RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Please help, non cycling, I have about 200 e mails all virus(20 posts)

Please help, non cycling, I have about 200 e mails all virusafrican
Aug 21, 2003 5:26 AM
my e mail account has over 200 e mails through last night all junk virus e mails, there is this worm going around, anyone have some suggestions?????? I put the google toolbar on my window which has stopped all the pop ups., pretty cool.
not using anti-virus software?terry b
Aug 21, 2003 5:48 AM
go to Staples and spend $29.95 on Norton. no more problems, ever again.
I am - I have norton, but the thing isafrican
Aug 21, 2003 5:54 AM
that I got 200 e mails last night and 175 were a virus that norton picked up and I have to sit and delete manually.

I am just having a non cycling bi*ch about the virus and worms that are going around.
I am - I have norton, but the thing isgf99
Aug 21, 2003 5:56 AM
Who's your ISP? Do they have a spam blocker? Have you turned it on? Mine's done a good job of filtering that crap.
can't you just block all email attachments?rufus
Aug 21, 2003 6:23 AM
for the time being anyway, can't you just set your email to block any messages that have an attachment? you might miss a couple of jokes from pals or something, but you won't get any virus emails
no - customers attach orders to e mail...nmafrican
Aug 21, 2003 6:25 AM
I am setting up my e mail so that it deletes......african
Aug 21, 2003 6:43 AM
certain key words in the subject line, I hope this well help some. I appreaciate any tips from you all out there. I looked at spam blocker but dont' think it will work.
are you using Outlook?terry b
Aug 21, 2003 6:49 AM
if so, the rules wizard makes it very easy. I've been using it for a while to block all sorts of crap. works on keywords - but be careful - rather than just sending it to the deleted folder, create a junk folder and send it there. I've had legitimate messages deleted.
Yes Outlook.... will be careful with key words - thanks nmafrican
Aug 21, 2003 6:59 AM
don't be careful with key words, be careful with actionsterry b
Aug 21, 2003 7:14 AM
create a new folder called "junk" or something - have the rule send things there instead of "deleted items."

it allows you to go and review them easier, that way you don't miss a legitimate piece of mail.
re: Please help, non cycling, I have about 200 e mails all virusIronbutt
Aug 21, 2003 6:44 AM
I had the same thing happen yesterday. I suggest that you get off the internet and run a full Norton antivirus scan of your entire computer. If you have the same problem I had, you will find an infected file in your temporary internet files. Mine, unforutnately was in the folder of temp files that contained the files from RBR. This virus (or worm) is not like most others that is transmitted in an e-mail attachment, it is right in the file, or message that is being transmitted via the internet. I suggst that anyone on this board scan their computer for viruses and update their protection programs immediately.
Live update done, full virus scan done - nothing justafrican
Aug 21, 2003 7:25 AM
more e mails.
Live update done, full virus scan done - nothing justgf99
Aug 21, 2003 8:07 AM
This virus sends mass emails from infected machines. The email you're receiving is the symptom of infection on other machines. It doesn't mean you have the virus. Like I said before, some kind of spam filter is the answer. Anti-virus software will deal with the attachment, but it won't block the mail.
Live update done, full virus scan done - nothing justIronbutt
Aug 21, 2003 8:10 AM
Check to be sure that they are all the same virus. All of the attachments to e-mail and the one in my temporary internet files were infected with the W32.Sobig.F@mm virus. And take heart, today I only received 4 infected e-mails, way down from yesterday.
re: Please help, non cycling, I have about 200 e mails all virusSpoiler
Aug 21, 2003 8:02 AM
here's a thread where they discussed your problem. Don't know if it will help.

http://www.cyclingforum.com/forums/Thread.cfm?CFApp=2&Thread_ID=212&mc=33
Call your ISPkjr39
Aug 21, 2003 8:26 AM
And b*tch loudly. 175 emails with virus attachements?! That's crap! Your ISP needs to be doing a better job of blocking spam...
It's not your ISPs fault...t0adman
Aug 21, 2003 8:59 AM
You're not receiving a virus, technically. You're getting the results of people you know who have the virus. It's sending emails, lots of them, to everyone in the address book of the infected user. Each new user it infects it starts sending emails to that person. So even if you're clean, you're going to get the emails from other people with your email address who are not clean. I'm behind a beefy firewall and enterprise virus software here at work and I've received over 300 of these damn emails in the last 2 days. I would filter or just get ready to keep deleting until everyone cleans their machines.

Doesn't it just make you want to find the guy who wrote this thing?
You're right.kjr39
Aug 21, 2003 12:04 PM
In your case, it is your mail administrator's fault. They should have virus scanning software that protects the inside as well as the outside of the system.

How can an virus get through the firewall? Someone takes their laptop home and has it configured to get POP mail from their home account. They contract the virus. Shut down their laptop and head into work. Log into the work email system and woohoo a completely new address book to spam...

However, african sounds like he is getting his email through pop through an ISP. In that case, it's his ISPs fault as they are running the server... If that is not that case and you are running your own, it's your own fault.
You're right.t0adman
Aug 21, 2003 2:40 PM
What happens is the virus is stripped but the email comes through.
Turn off your preview pane (nm)Hedgehog
Aug 23, 2003 7:41 PM
The virus doesn't get a chance to run if you have the preview pane disabled, you can then delete the message before it goes through your address book.

The email world would be a better place if Microsoft wouldn't have invented this feature.