RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Christmas Came Early for Me!! A Pictorial(48 posts)

Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 12:38 AM
... from a pauper.

Enjoy!
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 12:45 AM
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:01 AM
..
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A Pictorial 2Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 12:59 AM
..
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:07 AM
,,
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:10 AM
..
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:12 AM
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:16 AM
,,.
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:23 AM
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:26 AM
,..
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:29 AM
...
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:36 AM
...nn
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialMycroft
Aug 16, 2003 1:38 AM
,.
A different perspectivecrosscut
Aug 17, 2003 6:29 PM
Well...I finally got the same frame about a month ago. I built it up with Campy 10 speed, carbon crank, Zipp wheels (clincher). The bike was all right. I enjoyed racing it, and training on it, but it was nothing special. I prefered my Mandaric over it. I ended up selling it to a teammate who had bike lust. He's now complaining it doesn't perform any better than his OCLV.
Unfortunately ...Mycroft
Aug 18, 2003 4:31 AM
... I have to agree with you. I haven't got enough miles on it yet, but that is the first impression that I got riding the TF1 after being on a DeRosa King!

A little underwhelmed, but perhaps my expectations were a little high. I will have to see once I have more miles under the tires.
Merry Christmas! Looking forward to the review ;-) nmorange_julius
Aug 16, 2003 2:14 AM
And predictably, the 1st ride I had ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 2:27 AM
... on it this morning, it pours!!

I mean horizontal rain with 10ft visibility, sudden flash floods half way through my 90km ride!!

I will post the TF1 vs DeRosa King review later, or another time. Already got into trouble with the wife taking too much time to post the pics. So if I want to ride again, and/or have my testicles intact, I have to hurry to go pay some luvy duvy attention to her. Watch a dvd and cuddle to get some browny points - so that Zorro can ride again (unscathed).

The alternative is slow, excruciating disembowelment with a blunt spoon ... so you see, I have few choices ...
Whew...orange_julius
Aug 16, 2003 7:16 AM
Mycroft, when I read the title of your response, I thought
the body would be something like, "Of course, on the
first ride the steerer fantastically disintegrated and I
had to take the bike back to the shop." Good to
know that it's not catastrophic, and good luck with appeasing
the S.O. Looking forward to the review, thanks!
What's that crankset? nmbill
Aug 16, 2003 3:53 AM
Its a ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 4:35 AM
... Thorius Carbon Crankset mated to a Record Carbon BB. A little disappointing since it is not that light ~615g.

The small 39T chainring is only about 2mm from the chainstay and worries me since if there is any flex at all, there goes the finish on the chainstay - can't bear to think of it being scratched!

Waiting for the 04 Record Carbon crank to swap out!
Gorgeous! Nice choices. BTW, what wheels are those? nmOffTheBack
Aug 16, 2003 3:55 AM
Zipp 303 clinchers? (nm)Suds
Aug 16, 2003 4:14 AM
Yessss ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 4:40 AM
... Tried to stay away from these at first. I have an Eurus set and a Bora. Compared to both the 303s ride is quite harsh, especially compared to the tubular Boras. But the machined braking surface makes a BIG difference vs the Boras.

The hubs ride more smoothly as well so I was able to manage maybe 2-3kph faster over my regular wheelset.

Also stuck on a pair of Conti Force and Attack. Fantastic in the wet - rode in rain today with ankle deep standing water at times at about 35kph and they never slipped or even gave any feeling of nervousness. Very sure-footed!
Took out ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 4:45 AM
... the Zipp stickers coz couldn't bear to have them on. These are the 03 clincher models, so hopefully I will not have all the reported issues that many folks had.

Would love to try a set of Hyperions - will bring the bike down to low 15lbs (currently 15.9lbs).
get the Zipp brake padsDougSloan
Aug 16, 2003 7:58 PM
The Zipp brake pads prevent excess heat from warping the rims. I know from experience. They also work better than the Record pads.

Doug
Even for Zipp Clinchers?? ...Mycroft
Aug 17, 2003 6:05 AM
Hey Doug, understand that these pads are needed for a Carbon braking surface with the tubulars, but are you saying that using them for the clinchers would help too??

What happened in your case?? Pl share your experience. Thanks.
Zipp Brake PadsSuds
Aug 17, 2003 7:51 AM
I'm using the Zipp pads for my 303 tubulars and my Open Pro wheelsets. First let me state - the pads work great, although they do seem to wear a litte faster. The Zipp pads work by absorbing a significant amount of heat gererated during braking. Normally this heat is transmitted and absorbed by the rim - but carbon rims don't absorb heat nearly as well as aluminium. I beleive these pads may help even the Zipp clinchers, as the alloy section is much less substantial than a normal rim. Many of the problems plagued the Zipp clinchers were from overheating during long descents causing the carbon / alloy bond to soften. With all that said, and how nice your ride is, spend the extra $35-40 on the Zipp pads, as they work well, are non-abrasive, and should provide a little piece of mind.
especially for themDougSloan
Aug 17, 2003 8:24 AM
The Zipp pads disperse heat much better. The Zipp clinchers have very little aluminum, and therefore very little ability to absorb or transfer heat. My first set warped from excess heat. The rim channel widened in places, making braking dangerous.

Zipp recommends them highly for both all carbon and aluminum rims. I agree.

Doug
Wonder if ...Mycroft
Aug 17, 2003 2:24 PM
Thanks both!!

Wonder if that is what happened to my set of Bora wheels. The braking surface does not seem to be parallel and brake sucks in comparison to the new Zipps.

I will try and get the Zipp pads!
possibleDougSloan
Aug 18, 2003 7:33 AM
I discovered the problem when I just could not true the wheel, it seems. I put a micrometer on the rim, and then measured at different places. It was much wider in certain areas. The replacement rims from Zipp are about 100 grams heavier, total, so I suspect they beefed up the aluminum parts.

Regardless, the Zipp pads really work well. Around here, we have some really long, hairy descents. They would start melting the Record pads. The Zipps stay fresh as a daisy no matter how hard the braking. They aren't cheap, though. Excel sells them.

Doug
Hey Thanks, Doug ...Mycroft
Aug 18, 2003 2:53 PM
... Out here in Singapore, we are quite flat, except for the minor inclines. I think I have the heavier rims, since the 303s are quite close to Eurus weights now. Maybe that's for the better.

No trouble with your new rims now - spokes pulling through or hub trouble?? I heard and read (at RBR) many things that caused me to worry and held off buying these for a long time.

I will check out the Zipp pads to see if anyone carries them here.

Thanks once again!!
Warning - adults only - explicit bike porno! ;-) nmOffTheBack
Aug 16, 2003 3:58 AM
You were a pauper before or after this bike?Sintesi
Aug 16, 2003 5:11 AM
I do love Fondriests. Nice.
Definitely poor before and now ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 6:23 AM
... totally financially destitute!!

Have to work out a 10yr installment plan to pay off the LBS!

Sigh ...
It's a good kind of hurt. ;) nmSintesi
Aug 16, 2003 10:35 AM
Yes, ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 2:54 PM
... and it disappears from the mind the moment you get on the bike and pedal.

Heck, it disappears when you just look at it!
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A Pictorialmackgoo
Aug 16, 2003 5:18 AM
Are you the same mycroft from spyderclub?
Sorry no, but ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 6:25 AM
... I do have a pair of Spiderman underwear if that counts!!
Ooooo, La, La! ;>)BigFatSal
Aug 16, 2003 5:41 AM
Wow - that is gorgeous! Really a work of art.... Kinetic sculpture..... Congratulations!

I'm expecting my new ride to arrive today or Monday (hopefully today - the anticipation's killing me!)
I know what you mean ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 6:37 AM
Fondriest only makes 2 TF1 frames a week!! Because I'm told its all hand made from Mitsubishi Carbon and put together in a factory which collaborates with the Minardi GP F1 Team in its production. Soooo the waiting time is approximately 2 years!!

With the Euro up and the long wait, the guy who ordered this frame lost heart for a moment and I zoomed in for the kill. Had to wait about a month or so only and then only 1 frame came (in my size!). I guess for once I lucked out!!

The waiting is usually the thing that drives me crazy. I lack patience and self restraint.

The other choice (cheaper too!) would have been a Magnesium Pinarello Dogma at 840g frame weight. But then delivery would have been in October and I out of my mind by then! I also worry about possible corrosion issues out here in Singapore. There is only 1 Dogma on this island to date.
I know what you mean ...BigFatSal
Aug 16, 2003 9:42 AM
Well, thanks for posting the pics (tell your wife how much we all appreciated the time you took, then take her out for a nice romantic dinner).

By the way, pretty cool photography. Really shows off the beauty of the frame and the material.

Always a pleasure to look at great money shots of beautiful bike porn. ;>) Enjoy and ride safe with that thing!
The photos ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 3:03 PM
... do not do the frame justice, since there is no way to properly show the detail of the stunning carbon weave which is laid symmetrically, nor to give you the 3D shape of the tubes and change in contours - far more beautiful than the photos depict!

They are taken by a Canon Ixus 400 at 640x480pixels. Very nice little camera. My first time posting these many photos at 1 go and wasn't sure of the reception I would receive from you guys.

Thanks for all your comments.
re: Christmas Came Early for Me!! A PictorialTheJoker
Aug 16, 2003 6:36 AM
holy moly!

that looks expen$ive!
Now that is art and engineering rolled into one!Live Steam
Aug 16, 2003 8:28 AM
That was my first choice for a carbon frame, but my friend got the Giant Composite frames into his shop early this year and I couldn't resist a good deal. I love how it rides, but I am jealous. That is a real beauty. Ride it in good health!
No need to be ...Mycroft
Aug 16, 2003 3:09 PM
... jealous! It is clear that you got the better value for money deal.

If I had a clear head, I would have done what you did, or stuck to my old frame - which is pretty good in its own rights!

The Giant TCR Composite frame has a more streamlined monocoque look and I always prefer a matt finish to a gloss clearcoat!
No need to be ...Live Steam
Aug 17, 2003 3:48 PM
I like the gloss finish better. I think it is a little more durable and stays cleaner. The matte finish holds on to the gime and grease. I am contenplating breaking the bike down this Winter and spraying it with a clear gloss coat.

As for which is the better frame. I guess that is certainly debatable. I know that the Giant frame is produced in a much different way than pretty much any other carbon frame out there. There are no lugs. It is a true monoque design and is formed from one sheet of material in a special mold using a bladder to pressure fit the mateiral to the mold, from the inside.

I am very happy with it. It is the most responsive frame I have ever ridden. Pedal to the metal gets instant gratification. My bike built up with Record weighs in at 15.9lbs. I have to say it does ride like a magic carpet. I ride on rough roads. Our Saturday morning hammer ride is something akin to Paris-Roubaix in long sections. This frame smooths out the rough spots pretty well. Ah well, I'll own a Fondriest one day. Probably the Status Carb :O)
Too badAtombomber
Aug 16, 2003 11:30 AM
You can't ride it until December 25th. What a long time to wait to ride such a beautiful bicycle.
nice pedals..........................and the rest of it too (nm)maximum15
Aug 17, 2003 1:49 PM