RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody ride a Casati?(11 posts)

Anybody ride a Casati?ds5200
Aug 4, 2003 1:55 PM
Saw these frames at Excel sports in Boulder. I'm going up there next week and might ck them out. Interested in the Al w/ carbon stays. Any thoughts or reviews? Thanks
re: Anybody ride a Casati?jhart11
Aug 4, 2003 2:05 PM
A guy that I raced with in 2000 road a casati--he never had any complaints. He raced it for 30 weekends and had no complaints. He's since moved so I don't know if he still likes it, but I can tell you that I was impressed with the quality of the paint job and the welds. Hope that helps.
Dardoterry b
Aug 4, 2003 2:17 PM
just bought and built one of Excel's closeout frames. Fit and finish are very nice and the ride is just what you'd expect from an expensive aluminum frame with carbon stays. Smooth enough, stiff enough and it gets up and goes. No complaints after 300 miles, it was a great price on a sexy, quality frame.
No, although they are absolutely beautiful, bc they have...BrianNYC
Aug 4, 2003 2:36 PM
a weight limit on the U2 version of 175lbs, so I can only lust from afar. The owner of my LBS, who would otherwise happily sell me the one hanging in their shop, told me about the max rider weight. If I made the weight limit, it would be my next bike.
I rode their steel/carbon stayed frame a bit....Stinky Hippie
Aug 4, 2003 3:09 PM
....It felt very nice. Some bike "experts " I've talked to say they aren't impressed with the craftsmanship. I'm not all that keen on the craftsmanship of just about all the Italian frames I've seen here in the U.S., but I will venture to say the the craftsmanship of the Casati impressed me more than, say, my friend's Pinarello Prince Sl I've ridden a few times. ( felt like a plastic cup with cheap paint)

Feel the gin
Stinky Hippie - more feedback on the Prince SL please....BrianNYC
Aug 4, 2003 3:43 PM
I've been looking at alu/carbon combos and that is (perhaps now was) on the shortlist of "dreambikes."
Here's my impression...Stinky Hippie
Aug 4, 2003 7:41 PM
I ride regularly with a guy who owns one. Every now and then we'll switch bikes ( I have a custom stainless lugged and fillet brazed OX Platinum frame) Naturally, Aluminum is going to feel alot stiffer at the BB than steel, but while no aluminum bike I've ridden has ever had the "it's alive" feel of my steel frame, none have felt as dead as the Prince. Granted it's a "purpose-built" frame, and there is no doubting the bike is quick in the acceleration department, but it just feels uninspiring to me.

As for the the carbon stay, it does seem to help iron out the rough stuff in high speed situations, but it is all but useless in slow speed climbing situations. I suppose that this is the way all carbon/aluminum frames are bound to feel, but color me unimpressed.

the Handling is very predictable and stable at speed, but I prefer a quicker handling bike ( The Prince is my size, though perhaps a little shorter in the TT than I would like. It's mated to a 130 mm stem. The fit seems spot on with that setup)

I'm not sure of the model name, but the steel / carbon Casati I rode felt both plush and laterally stiff. It also felt more responsive in the handling department.

to tell the truth, at the prices these frames go for, I'd be more inclined to consider something like the Seven Axiom or even the Seven Alta: lifetime warranty, great craftsmanship, and made for you. a bit more money than the Casati or Prince, but not THAT much more.
Thanks...BrianNYC
Aug 5, 2003 5:13 AM
My LBS is a big Seven dealer. For some reason I have never really aesthetically appreciated them. I will check them out though. For the dollars being considered, I can say I am looking for perfection.
Who's your LBS? (nm)Uprwstsdr
Aug 5, 2003 7:28 AM
Conrad's. Great guys. nmBrianNYC
Aug 5, 2003 11:05 AM
re: Anybody ride a Casati?Sadlebred
Aug 5, 2003 5:08 AM
I've been riding a steel Casati for about four and a half years and love it. It's been raced hard, ridden on countless centuries, training rides, in the heat, rain, cold, sun, etc, and has withstood the test of time. Currently, it's raced several times per month and ridden about 5 days a week. I love the ride of the frame. It's forgiving yet stiff enough, which may have to do with my size (5'3", 130 pounds). It handles well in most situations.