RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Downers Grove Bike Race(19 posts)

Downers Grove Bike RaceMisJG
Aug 14, 2003 6:16 AM
There was some discussion about meeting somewhere on the couse and 'the first turn' was suggested. FYI, the first turn will probably be the most crowded area for spectators on the whole course.
Link to the Race SiteMisJG
Aug 14, 2003 6:20 AM
http://www.sportsgrandprix.com
Lets do this:Kristin
Aug 14, 2003 6:47 AM
Let's meet for an adult beverage. What say 2pm at Founders Hill? Unless, of course, you were dying to watch the womens inline championships.

Now the beer is only average and gets mixed reviews, but it will be cold and on tap and the day will be hot. Of course, to me all beer tastes like crap. As long as they can make a good stone sour, I'm happy! I'll be the brunette toting a 100lb, pre-historic tripod and camera equipment. Here are some stout ratings:

http://beerme.com/breweries/us/il/1751.shtml
Getting thereSlamden
Aug 14, 2003 7:16 AM
Does anyone have any idea if there is a safe way to bike to this race from Chicago? I know Ogden goes out there but I understand it may go through some sketchy areas.
Don't take Ogden. I'll work up a route for you today. nmKristin
Aug 14, 2003 7:17 AM
Can you work up a route from Philly....loki_1
Aug 14, 2003 9:08 AM
If I leave right now, I uhhhh still wont make it.. darn.

Sounds like a great time, have fun all.
Can you get yourself onto the Pairie Path??Kristin
Aug 14, 2003 12:17 PM
If so, I've got a route for you. It will be Sunday afternoon so traffic shouldn't be too bad. I've routed you through a quiet neighborhood. Meyers can be busy; but I don't think you'll have any trouble. Here's your Que Sheet:

Exit the Pairie Path onto Westmore-Meyers Road in Villa Park
Westmore-Meyers Road is West of Ardmore and East of Grace

RIGHT/SOUTH on Westmore-Meyers for 4.54 miles
RIGHT/WEST on 35th Street for .44 miles
CURVE LEFT/SOUTH on 35th which becomes Fairview for .34 miles
RIGHT/WEST on 37th for .70 miles
LEFT/SOUTH at "No Outlet" sign (Glendenning) for .60 miles
RIGHT/WEST on 41st* for .50 miles
LEFT/SOUTH on Main Street
Follow Main ST. thru Ogden and to downtown DG approx 1 mile

Notes:

The only busy street is Meyers. Its a 35-40MPH 4 lane highway, but it is not heavily trafficed on Sunday's and it has some fresh asphaulf for your enjoyment.

Busy intersections include: Meyers & Roosevelt, Meyers & Butterfield, Meyers & Ogden.

41st street ends at Earlston and picks up again 1 block West. However, the bike path/sidewalk spans the distance in between so you don't need to get off of 41st. Ignore what Mapquest says.

DuPage County is the land of incomplete bike paths. Don't be lured onto the shoulder bike paths, they tend to end abruptly.

Good luck and hope to meet you!

Kristin

Mapquest Trip Planner:
http://www.mapquest.com/rtp/route.adp?rtpid=3f3be50e%2d000f4%2d00fda%2dcdbcf371
Thanks Kristin!!Slamden
Aug 15, 2003 6:21 AM
Why did I type 2pm? Make it 3pm - :45 min. before pro start.Kristin
Aug 14, 2003 7:19 AM
Kristin, could you post some pics of that race for us?russw19
Aug 14, 2003 7:19 AM
Once you get them developed? I am sure you are taking along 100 lbs of camera and equipment to take photos, and not just for the excercise... when you get them done, could you post a few good shots for us here... I am sure I am not the only one who would love to see those. Thanks in advance!

Russ
Absolutely, that's why I do it! nmKristin
Aug 14, 2003 7:20 AM
Kristin, could you post some pics of that race for us?Sabine
Aug 14, 2003 12:43 PM
yes! Ditto! Pics! Especially if Lynn wins! Please cheer her on for us.

Sabine
www.velobella.org
Will do my bestKristin
Aug 14, 2003 1:21 PM
I took a look at her images on the website and I'll keep my eye out for her on the course. Shooting the finish is a little tough for me because I can't get inside the baricade at the finish line.
Dumb question. ..................Founders Hill.MR_GRUMPY
Aug 14, 2003 8:07 AM
Is that a bar? Or the top of the hill at turn #4. If it's a bar, what street is it on ?
Brewery on Main StreetKristin
Aug 14, 2003 8:22 AM
The hill is called Suicide Hill. I have some other names for it myself.
Thanks.MR_GRUMPY
Aug 14, 2003 8:25 AM
3:00
I'll try, no promises. . .MisJG
Aug 14, 2003 10:00 AM
What do you shoot with? I haven't touched my Nikon 35mm SLR since I got a digital camera in January this year. :( The Sony Mavica CD400 digital is just too darn easy to shoot frame after frame after frame, etc, with instant feedback. It even shoots .mpg video! Stores it all on compact CDs. No developing costs, no waiting, virtually unlimited storage as I can get 1800 pics on one disc. Sorry, I just turned into a salesman there. (It's light too!)
Wave to me...WrigleyRoadie
Aug 14, 2003 7:09 AM
I'll be working in the FOX Television truck!
Hey, tricks of the tradeKristin
Aug 14, 2003 1:23 PM
How does one arrange to be inside the barriers at the finish??? I'd love to get on the inside as its impossible to shoot the finish from anywhere else.