RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Reborn, carbonized KG361!(23 posts)

Reborn, carbonized KG361!KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 10:48 AM
Or, why didn't I get a workstand sooner? Trust me, a workstand makes life a whole lot easier. To the details; 2001 KG 361 purchased new this year. I've posted it before, but I am now finished putting on everything that I've wanted on it.
1)FSA team issue crankset, 175
Aaaarrrggghhhh!KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 10:52 AM
I can't post more right now. Website isn't co-operating. Later for more.
re: Reborn, carbonized KG361!AFrizzledFry
Aug 21, 2003 11:12 AM
how do you like those TIME pedals? Just purchased a pair of TIME Impact Mag pedals off of ebay for $157.60 and I am curious. Thanks!
Don't know.Just got them myself!KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 11:32 AM
I'm riding it tomorrow. I'll post a review of the pedals and crank then.
Don't know.Just got them myself!AFrizzledFry
Aug 21, 2003 11:41 AM
great, thanks!
Let's try this again! 2)Easton EC 90 bar:KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 11:35 AM
Success! 3) 3T Less stem:KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 11:36 AM
Whole bike:KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 11:38 AM
Your garage is a mess. :P (nm)kjr39
Aug 21, 2003 11:52 AM
Why yes, it is! Thank you very much! nmKG 361
Aug 21, 2003 12:38 PM
Whole bike:flying
Aug 21, 2003 1:08 PM
We have similar bikes ;-)
Hey is that the same fork? Or does the 361 use a 1" ?
Nice build you have there!
1" on the 361.KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 1:22 PM
Alloy steerer.My next one will be a KX light or a 461. You have a nice one, too =)
1" on the 361.flying
Aug 21, 2003 1:27 PM
Cool
I am trying to get my pal to grab one of those 361's on sale.
I think it is the best deal around. The only reason I bought the 381i is Mike at Total cycling offered me one for a great price last year.
Why these models?orange_julius
Aug 21, 2003 2:00 PM
Hey KG361, any particular reasons for narrowing the search
to the KX light and 461, instead of say the 381? Just
curious to hear your comments. Thanks.
Why these models?KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 2:23 PM
I see a lot of 381's. Just like to be different =) Really, though, the KX and the 461 are a bit stiffer, from what I know, and I'm a larger rider (185 lbs) so stffer would be better.
Now for carbon shifters and rear derailleur . . .Look381i
Aug 21, 2003 3:04 PM
and a move to Campy Record . . .

Nice bike, anyway.
That's a long way down the road.....KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 4:41 PM
I still like Shimano, but if the new D/A crank is the direction they're going, I may be tempted.....Hope FSA comes out with a Shimano 10 speed crank!
FSA's 10 sp. (not necessarily Campy) crank ...BergMann
Aug 21, 2003 9:33 PM
KG - since there won't be a "10-speed" Dura Ace BB (the spindle is integrated in the right crankarm), folks wanting to run 10 speed with FSA cranks will use the (drum roll) 10 speed FSA cranks! The only thing "campy" about the FSA 10 speed was that it 1) doesn't fit on a Shimano BB (it's ISIS spindle) and 2) it had 10 speed rings on it.

Those rings are 130mm bolt circle diameter, however, which is the Shimano standard. In other words, you could buy yourself a Dura Ace 10-speed setup tomorrow (i.e. next month), and get a set of Shimano or FSA 10-speed rings to go on your current octalink crankarms.

I've ordered a set of 10 speed, ISIS FSAs for a bike I'm building up with 2004 Dura Ace.

I'd still be interested in your personal impressions on the difference in shifting performance between 9-sp. Dura Ace and your new FSA rings, if you'd like to post them.

Oh, and don't believe the hype about Campy Record. Rebuildable levers fine and good, but how much will you have spent on $160 cassettes and $40 chains (street price!!!) by the time your levers go?

Campy is great stuff -- it's just not for people who pay for their own parts!
Excactly! Impressions after my 1st ride w/ the FSA's;KG 361
Aug 22, 2003 7:06 AM
Shift at least as good as the D/A. I'm quite pleased. I had to adjust the front derailer a bit after mounting them, but other than that, no discernable differences in shifting. I know this sounds a bit much, but it seemed to me that I could notice the lighter crank/pedal combo-I just switched to Time impact mags that are about 60gm lighter than my old Looks, plus the lighter crank. It could all be in my head, too......=)
the feel of new gear: your impression of FSA lateral stiffnessBergMann
Aug 22, 2003 10:24 AM
I have no doubt you noticed the difference: lighter stuff, new crank material, new pedal bearings ...
If you're the type of person who's in tune with your gear, you'll notice the little differences.

While we're on the subject of subjective impressions: how did the cranks feel to you stiffness-wise compared to DA?
Would especially be interested if you're at or above my 165 lb. riding weight.
Quite a bit above. 180-185 (scale's broken!)KG 361
Aug 22, 2003 12:06 PM
Same for the stiffness as shifting. At least as good. FWIW-the ride I did today had quite a few very steep, standing in the 25 or 27t climbs and they felt just fine. Really happy with my purchase.
LOOKed good before. LOOKs better now. (nm)JL
Aug 21, 2003 1:04 PM
Thanks, JL. NMKG 361
Aug 21, 2003 2:24 PM