RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


unique, durable, inexpensive water bottle cage?(42 posts)

unique, durable, inexpensive water bottle cage?JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 6:55 AM
is that like "stupid-light, reliable bike"?

sorry--didn't mean to get you riled on monday morning.

i've scoured the reviews for bottle cages, but am still not satisfied.

first, have you any reviews? i'm trying to go beyond the standard thin wire-framed cages. i don't want to spend $40 per cage, either. also, they must be black.

second, what cages are pictured on LA's Madone, below?

TIA!

-J
Dunno 'bout that picture, but..Spunout
Aug 11, 2003 7:06 AM
If I could do it all over again, I'd chuck the Elite Ciussi cages and get Tacx plastic cages. No flying bottles in the bumbs, no bending, no paint on my white bottles, and $12 each.
Tax Taot-bill
Aug 11, 2003 7:33 AM
They work well, and only cost $14 at wisecyclebuys.
oops here's the pict-bill
Aug 11, 2003 7:35 AM
Second the Tao.KG 361
Aug 11, 2003 8:04 AM
Have them on my 361 and they hold bottles like a pitbull on steroids. Light and cheap and durable. What's not to like?
3rd the Tacx Tao's. (nm)jtferraro
Aug 11, 2003 11:58 AM
I nominate the tao as well however...bicycle268
Aug 11, 2003 12:02 PM
the conventionally shaped bottles (28oz) I use tend to rattle a little more cause there's nothing clamping the bottles down. With the old style bottle cage you could bend the cage slightly to grab hold of the bottle a little more.

overall though the tao's are really nice!!

Quinn
Me too! ..TNSquared
Aug 11, 2003 1:03 PM
got 'em on my bike and they are dead sexy, yeah! :-)

but given the number of recommendations, maybe they are not all that unique.

i'm not sure about universal size, either, but mine work just fine with standard cheap lbs bottles and Polar insulated bottles. The cheap bottles rattle a slight bit, but I've never lost a bottle, not even during my gravity check.
and now for something completely different...philippec
Aug 11, 2003 7:37 AM
Haiku,

Not being one to rekindle the fires of love lost but I really feel for your loss. I too lusted after her but could not express my feelings as eloquently and vocifererously as you... sniff. 750 dollars seems like so little to pay for a lifetime of happiness... and yet it was just too much... sigh.

A+

Philippe
:(JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 7:42 AM
it was love.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3620920056&category=7298

you're rubbing salt in my wound.
:(JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 7:43 AM
it was love.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3620920056&category=7298

you're rubbing salt in my wound.
please excuse double reply nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 7:44 AM
off topic tangent rant - those shiftersDougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 7:41 AM
I must say that those new Dura Ace shifters are the most bulbous, ugliest things I've seen on a bike. Why so large? I realize that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but some things are objectively ugly.

Doug
agree nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 7:44 AM
they needed something to match that...desmo
Aug 11, 2003 7:49 AM
horrible BMX chain ring.
in comparisonNo_sprint
Aug 11, 2003 9:14 AM
Campy hoods/shifters/levers are so good looking with the carbon levers being absolutely beautiful.
Other than "unique" what problems exist?Spoiler
Aug 11, 2003 7:42 AM
When I first bought my bike in '98, stainless Elite cages were standard. I've only had to replace one of them in the five years since. Unless you're trying to stuff a 64oz Big Gulp in the cage, I don't see what problems can arise.

The weight difference between the heaviest and lightest is completely undetectible. Some of the premolded plastic and carbon cages only hold one size. You can't bend them to fit different bottles.
Those stupid Elite Patao cages take a special tiny 16oz bottle, so they're just not practical. And the carbon version costs $90. Only a rich man or a fool would buy that.
none...JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 7:49 AM
the whole stable has standard (alloy) elite cages at present. i'm looking for something different. they're going on a black carbon fiber monococque frame, with curvy lines. i'm wanting something composite (plastic, whatever) and curvy instead of wiry and linear. weight isn't an issue.

those patao cages--agreed. however, they are now making a large size for regular bottles. still not going for 'em, though.

my worry with the tacx tao was universal fit--as you mentioned. i'm looking particularly at the sigg power cages at nashbar. they're unique, curvy, cheap,...(fugly?)
Zipp?DougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 7:55 AM
I love my Zipp carbon fiber cages. Not cheap, though. They must be the most aero cages ever made, too, at least with the bottles in them.

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=8&description=Carbon+Cage&vendorCode=ZIPP&major=3&minor=12

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=7&major=3&minor=12
$40? not cheap! nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 8:42 AM
cool/durable/cheap. Pick two. ;-) nmDougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 9:44 AM
difference?JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 9:50 AM
besides 20 bucks, of course...

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=1&parentid=20538&company=Weyless&secid=24&subid=1530
appears to be very similar nmDougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 9:52 AM
photo of Zipps on some fat guy's bike....DougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 10:01 AM
c'bak, mirror, triple, aerobars...defies all derogatory terms nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 10:09 AM
don't overlook wearing this year's event jersey!DougSloan
Aug 11, 2003 10:19 AM
Ok, I'm the Fred Poster Boy. Well, you can see I don't have a 2 cubic foot saddlebag, though. That would interfere with my 55 mph descents.

Doug
small seatpack bonus nullified by pre-mullet (LOL!) nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 10:25 AM
they look pretty good on that bikeSpoiler
Aug 11, 2003 10:24 AM
Simple, clean look.
Radically inferior decal.djg
Aug 12, 2003 7:50 AM
And the label starts with a "W," which is a lower letter than the "Z" on the Zipps.
They look like some horrible lawn ornamentSpecialTater
Aug 11, 2003 7:56 AM
of a bear humping a tree.

But I'm SURE they'll look great on YOUR bike... :)
bear humping tree? ouch! nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 8:42 AM
How about curvy carbon cages?Suds
Aug 11, 2003 9:06 AM
Available from Mike at oddsandendos.com for $50/pair
13.5 g each? might not survive shipping. (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 9:39 AM
so far so good.Suds
Aug 11, 2003 12:40 PM
Been using the BTP cases for 2 months now. They are much stronger than their weight would have you beleive. No problems with my Zefal Magnum bottles!
Those are Trek's new cages...MVN
Aug 11, 2003 8:14 AM
I have the Tacx Tao cages in black (got 'em from Excel I think for $14. Hear in La. it's so hot I've been using Zefal Magnum bottles and they don't fit well in the Tao's. To remedy this I bought two Tacx Allure cages in black from Excel for $7.99 each. They are still the same shape as the standard cage, but they hold bottles well and are made of aluminum and polycarbonate resin (or something like that, lol). They don't scuff bottles very much, either. I like them better than the Tao, actually. And they look good on my Pearl Black 5200!! Hope that helps.

Mark
just called LBSJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 8:41 AM
http://www.trekbikes.com/accessories/product_detail.jsp?product_id=313&category_id=126

$10 each
they didn't hold very well...terzo rene
Aug 11, 2003 11:30 AM
In the LA/Mayo crash on Luz Ardiden.

Personally I like the Arundel Carbon cages, second place the Specialized rib cage pros (they are sometimes available in faux carbon in their online store), not quite the cool factor but way cheaper and hold just as well.
Cateyegtx
Aug 11, 2003 8:26 AM
these are the ones I use on my mtb and cross bikes--only cage I've found that will hold a Night Rider bottle over rough stuff. I don't know if they still make them (I think you'll need to cut an paste the link--it's from google cache)

http://216.239.57.104/search?q=cache:sGeT55DSDDsJ:thethirdhand.com/+cateye+bottle+cage&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

on my first google seach I found this newer Cateye model, which looks decent

http://www.gearshark.com/finder/details/Cateye-BC-300-Bottle-Cage/details/Cateye-BC-300-Bottle-Cage/270329.html?no_f
old ones too ugly. new ones just ugly enough. thanks! nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 11, 2003 8:43 AM
My fav: Specialized Rib Cage Pro: actual 35g & bombproof!BergMann
Aug 11, 2003 8:53 AM
I like these better than my Tacx Taos: easier bottle insertion and removal and a 360-degree wrap for rock-solid grip: I also MTB with these suckers.

They're also 5g lighter per cage than my Taos (actual weight 40-42g), and you can use aluminum bolts with them (the damn Taos force you to either use the stock steel bolts or pull out the file to modify your existing bolts), so the actual weight savings is actually closer to 20g/ pair.

I've got them in silver, but they also come in black, and run about $15.
My fav: Specialized Rib Cage Pro: actual 35g & bombproof!BergMann
Aug 11, 2003 9:28 AM
I like these better than my Tacx Taos: easier bottle insertion and removal and a 360-degree wrap for rock-solid grip: I also MTB with these suckers.

They're also 5g lighter per cage than my Taos (actual weight 40-42g), and you can use aluminum bolts with them (the damn Taos force you to either use the stock steel bolts or pull out the file to modify your existing bolts), so the actual weight savings is actually closer to 20g/ pair.

I've got them in silver, but they also come in black, and run about $15.
thanks, all...JS Haiku Shop
Aug 12, 2003 5:21 AM
will post pic of whatever i decide to put on the plastic fantastic.

-J