RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Self-extracting Bottom Bracket?(13 posts)

Self-extracting Bottom Bracket?RGerwig
Aug 10, 2003 4:07 PM
Anyone ever have anything like this happen to their bike? I was riding along today and couldn't get it to shift into the big ring. I tried adjusting the derailleur, but couldn't get it to go out far enough. Upon further inspection, I discovered this. Needless to say, I'm a little ticked as I've only had this bike for 1 week. What would cause something like this to happen? Bad parts or poor workmanship on behalf of my LBS?
Italian threaded???Dave Hickey
Aug 10, 2003 4:38 PM
Is your frame Italian? Italian BB's will come lose if drive side cup is not REAL tight. The drive side on english threaded BB's are reverse threaded to prevent it from coming lose.
Italian threaded???RGerwig
Aug 10, 2003 5:01 PM
Nope. This is on a Felt frame. I believe that it's a Shimano bottom bracket. This is just something that I've never had happen with any of my other bikes. Weird.
re: Self-extracting Bottom Bracket?rogue_CT1
Aug 10, 2003 4:44 PM
It happens. Just take it back and have the tighten the BB again.
How many hours did you put on your bikegildomilo
Aug 10, 2003 5:52 PM
the first week you had it? I was instructed by my LBS to bring it in after 5 hours so they could re-torque everything. I put about 100 miles on it the first week and then brought it in.
_Gil
re: Self-extracting Bottom Bracket?Live Steam
Aug 10, 2003 6:09 PM
It happens to the best of us :O) Who ever assemble the bike may not have dressed the BB - meaning they did not clean the threads of the BB of over sprayed paint from the manufacturing/finishing process. I like to add a few drops of blue Loc-tite when I install a BB. Sort of a little extra insurance over and above the proper torque.
I would never use Loc-titeboyd2
Aug 11, 2003 4:05 AM
I once lost a frame to a seized bottom bracket. It just would not come out. I had some tricks up my sleve to drill it out, but LBS wrench friend recommended we send it back to Specilized and they just replaced the entire frame. I think that Loc-tite would amplify problems like this.

Anyway I use a anit-seize on all of my bottom brackets and have never had one work loose. I realize blue Loc-tite is removable, but it does make the BB harder to service later on. I would just torque it back up. I bet it never comes loose again.
Never had a problemLive Steam
Aug 11, 2003 4:53 AM
I have built, serviced and rebuilt 7 bikes and have never had a problem extracting the BB. I break down and rebuild 4 bikes at the start of every season. The only time I had a problem with the BB was on my Colnago when I didn't use it because I misplaced the little bottle :O) I spun the bb out while climbing some steep climbs in Altoona, PA.

I have serviced a few frinds bikes and had a problem with one BB being siezed in the frame. He hadn't done any servicing of that bike in more than 4 seasons of riding in the rain and on salted roads. Well to each his own. I like the secure feeling of knowing those little blue drops will prevent what happened here to RGerwig and to my bike.
yuptarwheel
Aug 11, 2003 4:15 AM
I bought a bike from Excel a couple years ago and the bottom bracket (Italian) unscrewed during a solo ride 10 miles from my bike, about 6 weeks after I got it. I couldn't figure out why it was shifting so bad all of the sudden. In my case, the crank got some bad scratches from rubbing the BB, and Excel ending up replacing the crank and covering the labor costs, so it all worked out in the end. My LBS reinstalled the new crank with blue loctite.
Another self-extracting BB...shrEd
Aug 11, 2003 6:09 AM
Wow, I had this same exact problem on my newly built Colnago Dream right before I left for vacation and I was just about to submit it to the message board when I saw this - roadbikereview.com RULES!

Anyway, I'm gonna try re-torquing the BB and see if that works, but if it doesn't, I'll try the blue locktite since that worked like a champ on my disc brake caliper bolts - they've yet to come loose after 2 years!

I'm not sure why anyone would have a problem w/ the blue loctite since it's removable.
Really no problem ...Live Steam
Aug 11, 2003 6:20 AM
with the blue Loc-tite. Just don't go crazy with it. Two or three drops is all it takes. Also, make sure they cleaned the threads before they assembled your bike. If this wasn't done properly, the oversprayed paint is what fails and the BB spins out. The paint doesn't adhere to the threads well. I suspect it's because there is some residue from the oil they used to tap it. This combination causes the BB to slip no matter how much you torque it. Clear the threads with a small brass wire brush and some solvent. This will provide a good, clean surface to start with.
deffinitely poor workmanship on behalf of your LBSmorency
Aug 11, 2003 6:27 AM
and possible that the thread in the frame is wrecked
making it a frame for the junkyard
The problem with Loc-Titeboyd2
Aug 11, 2003 9:18 AM
I don't use loc-tite unless I really need it. The problem is that it does its job and makes things harder to get out. This means that when the BB needs service it is harder to get out, increasing the chances of fouling something up. The thing is reverse threaded to prevent the problem, that does the job in 99.999% of the cases. I would think that you torque it back up and it will never come loose again. If it does there may be something else going on in there.