RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Update... chasing down cyclists to give them fit advice(18 posts)

Update... chasing down cyclists to give them fit advicefunknuggets
Aug 7, 2003 2:30 PM
Yesterday, I posted this topic to help me resolve an arguement my wife and I had regarding my chasing down a kid who has been doing intervals in front of my house the past week to give him some pointers about his insanely bad fit. I appreciate everyone's opinions. You did well to back up both my side, and my wife's (you commie bastards).

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efd5183

Anyway, the kid did email me back. He and his father are discussing the purchase of a new frame and wanted my opinion on sizing and brands and frame quality. They were discussing money options, but I did let them know that I would be happy to build it for them once they got it since the local LBS's build prices on frames not purchased in their stores would detract from the money they could afford on a decent frame.

So, just a relief that the kid... or his parents, seem to be taking my advice seriously... and did not think I was some kind of pervert.

Later,
Chris
and you offered to build it up for him, way to go . . .Drone 5200
Aug 7, 2003 2:52 PM
I hereby nominate the Funk for an "Ambassador to Cycling" award. We need a second . . .
Best Possible Outcomeninelittlepiggies
Aug 7, 2003 2:52 PM
Bravo Chris,

I can't imagine a better possible outcome. All parties seem to be happy (except maybe your wife's). Good deeds do not go unnoticed.
Bravo!t0adman
Aug 7, 2003 3:00 PM
Excellent job - I second the nomination for an award.
That rocks!! Nice work!! (nm)PseuZQ
Aug 7, 2003 3:16 PM
Congratulations........(nm)TUT2222
Aug 7, 2003 3:55 PM
Pay it forwardpitt83
Aug 7, 2003 4:12 PM
Nice; I didn't expect that outcome in today's angry society. Reminds me of a story. I had just graduated collegs and a new bike was the last thing I could afford. I was still riding my 50+lb Schwinn Continental 5 spd hand-me-down. I friend was buying something new: Something like Sir-Rotta or something like that. He was willing to give me his old bike, a steel 10 speed Windsor. I hadn't fully appreciated that gesture until recently. I think that's what got me hooked.

Now, see what you've done?

Nice job.
If my wife read this board you would have made her day . . .ms
Aug 7, 2003 4:31 PM
My wife thinks that my concerns about contact with children and teenagers are ridiculous. She would point out that the 1 out of a 100 (or 1000) chance that a child or teenager (or his or her parents) will claim that something untoward has happened, is far outweighed by the good that you can do for others (and make yourself feel good, too) by engaging with them. You did a good deed and deserve a hand for it. Bravo (notwithstanding my piling on the child molester sub-thread yesterday).
Reading this just made my day!BigFatSal
Aug 7, 2003 6:43 PM
Early this morning I read your story and all the replies both for and against your actions. I was wondering what would happen but felt sad that such a good deed could potentially even be viewed as a negative thing. I was silently rooting for some good news from you, and voila! There it is! Good for you! In these days of road rage, war, reality TV, etc, it's good to hear something like this: A good person going out of his way to do a good thing for a stranger - and the stranger accepting the help without suspicion. Thanks, buddy.... And I hope that my son runs across people like you in his journey thru life.
Reality TVCRM
Aug 8, 2003 7:18 AM
There have been many times that my wife and I have seen a commercial for a new reality TV show and turned to each other said, "This is definitely the last straw in the downfall of our civilization." But I am nonetheless surprised to see "reality TV" make your list of things that plague our society alongside war and road rage. :)
Reality TVBigFatSal
Aug 8, 2003 10:21 AM
Ha! Funny you say that! I guess I'm just sick of the proliferation of the reality TV genre - it just leaves a bad taste in my mouth!

Watching the Tour was a nice dose of a different kind of "reality TV." :>) Too bad that all cycling fans can't just order up OLN and not have to be dependent on their cable provider to decide whether or not they'll get it....
Nice going-Leroy
Aug 7, 2003 7:06 PM
another cyclist coming up. You did theright thing after all. Lots better than ending up on a list of registered sexoffenders :-)
Way to go! Keep us posted. NMDERICK
Aug 7, 2003 7:11 PM
Way to go! Keep us posted. NMFURRY RABBIT
Aug 8, 2003 6:15 AM
Good for you!!! spread the love!
And Mrs. Funknuggets reaction to this was? (nm)Uprwstsdr
Aug 8, 2003 7:23 AM
And Mrs. Funknuggets reaction to this was? (nm)funknuggets
Aug 8, 2003 1:14 PM
Im sure she will be fine, but still insists she was right... imagine that... haha. She still thinks it invades others privacy, and hates to this day when I start up conversations with people in line at the store or whatever... haha... all a matter of personality...right?

Thanks for everyone's support.
Chris
well done...loki_1
Aug 8, 2003 7:46 AM
I have often thought about asking my lbs if I can sit in during the build up of a bike, just to watch and learn from someone with experience.

As a parent I am continually reminded that many of my childrens' influences will come from people who have experience in areas that I know little about.
Email was a just a testTNSquared
Aug 8, 2003 1:40 PM
to see just how big a pervert you are. JOKING!! :)

Good deed, good outcome. I usually find myself resisting the urge to give out unsolicited advice. Maybe next time an opportunity to help presents itself, I will speak up.