RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


1up or CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer?(10 posts)

1up or CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer?Mr Nick
Aug 6, 2003 8:39 PM
Going to get a trainer for my apartment. Read all the reviews and 1up seems the way to go, but just wanted to see if anyone could add a new perspective on this purchase. Thanks for the help.
Skip the CycleOps and go with the Kurt Kinetic or 1Up...SS_MB-7
Aug 7, 2003 5:00 AM
When I first started looking at high-end trainers, I first considered the CycleOps. But, after reading the reviews on this site about the CycleOps, I quickly scratched it off my list and narrowed my focus to the Kurt Kinetic or 1Up.

You really can't go wrong with either trainer, as the reviews would indicate. Personally, I went with the Kurt (road version) and couldn't be happier with it. I logged many hours last winter, some of which were 3-4 hr endurance rides, 1 hr intervals, etc. all the while, the Kurt kept going. It's relatively quiet and is rock-solid thanks to its wide stature and footing.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
http://www.geocities.com/one_speed_MB
re: 1up or CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer?Live Steam
Aug 7, 2003 5:03 AM
I have the Cyclops and haven't had any problems. Very quite and easy setup.
re: 1upJL
Aug 7, 2003 5:26 AM
I bought the 1UP using their "discount" when they had a contest here a while back. I haven't used it extensively myself, yet, but my wife has. She wouldn't dream of getting rid of it. As the person who "sets it up for her", it's very easy with their quick release system.

I bought it in early spring so I was going outside more at that point. I plan on using it more this year, especially if the Northeast weather is anything like last years winter. The little bit that I've tried it, I thought it felt very smooth with a decent resistance. From what I understand though, you can't go wrong with either.

Happy riding.

John
You can't lose...Elefantino
Aug 7, 2003 5:33 AM
I was in the same position last year, and I decided to buy the 1up because ... If you don't like it, you can return it for the full refund (including shipping) and Corky will sell you the CycleOps at the wholesale price.

Doubt you'd take him up on it, though. I junked my almost-brand-new Elite fluid (junk!) for the 1up and have been tremendously happy. It's so easy to use and, build-wise, it's bulletproof. And it breaks down to transport so easily I take it in the car for warm-ups.

However, I know folks who have the CycleOps and love it, too.

FWIW,
Mike
Thanks, great timing on your post and responses...BrianNYC
Aug 7, 2003 5:33 AM
I was going to wait till the fall to buy a trainer, but the daily rain here in NYC sped up my plans. Was literraly about to buy the CycleOps 2 this morning based on advice from a friend, but, b/c of your posts went and read the reviews and just bought the Kurt on line. Thanks again
Thanks, great timing on your post and responses...stuttsdc
Aug 7, 2003 5:37 AM
that's fine. enjoy it. I wish I had seen this post earlier. I have the cycleops. It's excellent. absolutely no complaints. and it comes w/a CTS climbing workout video. good trainer
If interested the Cycle Ops is on sale for $234 at Gearlink nmBrianNYC
Aug 7, 2003 5:45 AM
The 1up actually. Shouldn't type so fast. nmBrianNYC
Aug 7, 2003 5:37 AM
re: 1up or CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer?raboboy
Aug 7, 2003 12:07 PM
Almost 2 years with me and my wife using the Fluid2 and no problems. Easy setup, a lot of resistance and very quiet (i live on the 2nd floor of a 2 family house). I highly recommend.