RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


SO much has changed in 13 years, You pick my new bike!(15 posts)

SO much has changed in 13 years, You pick my new bike!SeanKellys-reincarnate
Aug 17, 2003 6:03 PM
Hi,
What an awesome site.. i hope i am able to tap your collective knowledge

a little pre amble

So i watched the Tour all july and now i am ready to come out of retirement.. i am now 31.. a little chubbier, (165 lbs, 5'8) then i was in my halcion days as an aspiring junior and Cat2 rider and i figure i really need to pursue the only physical activity i enjoy - which is pretending i am in the Tour de France.. (meaning a few hills, some quick evening rides and as many long weekend club rides as i can make it out for)

the bike i have is my old Concorde - 53 cm columbus SL with campy chorus parts. i think i bought it in 88 It's paint job helped facilltate my delusions that i was on the same team as Steven Rooks, Gert Jan tuiniesse, Sean kelly and Erik breukink(can you hear the John Tesch music?)

I want a new bike!! AND!! i am no longer limited by a meager McJob paycheck!!!!! (hhmm.. $2500 canadain funds sounds about right)

so..

I am pretty much set on The Ultegra groupo (i was never very impressed by Campy) how are the ultegra pedals anyways?

This is where you can help me out!!..
My biggest questions are regarding frame type..

compact Vs. classic??????? what are the advantages of each? the compact looks cool..and screams NEAT NEW BIKE!! but what else?

steel Vs aluminum??
aluminum sounds great! after all these years on steel .. would it be like flying?? or would it be like riding a jackhammer? what conditions should i put on an aluminum frame? (ie: carbon seat post, rear triangle, forks?)
or is steel still fine?

if you have a particular model you would like to recommend please don't hesitate..

i have been eyeing the trek 2300, specialized allez comp, and the cervelo soloist..

what else should i look at...

thank you very much for any and all input!!

see ya on the road!

joe
Too funny!FatManLittleBike
Aug 17, 2003 6:40 PM
I can totally relate to your story, except I'm 35, more overweight than you and never made it to Cat2. I went through the same time warp you went through. I was shocked to see so much aluminum. I remember when Cannondale was about the only company to use aluminum with those freakishly large tubes. And don't totally write off Campy. It's now just as functional and reliable as Shimano! Imagine that! Shimano no longer rules the world of 7 speed index shifting. They've now got 10 speeds and you shift on the brakes! Go figure! There's never been a better time to have a little too much cash to spend on a bike.

Compact vs. Classic? There are no huge advantages to either. Sounds like you like the compact design, so go for it!

Steel vs. Aluminum? Don't forget Carbon Fiber and Titanium. This will be forever argued on this forum. I think the net of it is: Fit is most important. Comfort is best obtained with different tires, saddles, and a little extra handlebar tape. Go test ride and see which one you like best.

My pick? 2002 Marin Argenta at www.bicycleblowout.com. It's an aluminum frame with a semi compact geometry with Campy Centaur components for $1329. Nice bike. Excellent price. And it leaves you money in your pocket for more cycling gear. You can't wear your old styrofoam cooler helmet on your new bike!

Enjoy!
Too funny!DeRosaOrBust
Aug 18, 2003 8:55 AM
These are funny to me because I can relate to both of you. I retired from racing in 1988 when I went off to college. I was a cat 3 jr. Once in college, beer, girls and partying kinda put an end to my cycling dreams. The Derosa super prestige and the Colnago mexico went into a barn my parents own and staid there for 12 years. I could never stand to go there and look at the bikes, partly because I knew I missed the sport and I also knew I was in terrible shape and didn't want to imagine the amount of suffering it would take me to be back in shape. Anyhow, I cleaned up both bikes, the old tools and started riding early in the mornings. At first I was a little intimidated by all the new cycling changes. New bikes, materials, shifters, you name it. Anyhow, after a couple years riding the old derosa, which is still a great ride, I bought a new Derosa Merak with campy parts. I ride about 100-150 miles a week and try to do a lot of centuries. Anyhow, I'm sure you guys can relate.
re: SO much has changed in 13 years, You pick my new bike!TNRyder
Aug 17, 2003 6:50 PM
My 2cents on frame material.

After riding a 'classic' Italian steel road bike for yrs, I decided to upgrade my ride recently. (A change in location has made road riding a much larger part of my riding!) I thought that I would go for another steel bike but after riding the new Aluminum frames I was impressed by the ride quality. And I was looking at a much lower price point than you are! There is a reason AL is the frame material of choice! Carbon helps smooth things out too! My advice is simple, go out and ride as many bikes as you can. Pick the frame and material that suits you!
A better pick!TNRyder
Aug 17, 2003 7:00 PM
Amazing what you can get for ONLY $800.00 these days!
some of your questions answeredishmael
Aug 17, 2003 6:53 PM
I'm not too impressed with campy either. Wish I'd saved the money and gotten ultegra. Great deals can be had on Ultegra bikes w/aluminum frames. Dont know how much the amount you plan to spend is in US dollars but there are a couple 1100 US dollar ultegra bikes available. Compact is better in my opinion. I think it's likely lighter and stiffer, but the reason I bought one is because the headtube is often longer in relation to the top tube. Better for the short torso person. Steel seems to be more expensive, and from my second-hand experience, it breaks more. The feel is different, but I wouldnt say worse, especially if you plan to go fast.
Hey, break out your old Descente clothing!NatC
Aug 17, 2003 6:58 PM
It's back on the shelves now. Please leave the Oakley Factory Pilots in the closet though.
Factory PilotsKen of Fresno
Aug 17, 2003 8:56 PM
Darn. I was just about to dust mine off. ;)
bad flashback - John Tesh! Aaaaagh!CritLover
Aug 17, 2003 8:54 PM
Oh my God, was that the worst music or what! I'm surprised I still liked cycling after ABC through his music into the Tour coverage. What a nauseating memory!

What's the conversion on 2500 Canadian (sorry, too lazy to convert myself)? Also, what are the big brands that are made Canada?
Canadian Brandstoomanybikes
Aug 18, 2003 5:37 AM
Include the following:
Brodie
Rocky Mountain
Opus
Argon18
Davinci
Marinoni

All of the above make road frames, there are some great custom builders, a number of them tucked away on the Gulf Islands in BC.

If ridden most of the bikes listed above and they are lovely bikes to ride, without exception. Another thing to keep in mind is the Cramerotti line.

Cramerotti is based in Vancouver, he is italian and sources frames out of Italy, with his name on them. He used to build them in Vancouver but the business got to big.

Check out his website at www.cramerotti.com , you can build a bike on-line, check out prices of different groups, etc. If you are in Canada you need to contact them for pricing as he prices his site in US dollars and the conversion rate changes.

I just bought an "old" farame that I fell in love with at the store, steel with chromes forks and chainstays!!
Your pricepoint has GVH bikes written all over it...koala
Aug 18, 2003 1:54 AM
GVHbikes.com. For 2000 US you get a Landshark with Ultegra. He will paint it any color you want and custom is part of the deal.
Endless selection.....DINOSAUR
Aug 18, 2003 7:24 AM
I have two bikes of different material. My "old bike" is a al Klein which has been around the horn. My first mistake was not getting fitted and the Klein turned out to be 2 sizes large for me. I convinced my wife that I needed a new bike as I was having back problems because of poor fit. I racked my brain for about a year deciding and I narrowed it down by (1) Frame material (2) Fit and geometry. (3) Price. (4) Component group and wheel set. (5) Then the little stuff like cassette size, saddle, stem and so on.

I came back to steel (Colnago Master X-Light with Campy Chorus/Record mix). I love the Campy, I have Ultegra on the Klein with about 30,000 miles on it. It's a good group but I prefer the Campy because of the way it functions.

From talking to the guys at my LBS everything now is swaying toward cf. The owner of my LBS is an old dyed in the wool Colnago steel man, but now he is getting into cf.

I don't find al to be too harsh, the Klein rides nice and smooth with the right psi. The main difference is weight and I can feel it when I am accelerating or climbing, but the MXL is very comfortable for long rides and holds the road better on descents.

There is no perfect choice. You will drive yourself crazy deciding. I have no regrets about my Master X-Light, my next ride will probably be a CT1 or a C40 (if the prices get down low enough because of the new C50 coming out next year).

Don't get rid of your old bike, you have a real classic. I had a '89 Geurciotti SLX that I unloaded and I regret it to this day.
Either keep the Concorde, or...MShaw
Aug 18, 2003 9:17 AM
...talk to me! I had an SLX Concorde in the PDM paint way back when and wouldn't mind it back... The one I sold here in San Diego has been beaten to death by the current owner and I don't want that one back!

Best riding bike I ever sold (and am STILL kicking myself for almost 10 years later!) was an SL Tig-ed Battaglin I got from PBS when they were blowing them out. Smoothest ride, great fit, the works.

Mike
Agreetoomanybikes
Aug 18, 2003 9:49 AM
I rode the SLX Concorde way back when, beautiful bike.

Why not hit eBay and do a re-build on the Concorde.

I recently finished a re-build on my 1985 custom build 753, still the nicest bike I've ever ridden.

Heavier than a lot of the bikes being made now, but what a ride!!
Buy local boy! Brodie Rodie if you are scandium inclined,Spunout
Aug 18, 2003 11:18 AM
but do not discount the Cervelo Prodigy. Standard geometry for me, just because at 6 feet you want a top tube in between your knees coming down a mountain pass.

Jet Fuel races the Prodigy with great success, the Soloist is harsher no matter what. Scandium must be approached with caution, I've seen the Rodie at races but cannot comment. Crammerotti should be able to put together a very nice steel bike (EOM 16.5), I've been impressed by every one I've ever seen.