RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Mountain Mama bike crash?(9 posts)

Mountain Mama bike crash?mtnpat
Aug 4, 2003 4:17 AM
There was a horrible bike/SUV crash at the start of the Mountain Mama on Saturday....does anybody know how the lady is?

Was a very sad scene.
Bad News..Pray for the familiesVaughnA
Aug 4, 2003 4:28 AM
My prayers go to both families involved with the crash.

Vaughn

From WSET.com

Cyclist Dies in Crash with Car
Sunday August 03, 2003 7:52pm

Highland Co., VA (AP) - A Roanoke County woman was killed Saturday during a bicycle event in Highland County. State Police say 52-year-old Margaret Palmieri of southwest Roanoke County was riding in the Mountain Mama Road Bike Challenge.

She was on a steep grade when her bicycle struck a Chevy Blazer in a curve on U-S Route 250 near Monterey. State Police say the driver, 56-year-old Gary Stroop of Waynesboro tried to avoid the bicycle, but it struck the left front of his vehicle. He will not be charged.

Palmieri was taken to Augusta Medical Center in Fishersville, where she was pronounced dead.
Very SadPaulCL
Aug 4, 2003 6:12 AM
I didn't know Maggie, but I rode with her husband last fall. My wife and I took a trip to a spa in Virginia. While my wife did the "spa" thing, I rode. I hooked up with her husband, Jim, and another friend. Nice guy. Extremely strong rider.

I read these posts of cyclists in accidents all the time. Regrettfully, I can put a face to the sadness on this one. I've already sent a note of condolence to her family.

Be careful out there. Paul
Previous incident?jtolleson
Aug 4, 2003 6:11 AM
I read somewhere that there had been a previous (maybe two years ago) fatality on the Mountain Mama and even litigation may have ensued. Speculation that this might mean the end of the event, yada yada.

Any insights?
Previous incident?VaughnA
Aug 4, 2003 6:31 AM
You may be thinking of a bike/car accident in a race in Blacksburg VA a couple of years ago. A bike ran a stop sign during the race where streets were not controlled. I can't remember the outcome of the litigation.

Vaughn
Previous incident?AllUpHill
Aug 4, 2003 11:23 AM
...Well I don't know the outcome of the litigation for the family of the triathlete. But the outcome for everyone else here is that the town firmly forbids any organized cycling events within city limits (even just briefly passing through, like Mountains of misery used to do). It's the town police department's way of saying "F- all you guys because that family's suing us." In fact, the official town stance on cyclists, directly from the lips of the town's police chief is, and I quote (not a joke), "We hate bikes." Very professional attitude, isn't it?

I certainly sympathize with those who lose family members in a cycling tragedy. But when the incident was the fault of the rider, please don't sue the local police department, governing body, and the event organizers because they failed to stop traffic at all intersections and, for that matter, close off the entire route and all nearby roads from cars. It's an unreasonable demand, it basically scraps any chances for future events, and it's just not the right way to take out one's grief after a loss. I'm confident such a litigation won't be pursued for the tragic incident on Saturday. I have never met the victim's husband, but I occasionally see him riding and I know what an active cyclist he is in the community. This is quite a terrible thing to happen.
Can you even ride through townPaulCL
Aug 4, 2003 12:11 PM
without getting stopped?? I can understand the town's hatred toward bikes and cyclists in general - its' their jobs on the line. I think I would stay clear of that town for about the next decade or so.

This event over the weekend was very sad. As I wrote in my post above, I rode with the victim's husband last year. Nice guy. Very strong rider. Very active in the community. Former RAAM participant/finisher/winner in a team category! Accidents happen - it doesn't look like the SUV or cyclist are to blame. I just hope he can get on with his life. Its' going to be a tough, tough year for Jim.

Have some good thoughts for him and his children. Be careful out there. Paul
Can you even ride through townAllUpHill
Aug 4, 2003 4:42 PM
No problems just riding around, of course. I can't say I fully understand their attitude though. It just seems more of an in-your-face retaliation approach ... seems a bit beyond a reasonable, measured attempt to protect their jobs and so forth. I know a couple local race promoters and their failed struggles to get permission for events over the past two years, and it was all very frustrating.

I don't know of any local cyclists/triathletes that support the family pursuing litigation, yet we're all viewed and labeled as a single group who's 100% these suits.

I had read Dan Casey's online report of your ride in Bath county back when it was first posted. Didn't, of course, realize that was you in the narrative. I've seen Jim several times riding through B'burg on his Prince (of which he has a glowing review on this site).
Very bad picturePaulCL
Aug 5, 2003 9:34 AM
Beyond my bad photo, riding in the area was fun. I'm jealous of your mountains. If I remember, we did a forty mile loop followed by a 25 mile loop. I then did the 25 miler in reverse the next morning.

I think Jim was riding a Carrera that day. An aluminum with CF stays. Nice ride.