RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Clipless pedals? Recommendations?(16 posts)

Clipless pedals? Recommendations?hank1970
Aug 3, 2003 11:45 AM
I am just getting back into cycling after a few years off. I always had problems with clipless pedals. I can't seem to get in and out of them easily.

Can someone recommend an easy to use (in and out) clipless?

Thanks
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?jtolleson
Aug 3, 2003 12:39 PM
What have you tried? It really shouldn't be a problem. For ease of entry and exit, I guess it is hard to be Speedplay, but not everyone loves the free-floating feel.
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?NC_Jim
Aug 3, 2003 1:58 PM
I'm gonna have to put some on my wife's bike soon and I've been thinking about pedals. She is not the most coordinated person in the world; as a matter of fact, sometimes I'm frightened by her lack of it.

I have and love my Speedplay X2's, but I think they are a tad finicky. Sometimes I get in and out, no problems. Other times takes a bit of patience. Never had any mishaps because of this, but I'm not sure she can handle them. Look seems to be the most popular in my crowd.

Anyone out there can give me a head to head comparison?
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?aliensporebomb
Aug 3, 2003 1:51 PM
One thing to think about is that a lot of bikes come with a
set. My TCR came with SPD-R last summer and I found these
to have their ups and downs.

Getting in was easy enough but getting out made me develop
and unorthodox and perhaps dangerous technique to get out.

Then recently I find out that the SPD-R is now discontinued
(gee I wonder why).

I'm considering SPD-SL as they have the same overall
design but lighter and probably and easier to get in
and out.

I've only used this type of clipless but I'm sure there are
others out there who've tried them all and could educate you.
I like my new SPD-SLstorquecal
Aug 3, 2003 3:48 PM
I rode with SPD pedals last year, clip out was easy enough but I never really got smooth clicking in. Things were pretty hairy getting away from stops and intersections.

I tried speedplays and loved how easy click in was but no matter how I tried, I couldn't get used to the float.

I've only had the SPD-SLs on for a little over 100 miles so far but they've been great from the start! Very easy to get into, and click out is at least as easy SPDs, probably easier. I've got the cleats with 6 deg of float and they seem about right to me.
I second the spd-sl's..bicycle268
Aug 3, 2003 5:32 PM
I've logged around 3k miles so far on my pair. Easy entry with that assuring 'click-snap' sound. I've never had a problem getting out either. I was worried about the plastic cleats but they've really proven to be a durable and quiet choice. On a less important note, the walkability of the cleats really is top notch. I was stuck hoofing it after a double flat in the rain last month and the 2 mile hike really didn't feel all that bad...well... yes it did but it wasn't cause of the cleats!

Quinn

BTW- I know these pedals can be pricey, but they can be had for less than $170 from Totalcycling.com
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?Bill from WPB
Aug 3, 2003 1:55 PM
I bought my fist road boke in Feb 2003. Was a lil' worried about clipless pedals, too. A friend recommended the Look PP 206. They're light, easy to use, and relatively inexpensive (compared to others in the market). I've had no problems with these at all. Also, look at the reviews.
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?mick wolfe
Aug 3, 2003 2:37 PM
I'll second Bill's recommendation on the Look 206. Wide range on the tension adjustment,well constructed for the price and very user friendly. When you clip out for a stop ,just glance down and make sure the pedal is oriented properly for clip in when you're ready to take off again. I spaced this one day and believe me ......the Look cleat and the BOTTOM of the pedal make for a mighty slippery slope. Not quite as drastic as Lance when he slipped out of his pedal at the TDF,but you get the idea.
Eggbeaters - They're great! NMRoadHazzardBuzz
Aug 3, 2003 2:32 PM
Definitely Eggbeaters...newridr
Aug 3, 2003 3:22 PM
I bought them last year for use on the mtn bike and never looked back. Now I use them for both road and dirt and have never had a problem. On top of being well made, they are very light compared to other pedals (even the "entry level" eggbeater S model).

Good luck and have fun.
Switched from Eggs to Zeros on the road...kjr39
Aug 4, 2003 5:35 AM
Because I wanted more float. I am still using Eggs on the MTB bike.

If your knees can handle it, go with the Eggs.

(And look for the '02 model, you should be able to get them for about 60-70 bucks.)
re: Clipless pedals? Recommendations?elcameron
Aug 3, 2003 3:11 PM
I have heard nothing but raves about eggbeaters. However, they are comparatively expensive. I have a pair of Look PP96 that are about 12 Years old on my rain/bomber bike, and they work great. I also have Look PP357 on my road bike, they do get a bit squeaky as the cleat wears, but they are very solid and easy to get in/out, and the cleats are about $12. I have a pair of speedplays that I would probably mail you for the price of the postage. The cleat wore out after only about 5k miles and it is $37 to replace.
In addition, it is very difficult to get in and out of the speedplays without looking down at your feet.
Everyone has there own opinion on pedals. Best of luck.
Campy ProFit - Shimano might be catching upKerry Irons
Aug 3, 2003 4:45 PM
Since they are not "new," Campy ProFit pedals don't get much talk these days, but in fact the new Shimano pedals are just catching up to these light weight, durable, easy entry/easy exit pedals. When I say easy entry, they are the same as Look and Shimano. Speedplay are generally easier (double sided), though if the cleat spring gets a little dirty or worn, they can be very hard to get into. What remains to be seen is whether Shimano is as durable as Campy. My Record ProFits have over 36K miles on them and only require an occasional wiping. I check the bearings annually and the grease is still perfectly clean.
i'm partial to time but...EpicX
Aug 3, 2003 6:12 PM
One of my friends that also mountain bikes swears by his eggbeaters. he has them on all his bikes road and mountain. says they are the easiest pedals to get in and out of he's tried.

i've always used time pedals so i can't really compare. I have some of the new impacts on the way. hopefully they will work out.
Bebops all the way...Matno
Aug 3, 2003 6:37 PM
(I always have to put in a plug for these pedals - they're the bomb!) Of course, I wouldn't know that if I hadn't gotten a pair for free, since I could never afford a pair new. But in case you're willing to pay $120, or whatever they cost (depending on the model) they are awesome. You won't find any pedal that is significantly better in ANY sort of comparison (e.g. stack height, ease of entry/exit, weight, etc). And the only pedals that come close in ALL categories cost even more. The only reason I can think of NOT to like them is if you don't care for a lot of float, which they have. Personally, I like the float a lot. Clicking out is as smooth and easy as any pedal out there. Clicking in is easier than most.
Ditto with Matno !!! Bebops all the way...noupi
Aug 4, 2003 2:07 PM
real easy clip in and out,light,look cool...
I like the float,easy on the knees.