RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Saddle Question(11 posts)

Saddle Questionrubendc19
Aug 7, 2003 5:36 PM
I recenlty got into Road Biking, and stock saddle that I got with my bike is the worst thing ever, after a couple of mile of riding I feel discomfort around the nose ( or better said where my jewels are). I was wondering if the saddle with the holes in them help, what do you guys think will that help me, any of you own them, what are your experiances with those?
re: Saddle QuestionPBWatson
Aug 7, 2003 6:30 PM
Stock saddles are always really bad. Your gonna have to just try different types. Hopefully the bike shop you bought it at will swap saddles & let you try out different ones. You didn't mention this but I assume you are wearing padded bike shorts, if not go get some & start over. You may also need to adjust the tilt &/or fore aft position. There are so many variables that it can be tricky to get it all just right. when you do mark everything just where you like it that way if it gets changed you can get back there easily.

Saddles are a big preference thing. I prefer the minimally padded ones. I have a couple selle italia slr's & a selle italia flite. I also like shorts with a firmer pad. I find anything else feels squishy & causes numbness.
re: Saddle Questionrubendc19
Aug 7, 2003 6:40 PM
Which ones would you guys recommend, I would like to order from the net if possibe, cuz of price
re: Saddle QuestionHigh Gear
Aug 7, 2003 7:13 PM
I have tried saddles with the slots and really don't care for them. They tend to add pressure to the surounding places at a higher degree. As everyone will tell you. Saddles are a very personal thing. Whats fits you might not fit another rider. But on the other hand, I do believe that some are more effected by numbness that others. If you are a brand new rider, you will be tender after the first few rides. If you feel lots of pressure and a high level of discomfort, then the saddle probably isn't right. Myself and many others have been through numerous amounts of saddles in our quest to find the right one. I think the best thing you can do is visit the review section of this forum and see whats working for the majority. I rally love my Fizik Aliante, but at $145 , it's one of the most expensive. My second choice is the San Marco Squadra. It has a special Dupont foam in the nose that really works for the comfort/numbness thing. Another overlooked saddle that you can find cheap is the WTB Classic SST. It has a cut-out in the shell of the saddle but is filled with foam, so there is no hole to feel. I have a few San Marco Squadras for sale in the classifieds, if my ad hasen't run up yet. e-mail me if your interested. I'll give you a good deal. ghdyjak@worldnet.att.net Good Luck
re: Saddle QuestionMVN
Aug 7, 2003 7:36 PM
For what it's worth, I recently began using a Selle Italia MaxFlite TransAm Gelflow that I bought used. It is the most comfortable saddle I've tried in the 4 years I've been riding. I was using a Koobi Silver saddle (I have 2) that was comfortable but still gave me comfort issues. I use Voler team bibs and I bought a pair of Pace ITS-250 Friction-Free bibs several months ago. I didn't like them at first, but now they are the first thing I reach for when I get dressed for a ride. I did a 40 mile ride last Sunday wearing the Pace bibs and using the Gelflow saddle, and other than not being used to sitting in the saddle for that long a stretch, there were no numbness issues. It has the TransAm cutout with the hole surrounded by gel under a perforated leather top. It is really comfortable. It may not work for you, and like others have said you will most likely have to try different things until you find the "magic" saddle or combination. As far as the Pace bibs go, the pad is designed to keep your "jewels" in place, thereby eliminating chafing, or at the very least minimizing it. So far they work for me. I don't know why I didn't like them at first, though. I guess the pad took some getting used to. The Koobi saddle has a channel down the length of it, which is comfortable for me on short rides, but on longer rides I begin having pain and numbness. Definitely find one that is wide enough for your sit bones. I can't use a narrow saddle, it causes almost instantaneous numbness and pain. For me, the cutouts work well. Your experience may be different. I would suggest doing research on saddle widths, lengths, and shapes. Then look for a used one of your choice. That way, if it doesn't work you won't be out a lot of money. However some places will let you return a saddle, like Koobi for one. They have a good return policy. The problem with it (for me at least) is that you only have 30 days to decide. Sometimes I may be busy and not be able to ride for days on end, and then my 30 days runs out and I'm stuck with it. IMO, it should be 45 or 60 days. I hope this helps.

Good Luck

Mark
Forgot to mention...MVN
Aug 7, 2003 7:44 PM
the GelFlow is not squishy or too soft, whereas the Koobi has more padding and is softer. I didn't believe it at first, but the less padding you have is actually better in the long run. Now if I could just get my wife to understand that and use a better saddle, lol. By the way, I only paid $40 for the used GelFlow. I consider myself lucky that it works for me. I just couldn't get used to the idea of paying $100 or more for a saddle and being stuck with it if it didn't work.
Another thing I forgot (it's been a long day, lol)...MVN
Aug 7, 2003 7:49 PM
try Price Point for goods Selle Italia prices. Site is http://www.pricepoint.com Also look at this thread:
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?50@216.ovXKaRWgjPZ^7@.efaf129/2 Good info there about looking for saddles.
Thanks MVNrubendc19
Aug 7, 2003 8:11 PM
I thank you for all your help.
re: Saddle Questionrubendc19
Aug 7, 2003 8:26 PM
Since the saddle things is more a personal preferance I won't ask specific saddles, so if I feel that my privates are being crunched what type or shape or firmness or whatever, I just need something to start my search
re: Saddle Questiontarwheel
Aug 8, 2003 5:24 AM
Saddles are very personal. What is comfortable for one person is torture for another. The only way to know what fits is to try some different styles. Unfortunately, it can get very expensive trying different saddles. The best advice I can give you is to start out trying some of the brands or shops that have liberal return policies. Some brands that will let you return saddles that don't fit (assuming you don't damage them) include Terry, Koobi and Avocet. Check out their different models at their websites. Personally, I use a Koobi Silver and Enduro, which fit me better than almost any saddle I have tried. Some bike shops and on-line dealers will also allow returns; performancebike.com is very good in this regard.

Another option is to buy used saddles on-line here at RBR classifieds or eBay. I have gotten some good deals on used saddles that way, and have been able to sell saddles that didn't work out for about what I paid for them. It's unfortunate that most bike shops aren't more reasonable with their return policies (or prices) because they could do a booming business in saddles.

One other thing. You may find it more comfortable starting out with a saddle with more padding, but many riders start to prefer firmer saddles as they accumulate more miles.
re: Saddle Questionc722061
Aug 8, 2003 5:33 AM
Since you are just got to road biking, I assume you also meant new to riding. In that case, your butt is not yet trained to cary your weight on a smallist saddle. There are several things to do before cash out for new saddles (with an S).

1. Wear padded bike short while riding. Do not wear it too tight, if it feels too tight buy a larger size.
2. Playing with fit until you feel comfortable. This including adjusting stem height, distance from saddle to the bar, saddle height, saddle angle (initially flat angle). Bring tools on the ride so you can adjust it.
3. Log more miles on the bike.
4. Stand up on the bike once in awhile to relieve saddle pressure.
5. Try to carry your weight on your legs too, not just on your butt

Saddle is a personal thing. I had to go through ebay for cheap used saddles until I know what I like. Not all brand-name saddles work as advertised, although a few expensive ones that most people like do actually work well for most people. Good luck and enjoy the ride.