RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Marin Verona frame...opinions(18 posts)

Marin Verona frame...opinionsPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 6:52 AM
X-post from components. I should have posted here first.

I know its a heavy frame, but I'm thinking of it as a winter/bad weather bike.
I have an opportunity to buy a frame/fork/headset/Mirage BB/ for around $100...whaddya think??

Paul

P.S. I have about half the extra components needed to build it up. I have the wheelset,seatpost,saddle,pedals,bar,stem,etc...
re: Marin Verona frame...opinionsJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 6:58 AM
i'm assuming it's used and is in the right size range. for $100, if it's not filled with rust, shows no signs of a bad wreck, and makes you all warm & fuzzy, i say go for it! i've not ridden or owned a marin frame, but have seriously considered one or two in the last 18 months.

having used & abused a cromo frame (i see that the verona is cromo) over the winter, for 'cross, brevets, and bad weather road training, i'd at least make mention what i'm sure you already know: try as you might, vigilant as you may be, the frame will suffer and rust and need to be treated with special attention to keep it in check.

my winter bike about to be built-up is a CF frame & fork. otherwise, if i were building a non-CF winter bike, it'd be AL frame/CF fork and disposable components.

all in all, though, for $100 it sounds like a steal. you'll get your money's worth and then some!
ThanksPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 7:24 AM
Regrettfully, this would be an online purchase so I haven't seen the frame. The owner claims to have given it two coats of a framesaver. The frame is 3 years old. Warm and fuzzy..no..but for a $100 I can take a chance. And yes, it is my size. That's what attracted me to it in the first place. I'll let you know if I buy it.

Hmmmm....now where should I buy my Record components???? ;-)
disposable record, LOL nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 7:28 AM
Didn't buy itPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 8:02 AM
Ebay...damn. Got sniped by $2 in the last 10 seconds. Damn. I wanted that frame. I need a cheapy frame for winter. Maybe a Leader??
chucksbikes.comJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 8:07 AM
he's discovered frames for his website, LOL! :)

Tsunami Alloy Road Frame and Fork, $185, 54 and 56 cm.

many others.

i've found chuck to be an honest & reliable business person, and would not hesitate to buy from him again.
Tsunami framesPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 8:57 AM
Real cheap...so why did I bother bidding for a week on Ebay??

Chucks has two different Tsunami frames that might work - the one you mentioned only if he gets a bigger size. The other is an aluminum frame/CF fork for $105 in my size. I've never heard of Tsunami - have you ever seen one??

$105 isn't much to 'risk' but I don't want to throw my money away.
Answered my own questionPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 9:09 AM
Talked to Chuck. Apparently, he bought the tubes from the builder of Decathalon frames. They were cheap due to the original builder ordering too many tubes. Anyway, he had them built up locally and named them himself - hence - no info on Tsunami frames anywhere on the internet.

The difference between the $185 and $105 frame is the chainstays. The cheaper frame had a mistake made during building. The chainstays were supposed to be 42cm but are only 41cm which restricts the rider to 700x23's..no bigger. There is also a slight weight factor.

Unless I learn something bad about these frames, it looks like a good option for a bad weather bike. Paul
wow, i didn't see that $105 dealJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 9:13 AM
what a steal. let me know if you pick it up and how it turns out. very interested...
What... A bike for evey day of the week?Dave Hickey
Aug 6, 2003 9:25 AM
Ooops..I just counted my bikes. Nevermind.................
looks like we need more days of the week (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 9:31 AM
Bought itPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 9:53 AM
I bought the $105 version for $132 including shipping. The frame came with a CF fork. For those bucks and a one year warranty, how can I go wrong?? Now I need to sell some components that won't work with it (like an Italian threaded BB) and buy some disposable ones...like Record.

When I get the frame, I'll let you all know about the finish, the welds, etc....

Paul
awesome, thanks...btwJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 10:00 AM
i'll be building this one up before month-end. it was purchased awhile back from chuck; i'm just now getting the $ together for the kit.
PurtyPaulCL
Aug 6, 2003 10:09 AM
What brand frame is it?? Or is it a "no-name" like mine?
according to chuckJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 10:17 AM
it was a leftover look kg286 bought from the asian warehouse when look moved to the kg386. chuck got a batch of the frames (new/unused) and sold pretty quickly, fairly cheap. it came with an advanced composite tag/brochure and a martec m8 threadless cf frame. 1" head tube.
Psssst...Dave Hickey
Aug 6, 2003 10:09 AM
I have the same frame. Mine was the KHS Carbon version. Excellent riding frame. FYI, I put that frame next to my LOOK KG286. Other than the 25.0 vs 27.2 seatpost(different size internal sleeve), they are same frame.
this one has a 25.0 mm seatpostJS Haiku Shop
Aug 6, 2003 10:15 AM
so it is indeed (assumedly) the kg286.

i'm excited to get it built up for winter and "beating" purposes. 105 kit from GVH. plan to ride it (maybe) on the ms150.
I have a couple of white LOOK transfers...Dave Hickey
Aug 6, 2003 10:30 AM
They sure would look nice on the downtube. I had a bunch made at Fastsigns. If you want a couple, email me at dhickey@caribbeantrans.com and I'll send them to you. I owe ya for hooking me up with Team FedEx