RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cleat wear and noise(10 posts)

Cleat wear and noiseISA11
Aug 1, 2003 7:07 AM
I just got a new bike (trek 5200) with the R600 Shimano pedals. Prior to this bike, I was using the Look cleat. I changed pedal systems to stop the noise and outside wear of the cleat. However, I am once again getting the grinding noise and wear on the new pedals (mostly outside edge). Can anyone help me solve this problem? Do I need sometype of shim to combate the wear? Thanks in advance. RSG
me too.....african
Aug 1, 2003 7:20 AM
I have look pedals and I get a creaking noise from the pedals/cleats ??????
I think this is just a reality with Look cleats.Kristin
Aug 1, 2003 7:43 AM
AFTER I bought my Look pedals it seemed like I heard lots and lots of complaints about how much noise they make. about Looks and creaking continuously. (Its interesting hat I heard none of these complaints BEFORE I bought the pedals.) Mine were fine until I got a little bit of cleat wear. Now they creak insessantly. Can ruin a serene 5:30am ride. My next pedals will be Speedplays.
LOOK cleats...Dave Hickey
Aug 1, 2003 8:07 AM
The only time I have a problem with LOOK cleats is when they're worn. The picture shows three little holes on the cleats. When these holes are gone, the cleat is worn and should be replaced. I've never had a problem with creaking when the holes are still visible.
I must be luckyMR_GRUMPY
Aug 1, 2003 8:31 AM
I've used look cleats (black) for years, and only get that problem when it rains. After the rain stops, and the road starts to dry off, the cleats squeek. I just wipe them off, when I get home, and that's it for squeeks.
Maybe the black cleats have something to do with it. The red cleats rotate on the pedals, which causes plastic to Aluminum rubbing.
Me too, but I put on Kool Kovers when off the bikecdhbrad
Aug 1, 2003 9:18 AM
and really don't have any wear issues. $10 for the Kovers sure saves the cleats.
Wow you must be right..........african
Aug 1, 2003 9:48 AM
you could be right should I say, my shoes have black cleets, my other shoes have red. I have been in the wet a bit lately and I have only been using the black cleets. Interesting, thanks for the input.
Wow you must be right..........MR_GRUMPY
Aug 1, 2003 10:13 AM
It's my opinion that 60-75% of riders could use black cleats.
Cleat wear and noise--The Crayola Solutionduckstrap
Aug 1, 2003 9:32 AM
I was also having creaking issues with my Look pedals/cleats. I took one of my kids' sharper crayons (red for red cleats, for those concerned with color coordination), and colored around the contact areas. Viola, the noise was gone for ~3 mo. I wonder, though, if you are having consistent wear on the outside of the cleat whether you might want to adjust the cleat side-to-side so as to allow it to sit centered in the pedal while you are pedaling. Good luck!
Cleat wear and noise--The Crayola SolutionISA11
Aug 1, 2003 12:48 PM
Thanks for all of the replies, I am going to try the crayons and possibly move my cleats out a little bit. Thanks again, great replies and help. RSG