RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.(53 posts)

You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.aarontoy
Aug 1, 2003 9:34 AM
You have all taught me a lot. Especially about the accepting community of roadies. Flame away...I won't be reading any of them anymore because I won't be back. I feel like saying, "Shame on you," but since I (allegedly) only have 2 days of riding experience, it doesn't seem appropriate. Sadly, I'm really going to miss this site for what it has meant to me over the past year prior to my post yesterday. And for the record, I'm not Radical Ron or whoever he pretended to be. Whatever...So from me to you, here's one last laugh. Enjoy!
reconsider?DougSloan
Aug 1, 2003 9:43 AM
No need. The majority of people who responded appeared to me to have legitimate concerns about your speed, and you did actually solicit those opinions. You have to admit that a 31 mph time trial speed is extraordinary. So, given that, I don't think most of the responses were unexpected nor out of line.

I would suggest hanging out, take a little ribbing (which we all do from time to time) and become a part of the community. Otherwise, I guess we'll see you at the Tour! ;-)

Doug
is this nick? (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 1, 2003 10:03 AM
Spirito in drag??? (nm)Dave Hickey
Aug 1, 2003 10:33 AM
Riding side saddle??? (BRRRR, makes me shiver!) nmMXL02
Aug 1, 2003 10:45 AM
I thinks he's in route to Australia. I hope he rejoins us nmDave Hickey
Aug 1, 2003 10:49 AM
re: You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.Bulldozer
Aug 1, 2003 9:44 AM
Don't go away mad. You were given a hard time because you posted a TT time that is seemingly too good to be true. You weren't even flamed as much as you could have been. Stick around and give us an updated TT time. Please?
Yeah...don't go away mad...crosscut
Aug 1, 2003 6:45 PM
Don't go away mad...just go away. And don't let the door hit you in the ass on your way out.
thats a little unfair.......african
Aug 1, 2003 9:45 AM
hey I posted something here once, and I got ripped a new orifice. I am still here. Get over it and move on.
LOL! True, african. C'mon Aaron, your posts were great.OldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 9:50 AM
Hang around. We'll be gentle, or as gentle as ARPs can be when confronted with tales that make them feel inadequate.

I still think you're RR or a clone, but that's not a BAD thing, in my view.
I'm still trying to get my resting HR down to your level :-)biknben
Aug 1, 2003 10:29 AM
Yes...some things we never forget.
THAT was a funny post...:-) nmDave Hickey
Aug 1, 2003 10:31 AM
and you will be lucky to know......african
Aug 1, 2003 10:42 AM
that my heart rate monitor broke the day after the ironman fl in november, so who knows it could be lower now. In fact the GF who is a nurse says my heart rate is so low that the heart actually makes an extra beat to try and catch up from time to time, but hell who cares right. I just want to find a flat course around here that is 3 miles long.
LOL! LOL! nmOldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 10:44 AM
Slow down, pardner!jtolleson
Aug 1, 2003 9:48 AM
And no, I'm not talking about your TT.

I read that thread, but didn't really weigh in on it. I don't see too many flames, and you shouldn't judge the entire community by one or two aggressive comments.

The 'net is a funny place where people pop off a little more than they normally would face-to-face, but by and large this board is full of really quality people.

You got skepticism from folks saying "it isn't possible." So what? They are probably right, and they may be wrong. You can re-do the TT or not; your choice. Otherwise, you can join this opinionate forum in a discussion of everything from "Campy v. Record" to foot pain to polygamy (okay, keep the latter on the non-cycling forum).

But it seems a little premature to just pick up your toys and go home. You are welcome here.
Polygamy? I've have to spend more time at non-cycling nmDave Hickey
Aug 1, 2003 10:01 AM
That's a party game, isn't it?Kristin
Aug 1, 2003 11:28 AM
Are they playing that on the non-cycling board now?
I hate to say it, but...Kristin
Aug 1, 2003 11:24 AM
I think this is all very commical. I've watched these threads with ammusment. I doubt Aaron was honestly pursing constructive critism when he posted his TT results. I say this because he received some good, solid constructive critsism which seems to have upset him very much. Yes, there were a few flames mixed in; but for the most part the responses were very constructive, thoughtfully written and didn't assume the worst. Also, Aaron has given no indication that he plans to retest himself under different circumstances. So I conclude that what he really wanted (perhaps needed) was a good ego stroking. He didn't get that. I suspsect that's why he's upset.

Now he's posted a lament about how how he's never coming back and never going to read any more posts. I suspect he's reading these words though. I've posted a couple messages like this in the past. I didn't really mean that I was leaving. If I did, I wouldn't have posted about it, I would have simply gone. In honesty, I was looking for some acceptance and validation--I wanted to know if people wanted me around or not. Thankfully, I received some kind words.

Aaron, I think the posts above are very nice AND representive of kindness of this community. I hope you hang out and become a member of this community. Its a great group and you can learn a lot from them.
One little point ...OldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 9:57 AM
If you've indeed been lurking for a year, surely you know who Radical Ron is.
One little point ...James OCLV
Aug 1, 2003 10:02 AM
And... He would have known that a 31mph TT is extraordinary, and... he would have know about the reaction he would have gotten when asking for other's opinions...

He asked for feedback - I'm still not exactly sure what he wanted to hear. Good job? That's not feedback...
We are all a bunch of suckers.........MR_GRUMPY
Aug 1, 2003 10:01 AM
If this guy is the "real thing", we'll all be hearing about him in the future. Until that time, I would advise him to enter a Time Trial (20K), and send us the results. Until that time, I've got a 99.5% chance of being correct, when I say, "What a Crock."
re: You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.BaadDawg
Aug 1, 2003 10:01 AM
After reading your pulling out of the group post (which is fine by me btw) I read your other posts and one thing strikes me 1st off. You are approaching this bike thing in a very technical way. I guess that can be a good thing, especially if you are Lnace Armstrong or something, but biking is a pleasure thing for most of even if we work out hard doing it.

Lighten up a little, you may find yourself actually enjoying the sport.
Before you leave to go pro...mohair_chair
Aug 1, 2003 10:02 AM
...you need to develop a thicker skin. Your original post led a lot of people here to question your methods and results, but isn't that why you posted?

You should have been here when a Canadian sprinter named Nick showed up. He was kind of like you, except with a much bigger ego. After a few weeks, he settled down and became a knowledgeable and helpful member of the club. He still took a ribbing now and then, but he earned a spot as a regular. It was lions feasting on the kill for a while, just like with you.

The BS threshhold is set very low here, so even if everything you say is true, there will usually be people who question it. If you are going to run away every time that happens, you might as well leave now before you get too hurt. Or you can stick around, take some lumps, and earn your spot. Your choice.
We kid because we care...(nm)merckx56
Aug 1, 2003 10:24 AM
Nick??? a knowledgeable and helpful member of the club..BWAHAHAbiknben
Aug 1, 2003 10:37 AM
He was the worst troll of all. One who won't accept that he is just a troll.

Endless posts about complete crap. He drove me nuts. For days, I wouldn't bother to look at the board. When I came back he was still trolling and everyone kept giving him the time of day. Totally annoying.

OTOH: My new jump squat routine is paying off huge. :-)
Jump squats! The funniest post/pic in the history of RBR! nmOldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 10:46 AM
anyone have the pic of the dog carring 135 pounds on back? -nmColnagoFE
Aug 1, 2003 10:52 AM
Naw, but here's Nick's jump squat!OldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 11:03 AM
PODIUMBOUNDdotCA "Cool pic - weight room workout report" 2/28/03 2:52pm
naw this is it......african
Aug 1, 2003 11:21 AM
Here it isDERICK
Aug 1, 2003 11:34 AM
And one moreDERICK
Aug 1, 2003 11:37 AM
Nick isn't that bad. Just young. His recent posts have been intelligent and to the point.
re: You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.BaadDawg
Aug 1, 2003 10:02 AM
After reading your pulling out of the group post (which is fine by me btw) I read your other posts and one thing strikes me 1st off. You are approaching this bike thing in a very technical way. I guess that can be a good thing, especially if you are Lnace Armstrong or something, but biking is a pleasure thing for most of even if we work out hard doing it.

Lighten up a little, you may find yourself actually enjoying the sport.
missed most of your posts, but you remind me of a guy named...gregg
Aug 1, 2003 10:06 AM
...Nick who used to post as "podiumbound.ca" or something like that. He posted a lot of self-performance oriented posts, and took a lot of grief also. He toned down, the regulars cut him some slack, he changed his name to Sprint-Nick, and now is a positive, contributing member of this site.

My point: It's your choice to stay or leave, of course, but most rocky roads smoothen out.

-g

gkato@roadbikereview.com
we'll all miss your expertise and valuable contributions (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Aug 1, 2003 10:08 AM
LOL, you made my day..............Len J
Aug 1, 2003 10:16 AM
get up with the sarcastic bone itching today?

Len
LOL 'bone itching' nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 4, 2003 5:38 AM
At least stick around for the "Hot Deals" section. nmfirstrax
Aug 1, 2003 10:20 AM
Quitters never win and winners never quit.Spoiler
Aug 1, 2003 10:29 AM
You've got a pretty good imagination. Wait till after the Vuelta and post some more fantasy time trial results in the Bicycling.com forum. You won't get any good advice, but you'll get plenty of naive, "Wow, I'm impressed!" comments.
Now I know your not a real roadie.MXL02
Aug 1, 2003 10:43 AM
If you can't take this anonymous kidding on an electronic bulletin board, you'll never make it. You need to be able to ride with a group who b!tch-slaps you into next week, ie, drops you on the first attack, then laughs at you when you finally catch them at the rest stop, and then you still show up the next week for more abuse. It's the only way you get better. Basically, ya gotta be tough, aka, Tyler Hamilton.

PS- Sorry for this testosterone laden post, but I've barely ridden all week, and tomorrow is....Hammer-time, and I'm chomping at the bit...
Dude, so far your posts have received close to 10,000 views!!!Uprwstsdr
Aug 1, 2003 11:02 AM
If that's not love, I don't know what love is.
..Gregg will have him on the payroll in no time! nmSpunout
Aug 1, 2003 11:25 AM
re: You'll all be relieved... it's My Final Post...Thanks a lot.CalmedDownRonPruitt
Aug 1, 2003 12:08 PM
I hope you can find forgivness in your heart, and find a way to better the situation with the good people on this board. Likewise, I hope they make thier peace with you. You are an important person here on earth, and you have lots to cherish and find blessings in.
you forgot - "and darn it, people like you!" nmterry b
Aug 1, 2003 12:15 PM
you forgot - "and darn it, people like you!" nmCalmedDownRonPruitt
Aug 1, 2003 12:19 PM
I am very comfortable with the words I have chosen to help mend the hearts of the people on this board. I hope we can heal, and continue to discuss all the healthy aspects of cycling.
but confirming his basic likeability can only help (nm)terry b
Aug 1, 2003 2:20 PM
Goodness graciousKristin
Aug 1, 2003 12:24 PM
Its like the JohnDe/Ishmael conversion all over again.
Goodness graciousCalmedDownRonPruitt
Aug 1, 2003 12:27 PM
Who is that. I am not familiar with his witness?
So long-Promise to return as Calmed Down Aarontoy? (nm)Crankist
Aug 1, 2003 1:20 PM
We need a great spiritual advisor like Jesse JacksonCalmedDownRonPruitt
Aug 2, 2003 8:02 AM
to help us find harmony on this board. He is a great man, and a man of god.
He is a great man, and a man of god.Crankist
Aug 3, 2003 8:19 AM
As are you Aaron, as are you.
I have much thicker skin than Aaron.CalmedDownRonPruitt
Aug 3, 2003 8:29 AM
My name is Ron. It isn't Aaron. Please don't insult the Reverend Jesse Jackson. He has done some great things for this country. It is ashame that he isn't running for president, as this country could use such a peacemaker at this time.
RBRers UNITE!!!funknuggets
Aug 1, 2003 1:33 PM
Man, nothing like a memory of sprint nick in the form of some kinda 35 year old freak to cause us all to bristle together in jealousy and fear. Oh the angst and self doubt this Seabiscuit of a man has created. You know, maybe his brother was a fantastic cyclist that got cancer and he will ride to victory in his honor despite being nearly pushed off the edge of a cliff. You know, us goofy doubters, that it CAN happen. We actually should relish that this prodigy should grace us and provide US with tips on training and give US the proper diet and strength training tips because obviously WE are the ones doing something wrong.

I know this guy is likely miffed, but it would be like me saying... with only 3 months of strength training at 160 lbs, I set the world record in the bench press OR just beat "The Rock" in an arm wrestling match. Please... set your computer to MPH instead of KMs or just accept the fact that you just "may" not be as good or as fast as you think you are.

If you are, my friend, you are lucky indeed. And the racers here on this board will likely get dropped like they are riding tricycles when they try and beat you. Prove them wrong, enter a race. Show us the race results and beat some decent riders other than the local schoolkids and then we can talk about how good you really are. I do truly wish you the best of luck and don't ever be afraid to come here with legitimate questions or comments. But, if you are going to come on here and say that you are as good as Lance... your ass better be coming back with at minimum some "meaningless" state TTS because obviously they are beneath your genetic ability.

Im going to go out on a limb and state that you never post here again, not because of us, but because you never will be able to replicate the performance... or that you get dead last in a REAL TT or race and your beaming self confidence will be so shattered you just disappear. But that is just me and my bedraggled 2 cents. You have posted your fantastic results. Now prove it with results. I look forward to being proven wrong. Good luck you genetic freak.

So sayeth the Funk
Chris
Ya think he can climb...koala
Aug 1, 2003 4:32 PM
all bunched up like that? In that position its hard to believe he could climb sitting down. The boy does have a set of tree trunks for legs though. Better to catch a tail wind with.