RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Aesthetic help from those who love celeste…(14 posts)

Aesthetic help from those who love celeste…TFerguson
Aug 9, 2003 7:37 AM
I'm building up a steal Reparto Corse Bianchi track frame and fork painted in full celeste and need help with the complimentary colors. So far I have a Campy Strada crankset, a set of American Classic hubs (24h/28h), an American Classic seatpost, and an Ultegra headset – all in silver.

I'm thinking of Velocity Aerohead rims (99% sure I don't want tubulars), which I can get with the non-machined brake surface in black or silver and DT DB spokes, also in black or silver. The bar will be fully covered in celeste bar tape with green, white and red tape holding down the ends. Still need a quill stem and a saddle. Celeste saddles are quite often available on eBay?? And what about tires - just stick with black or??

Project cannot be expensive which is why I'm not trying for full Campy. Have lots of time since the tracks here are just about to close for the winter.

From one who loves the heavenly color of the queen's eyes,
TF
Hmmm....filtersweep
Aug 9, 2003 8:05 AM
Isn't there some new TV show for the "fashion impaired" man ?
Sorry, don't have TV...TFerguson
Aug 9, 2003 12:18 PM
I guess the marketers haven't been able to "teach" me fashion.

TF
straight eye for the straight cyclistdesmo
Aug 9, 2003 8:16 AM
Go traditional on the parts. Cinelli bar/stem, you can get the 70's bends with 80's/90's logos pretty reasonably. I'd go with a white Sella Flite and white bar tape. Tires should be gum wall or all black. As far as rims, if we're talking just aesthetics I'd go silver OP's, but if your're going to race pick whatever you think will "work" best.
re: Aesthetic help from those who love celeste…SeamusAD
Aug 9, 2003 8:57 AM
I agree with Desmo. Try to use all silver components as well as white bar tape and saddle. This arrangement will complement your celeste fame and create a clean overall look.
Celeste is beautiful! Enjoy.
re: Aesthetic help from those who love celeste…Spoiler
Aug 9, 2003 9:06 AM
Too much celeste might ruin the look. Kind of like how Simoni just had too much pink on his bike for the Giro.
You might want to try a white saddle. Branford Bike sells white Rolls saddles if they are comfortable for you.
Stick with black tires. Any colored tires wind up getting dirty and grimy anyways, even on the track. Black tires with black sidewalls on the aeroheads will make the color of the bike stand out well.
Are you going to use it to compete on the track?
Yes, track only....TFerguson
Aug 9, 2003 12:23 PM
Are you saying black tires and rims or silver rims? The silver does shine when the lights come on.

TF
Black rimsSpoiler
Aug 9, 2003 1:27 PM
Shiney rims draw attention to shiney rims. Flat, black rims draws attention to celeste bike.
re: Aesthetic help from those who love celeste…gtx
Aug 9, 2003 9:19 AM
all silver parts, black tires and saddle. I'd consider white cloth tape...
Black seat, black tires, black spokes, silver rims, Celeste tapeMR_GRUMPY
Aug 9, 2003 11:15 AM
some ideas for youDougSloan
Aug 9, 2003 11:55 AM
http://www.midcalracing.com/celeste.htm

Doug
Silver rims and spokes, Black tires, seat and bartape.lanterne rouge
Aug 9, 2003 12:20 PM
Let the celeste shine on the frame. Keep everything else traditional, in my opinion. Cloth bar tape would be great.
Surprisingly spiffy orange tape on my near-celeste Atlantiscory
Aug 9, 2003 3:05 PM
Atlantis green is very close to celeste. When I scuffed off a big section of bar tape in a 1500-mile trip lying in the back of a pickup, the only shop in town had four rolls of orange cotton tape the guy offered to give me "since I'll never sell it." I like cotton tape anyway, so I wrapped it on just for that trip. Looked surprisingly good, and I've left it three or four months.
OK, I'll bite ...tarwheel
Aug 11, 2003 5:07 AM
I've had several Celeste colored Bianchis. In my opinion, putting tires with Celeste sidewalls on a Bianchi is overkill -- too much of a good thing. The green Michelins are a pretty close match to Celeste, and you can buy Celeste sidewall tires at www.bianchiusa.com. But trust me, it just doesn't look that good. Black tires look good with any color frame. Tires with blue sidewalls also look good on Bianchi frames, particularly if your frame has blue decals. Bianchiusa also sells blue/celeste macro tape that looks real nice if you have blue sidewall tires. If your Bianchi is one of the models with a yellow fade, some tires with yellow sidewalls like Michelin Axial Carbons would look good. Just don't buy tires with yellow treads because they get dirty right away and look crappy.