RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


180 lbs on 28H rims..(9 posts)

180 lbs on 28H rims..jrm
Aug 17, 2003 10:15 AM
OE wheelset is a nice looking Ritchey Comp wheelset with 28h radial front and a 28H 2x rear. Should i be OK?
Well, I know 220 won't workcory
Aug 17, 2003 10:43 AM
I weigh about 220 when I'm in shape (as I recall...), and I've never been able to use 28h wheels except under the smoothest conditions. You might be OK, though. A couple of friends who are around your weight don't seem to have much trouble.
I weight 180 and used Mavic Cosmos with no problems...Bruno S
Aug 17, 2003 5:23 PM
this wheels have 28 rear and 24 front. Never had to true them until the crash (1.5 years of use).
I wouldn't if I were you.KG 361
Aug 17, 2003 11:42 AM
I and 180-185 and used to have 32 hole Mavic open pro's. The front was fine but the rear would require trueing sevearl times a season. That's why I now ride Ksyriums. 28 hole rims for us larger riders is not a good idea.
re: 180 lbs on 28H rims..KEN2
Aug 17, 2003 2:28 PM
I weigh 190 and my 28H radial laced Mavic Cosmos front wheel has never needed truing in 2+ years. YMMV.
FWIW, 180 lbs on Campy Protons fine so farOffTheBack
Aug 17, 2003 3:32 PM
They are 22 front, 24 rear, and I have put about 2200 miles on them. They are as perfect as the day I got them. Check the reviews on the Ritcheys though - there seem to have been some issues w/ build quality.
FWIW, 180 lbs on Campy Protons fine so farAlpedhuez55
Aug 18, 2003 6:49 AM
I had some issues with the Ritchey Cyclocross Wheelset. It was not built with proper tension and kept going out of true. I am a big rider, but I did not have a problem with a set of Ritchey mountain rims that were hand built for me. THey took a lot of abuse and never needed to be trued in two years.

Another friend had issues with the Ritchey wheelset that came on his Fuji road bike. If you are spending the money on a premium set, I would look at other options.

Mike Y.
re: Follow-up 180 lbs on 28H rims..jrm
Aug 18, 2003 7:30 AM
I decided to use my 32H OP wheelset instead. Its durability is proven and the reviews on the ritchey do suck.

The ritchey wheelset came on my Fuji Roubaix Pro. They look great but i dont trust um.
Smart man. nmKG 361
Aug 18, 2003 11:05 AM