RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Don't Be "THAT" guy...(huge flaming rant inside)(19 posts)

Don't Be "THAT" guy...(huge flaming rant inside)biknben
Aug 13, 2003 7:33 AM
Lately, I'm beginning to wonder if riding with others is better than riding alone.

If you find yourself doing any of the following things, please realize you may be pissing other people off. LIKE ME!!!

-Schedule a group ride from your office after work and then bail at the last possible moment. Which leaves people LIKE ME, who traveled to your office, to ride by themselves anyway.

-Call the guy who organized the ride minutes after the ride was supposed to start because you are lost.

-Show up at the designated ride time in street clothes. Then get changed in the car, pump up your tires, check for other possible mechanical issues, ask for advice, etc. Then half-way through the ride let everyone know you have time constraints that will shorten the ride.

-Insist how difficult some ride was even though others have done it and thought it was no big deal.

-Insist that some climb is 20% while others KNOW it's not even close to that.

-Come from the back of the paceline, to the front, and drop into your aero bars. Oh yeah...(forgot to mention)...no one in the group has ridden with you before.

-Try to convince your riding companion he should buy a pair of Ksyriums because "they are so awesome" even though he already owns a pair of Zipps.

-Endlessly ask for advice and then dispute what you are told.

-Try to convince a husband, father of two, how little time you have while you are single and live at home with Mommy.

-Complain about the hassle of bike maintenance while barely being able to change a tire.

-Take an offer from a friend to stay for the weekend and say, "Good, you can fix my bike while I'm there!"

-Beg someone to organize a group ride and then don't show up. Later, ask him to do it again because you missed the first one.

-Endlessly delay making a decision about whether or not to go for a ride. Leave other people hanging, then don't go.

-Continuously ask someone to take you on a certain ride even though you ignore his messages every time he says he's going to do it.

-Complain about you low blood sugar levels, 4 hours into a ride, when you're not Diabetic. Insist on taking the short way home.

-Hammer on a group ride. Talk sh!t all day. Then end up being towed home by others who knew better than to go too hard too early.

-Hammer on a group ride. Talk sh!t all day. When someone asks you if you race, say "No, I'm not interested in racing!"

-Sit at the back during the entire ride. Then come to the front for the last climb, hammer, then proclaim yourself victorious.

-Finish your pull at the front as you hit the base of a climb. After sitting in all the way up, push the pace on the descent until the next climb.

-Constantly try to talk to people while in a paceline. When you realize they can't hear you, YELL!!!

-Skip the opportunity to pre-ride the MTB course. Then endlessly ask about it.

-Tell the Expert MTB racer you think it is BS that Experts get cash prizes while your Sport class only gets merchandise.

-Give up riding and racing. Sell all your bikes. Then, six months later, buy all new crap, proclaim, "I'm Back!" and expect people to care.

-Complain how much better you could have finished in the MTB race if all the "Squirrels" weren't in your way.

I think I'll stop there...I'm feeling a little better now!!!!
Wow. You need new riding partners (nm)newridr
Aug 13, 2003 7:40 AM
Being Fat and out of shapegildomilo
Aug 13, 2003 8:01 AM
and fitting in with the lives with mommy routine I can't believe you have experienced all this on your rides. I just started riding with a group mid week after work. I pretty much keep my mouth shut because I'm too busy trying to keep up with the pack. Ohh well there are loud mouths everywhere. Wherea are you located?
=Gil
I know who that guy is......MR_GRUMPY
Aug 13, 2003 8:04 AM
Every group has one.
Once, when he showed up for a ride late, I asked him if he had a dictionary at home. I had to ask him a few times, but he finally answered "Yes". I told him to look up the word "Inconsiderate".........It didn't help. The guy is still an Ass.
That's why I ride (mostly) alone.KG 361
Aug 13, 2003 9:52 AM
I can't be bothered about driving/riding to a start area, only to have to wait around for others. It cuts too much into the little time that I have to ride. That way, I don't have to worry about:
1-am I going too slow?
2-why are they so slow?
3-please, dear God, I hope they slow down!
4-where the h*ll am I and how do I get back home?
Makes life much simpler, and simple is what I like =)
LOL! I have to agree!! nuff said here! nmwspokes
Aug 13, 2003 10:45 AM
^^ Ditto ^^ nmUncleMoe
Aug 13, 2003 12:25 PM
Good stuff. nmNatC
Aug 13, 2003 10:22 AM
You need to ride with Miss M more oftem. nmMB1
Aug 13, 2003 10:32 AM
Decaf? you really should;) nmasphalt assault
Aug 13, 2003 11:34 AM
from Ben's post, i can tell you two things:JS Haiku Shop
Aug 13, 2003 11:54 AM
we have the same temperment, and "observations" about many of the same things.

decaf only serves to piss people like us off more.

bring on the Cuban coffee!
Yep, Maybe you should ride alone.DL Lawrence
Aug 13, 2003 11:56 AM
Unfortunately, the world is full of inconsiderate people, dude. The only person that can let them bother you that much, however, is you. JMHO, no offense intended.
I feel your pain!Caseysdad
Aug 13, 2003 1:16 PM
...Except that in my situation the biggest offender is the group ride organizer. I've always tried to keep a "his ride - his rules" attitude, but lately this guy's approach approach and behaviors have gotten to the point where I find it difficult to bring myself to participate in group rides. Some of his more annoying habits include...

- Refusing to make a call on whether or not to conduct rides on questionable weather days. If the weather is iffy, he'll wait until there are a dozen people standing in the street with their bikes before he'll decide whether or not to cancel. Granted, this can be a difficult call sometimes, but I wish he'd grow a pair and take responsibility for making a decision within a reasonable timeframe. Because we usually start from his house, he can just ride back into the garage and go about his day if the ride is called. The rest of us, however, spend time riding/driving from our homes, so we've blown a lot more time and effort if he pulls the plug at the last minute.

- Being oblivious to the rest of the group during rides. Granted, this is largely a social ride, but on occasion the majority of the group will take advantage of an opportunity to get into a nice paceline with everybody taking turns out front. Invariably, he'll eventually come up the left of the line from the middle of the pack, pull shoulder-to-shoulder with whoever is on the front and start a conversation, completely obliterating any structure that we had going. (On the positive side, I've become very adept at resisting the urge to toss a water bottle into his spokes.)

- Being inconsiderate of faster riders. Our group is made up of riders of many different levels, but this guy practially makes it a sin to average anything over 16 mph. If the group as a whole speeds up, he'll jump out front and slow down, dragging everybody back down to his speed. He especially does this on hills. It's one thing to be a slow climber, but it's another thing to know that you're a slow climber and still position yourself out front on an approach to a climb, then gear waaaaaay down in the first 20 yards and force the faster climbers behind you to grab their brakes and scrub whatever speed they're carrying.

- Not signaling road hazards. Some of the roads we ride frequently have a fair amount of gravel, potholes and various other debris scatterd about. As he rides by them, he either won't signal them to the riders behind him or he'll wait until the last possible second when it's too late for those behind him to swerve. I'm far from the only person in the group who could point out half a dozen dings, dents and paint chips on my bike that were a direct result of hitting or being hit by hazards that could have been avoided if he would observe even basic courtesy and safety practices.

- Dogs. We have the obligatory big, mean, loose dog on a tight uphill corner, and every day he sits in wait for us to come by. If this guy is anywhere near the front of the group (which, thankfully, doesn't happen very often), he'll clear the dog and then come to an almost dead stop in the middle of the road to see what happens to everyone else. Regardless of how many times we point it out to him, he seems oblivious to the fact that his stopping forces everyone behind him to slow down, thereby increasing Fido's odds dramatically.

The list goes on. But to make a long story short, I'm doing a lot more solo riding these days. That's a shame, because there are actually a lot of good riders in the group and I really enjoy interacting with them. It's just not worth the frustration anymore.

Sorry for the rant - but I feel quite a bit better having gotten that off my chest.
Complain about other riders when they could ride alone.lemmy999
Aug 13, 2003 1:21 PM
Just kidding. This is the complaint of yours that pisses me off the most:

"-Endlessly ask for advice and then dispute what you are told. "

On the bloodsugar thing....you do not have to be diabetic to have low blood sugar.
blood sugar.Rich_Racer
Aug 13, 2003 3:05 PM
It's ture though that saying something about low blood sugar is sort of an acceptable way of saying you're tired even though is either because you're not fit enough, didn't eat/drink enough, or are just afraid to be dropped.

There's this fat guy on my group ride that, without fail, every week, talks sh!t and ends every line "...even though I was off the bike the whole of last year!" Grrr!

The problem is that in all walks of life, other people can be annoying and cycling is uncomfortable and competitive enough that these traits are magnified.

Just smile and ride!
Should I ride with this group, or am I pissing them off???GeoCyclist
Aug 13, 2003 3:42 PM
I just started riding with other cyclists. I wouldn't call these group rides; as there has only been two to five riders, and mostly just the usual three (including myself). I'd be interested to know if my riding style would piss you off? The other two riders are very competitive when climbing; as a result, I'm always the last one up the hill. On long climbs I pace myself to make sure I finish the climb without blowing up; I never try to attack and challenge the other riders. As a result, I'm the last guy to the top of the hill; usually 1 to 2 minutes behind the other riders on a 4 to 6 kilometre hill. These guys always stop at the top of the hill and wait for me to catch up. Does it bother you to wait for a slower climber? If you are a competitive rider, does it bother you to ride with someone who just wants to hang back and survive the ride? These guys always ask me to ride, and I always show up on time, and never make them cut their rides short. They have asked me to join a large (30 + riders) group ride this Sunday. I'm having second thoughts about doing the ride; especially after reading some of the posts on this site. Any comments???
Go on the 30+ rider ride...Lone Gunman
Aug 13, 2003 5:00 PM
You might like it or hate it, you will never know if you don't go. I have avoided getting into a scenerio where I have the same riding partners all the time, especially if they irritate me. The local club, which I tried to ride alot with last season, would schedule a ride and have 2 people show up. After having this happen several times I chose my rides carefully with that group. Felt like I wasted alot of time driving 25 miles to ride with 2 people I barely knew other than they did not match my riding style or needs that day. This season some of the club riders are "cat fighting" and don't want to ride with other riders or want to pick and choose who is the popular riding partners this month, very odd scenerio and I have kept my distance.

Obviously you must be doing alot right in the eyes of your steady riding buds or they would not continue to invite you along. Large group rides can be alot of fun especially if you don't know the other riders and/or the annoying habits are not as evident. I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have been on a large group ride and ran across someone who is a jerkrider. Was riding with a group in Michigan one day near Valpariso. Tour notes indicated when arriving at X town, ride single file and stop at the signs in town else risk being ticketed by the local PD. One rider in the group refused to do either stating he had "all the time and money in "his" world to come up to X town and fight his ticket". What about the other guy(me) that got ticketed instead of dipshit because I was riding beside him at the time? Oh he didn't think about that. He also kept telling me to stay away from someones wheel I was getting too close, wasn't his wheel though. After about 30 minutes of this nonsense, I went solo for the rest of the ride.

Last fall on the local club's fall century ride, pouring down rain, I was riding with a few guys and some of them raced and they had a guy with them who rode alot but did not race, they had invited him to ride that day. He had a major mechanical problem, cable guide for his rear derailleur broke off disabling his shifter. I stopped to help and offer tools or suggestions. The rest of his "racing buds" kept going and dropped him, never to be seen or heard from again that day until they got back to the finish. I was astonished thye dropped him like that and asked him why. His comment was "well they race and would not stop during a race to help someone out". I said " this is the club century, not some cash prize race, I think I would be finding new riding partners. To my surprise this guy tried to ride single speed and catch up to the group that dropped him, he failed badly.

Take what is said here under advisement, watch for the warning signs of HTJA (horsetoothjackass) behavior, and have fun and when it is over, decide if it was worth it.
If they keep inviting you than it's cool.DERICK
Aug 13, 2003 5:19 PM
Don't miss the opportunity to ride with the large group. You'll meet riders who are at your level and probobly fall in with them. Just do more listening than talking and you'll be fine.
Keep riding with these guys, they sound great!jtlmd
Aug 13, 2003 6:44 PM
Everybody rides and climbs at a different pace. It is really respectful of them to wait at the top of climbs. Obviously, they like riding with you if they keep inviting you back.

Some of the groups I've ridden with try hard to lose as many guys as possible (the local group is recreational, not racing). One weekly ride starts off like gangbusters and breaks up completely on the first climb (those guys who push the pace super hard on the flats suck on the climbs!) and the leaders don't check for anybody dropped. In my area you're lucky to find a group that slows down to let you catch up after a climb, so I'd view the guys your riding with as good guys who enjoy riding with you.