RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


floor pumps(18 posts)

floor pumpsgildomilo
Aug 5, 2003 6:05 AM
Anyone have a good floor pump to reccomend?
Thanks,
Gil
lots of opinions... lots of choices...Akirasho
Aug 5, 2003 6:11 AM
... I like Blackburn's TP 4 and TP 5... though admittedly, I do use a Silca pump head on a couple of pumps for airing up disc wheels.

Be the bike.
lots of opinions... lots of choices...PEDDLEFOOT
Aug 5, 2003 7:35 AM
No problems with my Topeak Joe Blow Sport.
Just bought a Park Toolspitt83
Aug 5, 2003 6:21 AM
To replace the POS Specialized which broke after 1 year of use. Silcas are well tought of, but haven't used one myself.
SKS RennkompressorSuddha
Aug 5, 2003 6:39 AM
I used a Silca for years but had trouble with the chuck popping off of my valve at higher pressures, so I'd have to hold it with one hand and pump with the other.

So I bought a $40 SKS Rennkompressor at REI. What a great pump. The chuck locks onto Schrader or Presta nicely and can put out a whopping 225psi. Not that you'd use that, but it just means that this thing really pumps quickly and easily. German-made stainless steel barrel and parts, a nice wooden handle. And affordable. I recommend it.
re: floor pumpsJetSpeed
Aug 5, 2003 7:09 AM
I just bough a JoeBlow Pro from Perfromance on sale form $60 to $35. Five year warranty, and Performance gives a lifetime warranty on top of that. It works well and pumps to 120psi eaisly.
WHY would you spend more if the pump is warrantied for ever??
2nd JoeBlow pro. (nm)Uprwstsdr
Aug 5, 2003 7:14 AM
Don't like my "joeblow," squeeks, seems flimsey.nmelcameron
Aug 5, 2003 5:33 PM
Topeak and Blackburn have done well for me...biknben
Aug 5, 2003 7:47 AM
I actually miss my Topeak floor pump. I use a blackburn now. It does the job fine but the Topeak pumped up to higher pressure quicker and with less force required.

I have an Innovations Top Dog pump which I don't like at all. I got it at a significant discount so I said what the heck. I keep it in my trunk and rarely use it. It's really cheap quality and flimsy.

I haven't used the new Park pumps but under close inspection they look like the same old pump rebadged and at a higher price. I have a high opinion of park tools but I'm surprised that Park couldn't do better than that.
Silica track pumpMR_GRUMPY
Aug 5, 2003 8:07 AM
Even though it doesn't pump a lot of air per stroke, and you have to hold the head on at high pressures, it lasts forever, and lets other riders know that you are serious...........or maybe just too cheap to buy a new pump.
I send the Silica track pump, the Energizer bunny of pumps. nmJuanmoretime
Aug 5, 2003 8:25 AM
Sorry, was supposed to be second.Juanmoretime
Aug 5, 2003 8:26 AM
Silica track pumpHigh Gear
Aug 5, 2003 12:34 PM
Yes, can't kill mine. Made of real Columbus tubing too! Licktons sells a real nice clamp on head that works very well.
Another vote for Joe Blow Pro.No_sprint
Aug 5, 2003 9:49 AM
I had no idea what I was missing while using my Silca Track pump for years.
been using nashbar blue $20 floor pump 4 years, still happy (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Aug 5, 2003 12:36 PM
been using nashbar blue $20 floor pump 4 years, still happy (nm)rayclark
Aug 5, 2003 7:10 PM
Been using the same thing for 2 1/2 years now. Works great. Best $20 spent.

RC
re: Joe Blow ProGary M
Aug 5, 2003 1:12 PM
I bought a Joe Blow after reading Doug Sloan's recommendation about a year ago and it is terrific. My Silca sits unused.
Joe BLow pro...peter1
Aug 5, 2003 6:31 PM
Works great, very sturdy and stable, comfy handle, easy to store the line out of the way. Drawbacks: fold down third leg doesn't stay up, but you don't need it since the base is so wide. Also, the lock lever will smash your thumb to a pulp if you don't get it out of the way when you release the valve...