is the only one that has to be earned on the road. Buy as many as you want, one for each day of the week, more if you train more than once a day. Go hard, Lance will be happy if you do. however... if you buy too many Lance will get significantly more money and will be able to retire earlier, do you really want that? Maybe you should share the wealth. Tell any detractors to F##k off.