RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


It's time to get healthy. I could use some pointers.(35 posts)

It's time to get healthy. I could use some pointers.cyclingforhealth
Aug 20, 2003 6:05 PM
Like millions of Americans I have been overweight most
of my life. I recently visited my doctor. He told me
that if I don't make some lifestyle changes that I
will be dead of a heart attack before age 45. That
scared me. I am the father of two children who I want
to be able to see grow up. I have considered many
different ways of going about this. I have decided to
to first off start the Jerod diet at Subway. I also
realize that the best way to keep the weight off will
be to start developing better exercise techniques. I
hate running. I weigh in at over 300 pounds. I don't
think that would be good on my knees. I am going to
walk and bike. If anyone would care to give me some
advice on weight loss and/or bicycling to help me out.
I am all ears.
re: It's time to get healthy. I could use some pointers.spankdoggie
Aug 20, 2003 6:17 PM
You are fat and out of shape. Dude, this is a cycling forum, man.

Get out of here.
Doggie You Are Going to HellALLAH
Aug 21, 2003 8:04 AM
re: It's time:: Ignore the previous post!kiwisimon
Aug 20, 2003 7:29 PM
Ignore the previous post!

Good on you for making a wise decision. Where to begin ? If it were me I'd start by looking at the yellow pages for a proffessional exercise trainer. Many people don't achieve their results due to setting unrealistic goals or losing motivation, a proffesional will be able to give you tailor made programs and regulary follow up and provide you with the motivation to succeed. Cycling is a great exercise so go and find a friendly local bike shop and start asking questions. You didn't say where you live but if you in any reasonably sized area you should be able to find some group doing regular rides. Get your family involved in your exercise so your children won't have to make the same life saving choice you just did. Exercise should be a habit not a fad. Good luck and if you ever meet spankdog sit on him a few times but do it soon otherwise it won't have the same impact.
re: It's time:: Ignore the previous post!cyclingforhealth
Aug 21, 2003 5:25 PM
Do they have trainers that specialize in bicycling? Does anyone know any in the Sausalito, CA area?
Gimme a T! (nm)PseuZQ
Aug 20, 2003 8:00 PM
Exactly PseuZQ. Another Nimrod (nm)spankdoggie
Aug 20, 2003 8:58 PM
Lost 68 lbs and counting since summer '02Ken of Fresno
Aug 20, 2003 8:57 PM
And I am 100% sure that you can do the same thing with a lot less effort than you might think. I worked off of the pricniple of a daily calorie deficit. Calculate how many calories your body needs to maintain your current weight and consistantly eat just below that number. It's not hard. You just have to make the right choices. I've put together a short paper that gives the details and has a list of resources. One resource I would definitely recommend you read is the free online book called The Hacker's Diet. You can click here to download the PDF version. The author also has a bunch of Excel charts made specifically for tracking your progress. All free. If you weigh 300lbs and are of average activity level you would need to consume somewhere in the neighborhood of 4,000 calories to maintain your current weight. Most people say it's best not to loose more than 1% of your body weight per week. Since each pound of body fat equals 3,500 calories you would need a daily deficit of 1,500 calories to loose 3lbs a week. Keep in mind, this is the maximum you should shoot for. It might be much easier if you started out aiming for only a 1,000 or even 800 daily calorie deficit. What ever you do, If you keep a daily calorie deficit there is no way you will not loose weight. That's not hype from the diet of the week, it's a law of physics. Keep us informed of your progress.

Best of luck,
Ken
The paperKen of Fresno
Aug 20, 2003 9:14 PM
Sorry. Forgot the link to the paper

All the best,
Ken
re: It's time to get healthy. I could use some pointers.zeke
Aug 21, 2003 1:58 AM
If you feel like it, try any one of the low carb 'diets'. One would probably work. If you dont feel like reading just try this, substitute all or most of your carbs with green vegetables. I almost guarantee you will lose weight. At first it will be water weight loss, and yes at first you will feel fatigue, then after that you will return to normal. I also predict that possibly your blood levels will normalize after trying this type of lifestyle.
Dont worry too much about exercise at this point. Lose the weight thru diet first (yes diet is more important than exercise and it is almost impossible to lose weight thru exercise alone).
Good luck.
Zeke
Coming from a similar situationgildomilo
Aug 21, 2003 5:23 AM
I decided to suck it up and do weight watchers. I lost about 40 lbs in 4 months and have kept it off since then. Doing Weight watchers allowed me to eat whatever I wanted, but it made me very aware of what was good and bad for me. IE I could eat four apples and that would be equal to one package of twizzlers. It puts food into perspective. I got the same speach from my dr except he wanted to put me on blood pressure meds and I refused. I now bike about 100 miles per week. I weigh in at 230 and would like to lose 50 more lbs before I'm set.
-Gil
You wont take a word of my advice (long)cyclinseth
Aug 21, 2003 6:12 AM
but I'll give it anyway because you seem to be in pretty bad shape and since you are talking about eating subway, you have absolutely no clue as to how to get healthy. You are not only morbidly obese, your body is in a highly toxic state and I don't mean Texas. You have many more deseases than you are curently manifesting. Your colon is impacted with years and years on undigested, rancid, rotting, putrefying animal flesh and fecal mater (sh!t). Your body is absorbing this stuff. It's called autotoxemia.

1. eliminate ANY and ALL processed foods from your diet. White sugar and white flour are the main culprits, but there are also hydrogenated oils. Anything that has been pasturized or heated to over 106 f, anything with a shelf-life of more than 1 week, anything out of a can, or vacuum-sealed in plastic is a no-no. No more Lucheables, no more slim-fast bars and for God sake stay the HELL away from Subway. That whole Jarod crap was a publicity ploy thier advertizing agency cooked up.
If anybody ate just subway sandwiches for more than 1 week, they would be dead from malnutrition. People are so freakin' gullible sometimes. Gee, I saw it in a commercial on TV, so it must be true, right? Yeah, right. Everything you see on TV is 100% true.

2. Eliminate ANY and ALL animal products, except for clean sources of cold-water fish. This includes anything that ever was, or came out of an amimal. Beef, pork, chicken, turkey, milk, cheese etc. etc. If you need inspiration go visit your local factory-farm/slaughter house. The manager would be more than happy to give you a private tour. Yeah right.

3. Eliminate ANY and EVERY beverage that isn't pure, filtered water or a living, green, vegetable juice (more on that later) or non-caffinated tea.

4. Eliminate ANY and ALL forms of wheat. WHAT, this coming from a cyclist. You must be MAAADDDD. No, I'm not mad, wheat has a very high gluten content and it gets stuck to your colon and prevents proper nutrient absorbtion.

Now that you've eliminated all the bad stuff, here comes the good stuff

1. You've got to start green juicing, so go out and get yourself a high-quality juicer www.bestjuicers.com has a good selection. You will make yourself 1 12oz glass of green juice every day for the first month, then you will do 2 12oz green juices the second month, then 3, then 4, then 5, then 6, then 7, then 8, then 9 then 10, then 11, then 12, then 13.
Yes 13 12oz glasses of green juice a day. You will not gulp, slam, or chug the green juice, you will sip it. But because it is a living food it does not last long. You can add vitamin C to help preserve it.

What is a green juice? you ask. Go out to your supermarket. Go to the produce isle, get anything you see that is dark green. The darker green the better. Chard, parsley, kale, collard greens, asparagus, scallions, brussell sprouts, brocolli. You can use EITHER 1 (ONE) apple OR 1 (ONE) carrot per green juice. You can also add a high-quality, non-whey, protien power.

You are only going to make about 6oz of vegetable juice and you are going to dilute it with 6oz of filtered water.

2. You are going to start eating exclusively live foods; fruits, nuts, seeds, grains, vegetables, beans, tubors, mushrooms, berries, roots and cold-water fish.

3. You are going to start drinking a gallon of filtered water throughout the day. Not all at once you numbskull.

4. Substitutes for meat: Tofu, seitan, textured vegetable protien, tempeh, mushrooms

5. Substitutes for milk: Soy juice (not milk, not milk, not milk), rice juice, almond juice

6. substitutes for butter:
High heat cooking: almond oil, canola oil, regular olive oil (not extra-virgin)
Low heat cooking: extra-virgin olive oil.
No heat: flax-seed oil, hemp oil. These two are high in lignans and omega 3. Typical western diet is way to high in omega 6 and pathetically low in omega 3. You need more omega 3.

7. Substitutes for wheat: Spelt, it co
BTW if you do this, DO NOT COUNT ONE SINGLE CALORIE EVER (nm)cyclinseth
Aug 21, 2003 6:14 AM
Preach to me Seth!pitt83
Aug 21, 2003 6:57 AM
You make good sense. It's a definite line you propose and one would have to be dead serious to tow that line, but you're preaching truth. I'm starting to follow your gospel of whole foods. Haven't figured out how to go fully to that side, but I think about your strategy in Stop and Shop while choosing my items.

I have a tough situation since I've GOT to go low Sodium (<1gm and RDA = 4gm) and trying to stay below 100gm fat.

The vegan thing is a bit too extreme for me, but you're probably right from a health perspective.

Thanks for the advice to a lurker.
I'd almost rather be dead at 50 thengildomilo
Aug 21, 2003 6:51 AM
follow this ridiculous diet. I come from a sicilian background and most of my relatives live to be well into their late 80s without any health complications. They all follow a mediterean diet and eat live animals... To each his own, but this wouldn't do it for me.
LOL Seth...Ironically, you got cut off...biknben
Aug 21, 2003 6:55 AM
To go with your plan would substitue physical health for mental health. Your plan sounds just like all the other concoctions out there. "Do exactly as I say...ignore reason...and you will be a better person!"

Let's all go the grocery store and clear the shelves of all things green. Rush home before it spoils and throw it in a blender and mix with water from the fountain of youth. Now drink this until you die. This makes the Subway plan look realistic.

It's a true miracle that man has evolved for thousands of years, come out of caves, conquered all it's rivals on this planet. All this, without the use of a blender.

While you are struggling to keep from spitting one of those drinks across the kitchen, I'll be at Subway, eating a portion size appropriate for my expediture and sipping a fruit juice. I'll be thinking about how much nicer it is not to micro-manage everything in life to the point that it becomes more of a burden than whatever it is I'm trying to prevent.
I think I'd rather die happySpecialTater
Aug 21, 2003 7:00 AM
than live miserably eating this... No offense intended to those of you who can live happily like this. Mine is just one idiot's opinion.
A little less radical approachContinental
Aug 21, 2003 7:04 AM
Start exercise at a very moderate level, no pain or discomfort, and increase very slowly, 4% week. 4% a week sounds like nothing, but if you walk one mile per day this week and increase at 4% per week, you'll be hiking 7.5 miles per day after 1 year. If you decide to bicyle, start at 3 miles/day and increase 4% per week and you'll be riding 23 miles/day after 1 year. Avoid the tempation to push harder and improve faster because you'll probably get tired, injured, or sick. Some people say increase 10% a week. This is ridiculous and not sustainable. If you walk 1 mile per day this week and increase 10% per week, you would be hiking 142 miles/day after 1 year. A good idea might be to ride 3 days per week, walk 3 days per week and rest 1 day per week.

For diet make slow changes, adding more vegetables, fruits, whole grains, nuts, soy and fish to your diet. It might be easiest to tart with breakfast. Eat a bowl of whole grain cereal, preferably oatmeal, fresh fruit, a handful of nuts, and skim milk. Don't worry about food the rest of the day. Then slowly add another one or two meals and snacks per week of nothing but healthy foods until you get to the point where 80% to 90% of your meals and snacks are vegetables, fruits, whole grains, soy, fish, and nuts. This still gives you 3 or 4 meals per week where you can eat what you want, but you will find that you no longer want junk foods. If you eat these foods, you won't have to count calories or worry about quantities. Again, if you change too fast you will feel sick and probably give up.
A little less radical approach - This makes sensejrescpa
Aug 21, 2003 8:40 AM
Remember - Bread is evil. Lay off all of the breads and substiture veggies ala Cyclinseth. Make gradual changes. Better to start walking than running. Remember, this is along term project not a cram for an exam. Don't get too ambitious and get injured. Give yourself some time to get accusted to the new menu and exercise and you'll find it enjoyable not a hassle. That way you'll slowly drop the weight and get in shape at the same time.
At last, a voice of reason!KG 361
Aug 21, 2003 12:51 PM
My boss was in a similar situatin to you, cyclingforhealth. He has lost at least 40 lbs and has NOT GONE ON A DIET! He is excercising more (cycling with his kids) and eating less. Dieting is the absolute worse way to lose weight permanantly. Take it from one who knows (I lost about 20lbs and have kept it off for more than 12 yrs by not dieting). Bottom line to lose weight (or quit smoking, drinking, or anyting else, for that matter); you've got to want to do it and determine that you are going to do it. Eat less; excercise more. Use more calories than you eat. Start by eating smaller portions and ride your bike as much as you can. The weight will come off, and you will have learned to eat less. Good luck and keep us posted!
Argh! TAKE YOUR GREENS AND SMOKE THEM (nm)52-16SS
Aug 21, 2003 7:06 AM
You have confused sound nutrition with philosophy I'm afraidColnagoFE
Aug 21, 2003 7:27 AM
Way too extreme here! I don't care if you are a vegetarian or what your reasons are, but you don't have to abstain from meat to be healthy. So may other half truths and downright bad advice here mixed with some good it's scary. Juicing? Why? Just eat it whole.
I worked with a guy who ate like this....lonebikeroftheapocalypse
Aug 21, 2003 7:41 AM
dude was ripped. He also wouldn't touch door knobs because he was afraid he'd catch something. Total freakshow.
You've inspired me to go out and get a Philly cheese steak sandwich for lunch. Bon appetit.
LOL...I work with one of those types too...biknben
Aug 21, 2003 7:57 AM
According to him, the world is a cesspool of filth and disease. He once argued that odor has mass and therefore gets very uncomfortable in the bathroom. We bust his chops constantly.

BTW: This guy is a fat slob, constantly trying the latest fad diet. He's currently doing a combo Aktins/SugarBuster diet. I have a hard time containing my laughter when he starts on one of his rants. He hasn't lost a pound in the year and a half I've known him. :-)
odor does have mass though doesn't it? (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 21, 2003 8:19 AM
Yes it does...biknben
Aug 21, 2003 10:31 AM
I'll explain...

This guy thinks that because odor has mass, the bathroom and everything in it is covered with fecal mass. In my mind it is an example of taking fact and twisting it to serve your given arguement. Is it true? Yeah, I guess so. Should it be a concern? No, I don't think so.

This guy is one of the freakish handwashers types. He goes out of his way to remain germ free yet gets sick no less than anyone else.

Having survived my HS and college years, I'm confident I can handle a few germs on a doorknob.
Isn't tofu processed soy...you said nothing processed rightspookyload
Aug 21, 2003 7:51 AM
You have created yourself a nice vegan lifestyle. That is great is you live in a rural area and never leave the home. However if you are a grown up and have to work, then it is totally impractical. Are you supposed to wip out the juicer in the office, or tell the client you are meeting for lunch you can't eat because you only drink the juice of dark green vegetables for lunch? Your diet works if you are a pro athelete or a college student(might even be fashionable as a student) but not a member of the grown up realm.
Buy "Fast Food Nation" .....2melow
Aug 21, 2003 8:03 AM
http://www.mcspotlight.org/media/books/schlosser.html

I have no desire to eat grocery store/restaurant/or fast food beef anymore after reading this book. Whole foods has some free range stuff grown, processed, and shipped from the ranch if you can't give up beef.
another good one, if you need ammunitionJS Haiku Shop
Aug 21, 2003 8:07 AM
"animal liberation". read it in philo class. didn't eat meat for 2 months. now, animals are tasty again.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0060011572/qid=1061481434/sr=2-1/ref=sr_2_1/104-6290948-9379965
Some Simple TipsCary1
Aug 21, 2003 7:45 AM
Hi,

I went through a similar thing last year. I am 30 and my cholesterol was 240 with my Triglycerites at 300. Given my family history (Dad had a fatal heart attack at 57, mom has high cholesterol), I was told to adjust my diet and weight to fix it. I am 6'00", and at the time was about 240 pounds (down from a high of 252).

Here is what I found worked for me, after trying to drop weight before:

1) Don't look at all the things you shouldn't eat, if you do, you will give up, the list is to long. I found that by focusing on cutting down on saturated fat, that I was able to eliminate the worst part of my diet. I switched from eating burgers and pizza to grilled chicken sandwiches. I also cut my cheese consumption way down. Another important thing is stay away from fried foods, it is high in fat especially saturated. Now I have a cheeseburger about once a month as a treat.

2) Control your portion size. You, I and about 90% of this country eat way to large of portions. Take a look at the crappy 39 cent burger and small fries at McDonalds, along with a small soda. That was the normal size burger and fries in the 50's and 60's. A quarter pounder, large fry and supersize drink are about twice the size, calories and fat. It takes a while to get used too (i.e. you will be hungry for about a week) but a 6" subway sandwich with a side (not potato chips) is about the size meal you should be having for lunch.

3) Buy a heart rate monitor and use it riding. I suggest this because if you don't, you will blow up early in your rides and cut them short. Ride at least 3 times a week and remember you are better off riding for one hour slowly than a ten minute sprint.

4) Reward yourself. If you eat well, i.e. low saturated fat, good portion size, and eat your veggies, have something to eat you really enjoy once in a while. This is your reward. A burger tastes really good when you haven't eaten one for a week.

5) If you don't have a decent bike get one (when I say decent I'm not talking about $2000, I saying about $500-700, i.e. entry level trek, specialized, giant, Fuji, Raleigh). I say this because you will enjoy a well tuned, good riding bike, versus a department store bike you will hate after a week. Also, MAKE SURE THE BIKE IS FITTED PROPERLY, if you don't you won't be confortable. If you need a bike, go to several local bike shops, you will know the right one when you find it, they will want to help you and get you fitted properly.

6) Take all the money you save each day by not getting a large junk meal and put it in a jar. When you hit your target weight, take all that extra money and reward yourself by buying something you really want (nice titianium bike?).

7) ALWAYS WEAR A HELMET WHEN RIDING. I see so many people riding around without helmets. I have had two riding partners that helmets have saved from serious injury.

For me the result of the hard work is that I am down to 210 pounds, aiming for 195 (I am a pretty large build, 45 inch chest), my pant size has gone from a tight 38" to a comfortable 35". I feel better than I have in years, don't fall asleep after lunch, and my cholesterol is down to 190.

Stick with it, you will feel so much better that you will find it was the best thing that ever happened to you. It is great when you look in the mirror and say "I don't look so bad," instead of "I really need to lose some weight."

Good Luck,

Cary
Some Simple TipsCary1
Aug 21, 2003 7:52 AM
Not to my point number 4), it should have said a burger taste really good when you haven't had one for a MONTH not a week. Guess my mind was on the one I had last week.

Cary
Previous thread from the illustrious LFR attached (nm)hrv
Aug 21, 2003 8:17 AM
Advice doesn't get more sound than this:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@37.cnVtaB5MiPF^0@.ef6abd3/8

Might not apply to you 100% but the concepts should.
My only advice....52-16SS
Aug 21, 2003 9:53 AM
Lots have been said already. I have only one thing to add:

Don't misunderstand thirst for hunger.

Quite often when you feel like snacking it is thirst, have a big serving of water and the craving will pass. You still need to eat though..

SS
My only advice....52-16SS
Aug 21, 2003 10:40 AM
Lots have been said already. I have only one thing to add:

Don't misunderstand thirst for hunger.

Quite often when you feel like snacking it is thirst, have a big serving of water and the craving will pass. You still need to eat though..

SS
I agree with Zeke's approach.MikeBiker
Aug 21, 2003 1:28 PM
I have gradually lost 47 lbs on a low-carb lifestyle. I no longer feel hungry like I did on the low-fat regime. I have more energy and don't feel that I need an after meal nap like I used to. The main thing is to avoid all sugars and refined grains. Eat more veggies instead. My doctor has gone from being concerned about my heart attack risk to telling me that I am now in the essentially zero risk group.

Start slow on the exercise. Cycling is good as it is a non-weight bearing and will not stress your joints like running will. Walking is also good as it has less pounding than running. I would recommend starting with a 15 minute walk or 30 minute bike ride and see how you feel the next day. Increase the duration by no more than 10% per week until you have a feel for what your body can handle. Every third or fourth week cut the duration to half of the previous week for recovery of the muscles.

Good Luck,
Mike