RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fizik Aliante vs. Selle Flite (or any other)(9 posts)

Fizik Aliante vs. Selle Flite (or any other)03Vortex
Aug 11, 2003 5:49 AM
I have read the reviews on many saddles and the Fizik does get high marks. Others do as well but my question is if the Fizik is really worth $150? Durability was an isuue for many in the reviews. Comfort and fit are most important. I am considering the Flite as well which is $100 less.
SLR for medirthead
Aug 11, 2003 6:22 AM
I have gone through many saddles in the past to find just the right one. The list looks something like this....Selle Italia Trans Am, Flight, Flight Gel, ProLink, San Marco Era Ti, Concor Light, Rolls, and the latest....Selle Italia SLR. I can say that the SLR is the most comfortable I have ever ridden. Even though it does not have much padding, it is very comfortable. The SLR seems to be "flatter" than any of the others I have tried, and that seems to make it fit my rear a little better. All of the saddles were ok for 1-2 hour rides, but when sitting on it for 4-5 hours, the SLR is best for me.

I have not tried a Fizik Aliante, so can't comment on it's comfort.
re: Fizik Aliante vs. Selle Flite (or any other)Steve Young
Aug 11, 2003 6:24 AM
I bought an Aliante about 10 days (200 odd miles ago) so it's a bit difficult to say too much about comfort at this point (and as I am sure others will point out this is highly personal anyway).

I spent about 9 hours on it yesterday covering 116 odd miles and ca. 10K feet of climbing. As you might imagine, I'm a littel uncomfortable today but I'm pretty certain that I wouldn't have been able to endure the butt pain for this distance had I still been on my previous saddle (which came stock with the bike). I've only been roadbiking since May too so my rear may not be properly hardened yet ... :)

However in answer to your quetion regarding durability. I think that this is a serious weakness with this saddle. I too read the reviews and decided to take my chance with the saddle. I'm pretty careful with my stuff and figured that the durability couldn't be that bad. Guess again - there are already signs of wear down the sides of the saddle. I am very careful when leaning it against things (I generally use a glove to protect it from walls etc) and yet it is already somewhat scuffed.

Thus, regardless of comfort, in my opinion the durability is a major weakness and one that is not overstated in the reviews on this site.

Anyway - that's just my 2c. I think I'm going to like the saddle apart from the wear problems - as others have noted, this saddle would be significantly improved by the addition of some kevlar side panels.

Steve

P.S. I had a flite on my mountain bike a couple of years ago but I just couldn't get on with it although all my friends have them and love them durable and (for them at least) comfortable.
Try one and seeScotttheroadie
Aug 11, 2003 6:45 AM
Most shops will let you test ride a saddle for a day or two. I went through 4 or 5 before settling on the Fizik. I do see some issues with durability. The cover seems to tear very easily. Is it worth it? The way I see it is if I could find a saddle that fit me perfectly, no numbness, etc, I'd pay $300 for it and probably buy a spare.
First Aliante ride this weekendterry b
Aug 11, 2003 7:07 AM
and I've found it to be darn comfortable. Much more so than the Flite I have on another bike. However, I'm not sure yet that it's hugely better than the Fizik Paves I have on a couple of bikes. Came to that one this year on a lark and I'm slowly replacing everything I have with them. Nicest thing about the Pave is that you can generally find the Titanium version on eBay for $30-$60.

Since it's new, I can't speak to the durability. The option I used to lessen the price pain was to wait for a 20% off Performance coupon to surface (found most recently in the current Outdoor Magazine Gear Guide) and thus got the price down to $120 for the Ti version.
Best bang for the buckB2
Aug 11, 2003 7:49 AM
has got to be the Flite by a long shot. Personally I like the old smooth style without the stitching. I've got one on my single speed and it's darn comfortable.

I've got a Flite Gel on my commuter and there's nothing wrong with it, but I still think the standard Flite is more comfortable.

My road bike had a SLR for the last year and I found it comfortable enough. The surface was a little slick and I found that I slide around a little more than I would like, but all in all no complaints.

I purchased a Fizik Aliante about 4 or 5 weeks ago and against my better judgement used it on the Deathride after a 35 mile tryout. I wasn't dissapointed. It may be the most comfortable saddle I've ridden. I could have hopped on the bike the next morning without any discomfort. I followed Deathride up with RAMROD which is 150 miles with 10,000' of climbing and still have no regrets. Like others I think the cost is absurd and I am concerned about the durability. So far I see no signs of wear and I've been (gently) laying my bike on the ground, on the organized rides anyway.

Saddles are pretty subjective, but based on my experience, the Aliante is the most comfortable of the saddles I've tried. Too bad it cost so d*** much!

Bryan
Totally subjective and ass-specific, but...Ray Sachs
Aug 11, 2003 10:06 AM
I've NEVER been able to get comfortable on a flite - don't know what it is about it, but I hate 'em. Really can't stand 'em. Liked the Aliante from the first ride. Have 'em on two bikes now and don't have any complaints. Liked it right away, even when it wasn't dialed in. As I've tweaked the position, it's gotten incredibly comfortable.

The only warning is that the Aliante, like the flite but to an even greater extent, has an upsweep on the tail end. If you like a flat saddle, this isn't it (unless you stick the nose way up).

-Ray
Fizikt0adman
Aug 11, 2003 4:12 PM
I got the silver Aliante about 2 weeks ago and I like the feel but it's not durable at all! The silver tends to fade and the leather around the back edges scuffs easily. If you don't mind some minor cosmetic issues then go for the Aliante. The feel is great.
If you want comfort, Euro looks and Ti...High Gear
Aug 11, 2003 4:47 PM
It's hard to beat this one. Johan Museeuw still uses it. $55

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=35606&query=retrieval