RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon Team(12 posts)

Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon Teamjprog7
Aug 14, 2003 5:09 AM
Hi,

I've been a runner for years and have been into mtn biking for several years as well. I am going to be purchasing a road bike within the next couple days and am looking for others input. I want a bike with a full ultegra build that I will be using primarily for cross training, but I would like to race/do some triathalons in the future. I want a good solid overall bike that will hold up to some hard training rides. I am considering two compact bikes, the Litespeed siena and the Klein Q Carbon Team. I am 6'1" and feel comfortable on them, but then again this is my first road bike. The price difference between the two would be approximately $450 in the Klein's favor. The Klein does have a 105 bottom bracket, but the bontrager race lites, whereas the litespeed has mavic cosmos. Please send me your opinions, this is an important purchase.

Jeff
I would go Klien -stiffer nmandy02
Aug 14, 2003 5:15 AM
re: Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon Teamjakerider
Aug 14, 2003 5:43 AM
Jeff,
it depends on what you are looking for in terms of comfort.
I owned a klein quantum pro(pre carbon rear) and a siena. The klein was STIFF, almost uncomfortably so, the siena was nice and plush with a hint of bottom bracket movement when hammering out of the saddle but no biggie. Also the Klein tubes are paper thin and very easy to dent. Both are nice bikes.
I would go Siena -comfort. nmSpunout
Aug 14, 2003 7:06 AM
re: Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon TeamCary1
Aug 14, 2003 7:47 AM
I would suggest that you not make an impulse purchase and give yourself more than a few days. Both bikes are great bikes (I have a Klein and love it), but I would also suggest at the price range you are thinking that you check out some Lemond bikes, Specialized, Trek Carbon Fiber and see if you like any of those better.

The most important thing will be comfort and fit. Honestly, when you are talking about $2000-3000, the dealer should have no issue with fitting you to a bike and letting you take it on an hour test ride. This is the reason that you pay retail at a dealer rather than mail order.

Good Luck
re: Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon TeamCreaky Carnivore
Aug 14, 2003 7:53 AM
Klein......the Klein will be stiffer, and the ride is plusher than the pre-carbon days. I have a new Q Carbon Pro, and have about 700mi on it. The ride is smooth, and it the stiff rear triangle responds when you kick it.
Jeff, go with the Sienna.Zonic Man
Aug 14, 2003 8:42 AM
The LBS can spec it exactly the way you want it to your fit...stem length/type, bar width/type, wheelset, double or triple, cassette ratio, saddle, seatpost, crank length...everything.

Litespeed's a great company to deal with, no doubt. When I worked at a shop they were the best company to deal with, better than all the other big ones.

Their customer service is great, including any warranty situations. They are handled promptly and efficiently.

On a ride perspective, the manager at my LBS rides a 16.4 pound (with pedals, cages, and computer) Siena and LOVES it. The owner is going to get one soon as well. I've ridden his, and it is the most comfortable ride I've ever felt, bar none (still waiting on my custom IF though).

If you are concerned about performance/stiffness, team Ofoto/Lombardi pro racers (D.3 I think) all run stock siena frames except for one guy riding an Ultimate.

They're a great bike.

If you're looking for a great price on a Siena, call Chris or John at Natomas Bike Shop at 916-641-8640. Tell them Jed referred you via the internet.

They're online too at www.natomasbikeshop.com, but calling is better.

Good luck. Any more questions, just shout.
Neither one...C-40
Aug 14, 2003 1:34 PM
Check out the values at www.fondriest-usa.com. Great frames on sale at $600 off, ranging from $800 to $1300 with fork and headset. Save enough to move up to Campy Chorus 10 speed, maybe even Record.
Neither one...Grahamalicious
Aug 14, 2003 3:23 PM
Go with the Q-Carbon Custom, spend $350 on the glow in the dark paint, and spend the other $100 bucks on a lighter bar/stem combo and a thomson post.

my $.02
re: Avoid Siena....I own oneteoteoteo
Aug 14, 2003 6:27 PM
This spring I made the the decision to buy a Siena and have regretted it since. Simply put it is an average bike with an above average price tag (keeping in mind I got better than pro deal pricing). As for my history I am a shop employee of six years and started riding road in 1985. I generally go through bikes quickly because I can. If you are shopping for something with Carbon stays than look at the myriad of other brands available. At 1699 all steel Specialized Allez Comp may offer you better bang for the buck than both bikes your looking at.

I agree with above posts that fit is numero uno in what you want and overall value rates second. As far as ride quality I'd be hard pressed to say that any production bike has beaten my 5500.

YMMV
Personally, I love my Klein Quantum ...Tahoe Gator
Aug 15, 2003 6:04 AM
True, the Kleins are known for their stiffness, but I don't find it an issue. It was my first road bike (remains my only) and so I guess you could say I don't have anything to compare it to in terms of "comfort". However, what kind of length rides are you going to do anyway. Most of my rides are training rides 20-40 miles in length and at that distance I don't think the comfort factor matters much. But to be honest, I have ridden centuries with no problems at all. The bike fits me well and I have a saddle a I like (Aliante). Personally, I like knowing every ounce of energy pushed into the pedals translates into forward motion, and that is exactly what the Quantum delivers. I do some club races that often end up in sprints, and when I get out of the saddle and hammer, the bike delivers.
re: Litespeed Siena vs. Klein Q Carbon TeamHar
Aug 16, 2003 7:58 AM
Jeff, Good luck, I have been considering the Q pro for 6 months. I have written everyone on here about this bike. My only other consideration has been the trek 5200. I have a LBS that has let me ride them both and the klein i was on for a good hour. The difference between and hour and owing is the part i cant get over. THe kelin concerns me for it's over all comfort on century rides. I will say that all those that own the Klein have had very positive comments except one little detail keeps coming up and that has to due with quick steering of the bike. "something u have to stay on top of." as i was told. The trek reviews are darn near perfect, but I REALLY wasnt something diff. Hope this helps, let me what u decide for it might help me or any info u get on how comfy the klein is, or the steering. Ray