RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


School bans bicycles(12 posts)

School bans bicyclesGadfly
Jul 31, 2003 6:45 AM
In a suburb of Chicago, administrators think that bicycles are too dangerous to ride to school:

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/local/chi-0307310157jul31,1,7185632.story?coll=chi-news-hed

(Today's Chicago Tribune)
Illinois Leadergregario
Jul 31, 2003 6:51 AM
I wonder if the dips$#t that did this reads the Illinois Leader.
Never heard of it. [nm]Gadfly
Jul 31, 2003 7:55 AM
Never heard of it. [nm]rollo tommassi
Jul 31, 2003 8:29 AM
a bunch of Ultra Right Wing Black Helicopter Shadow Gov'mnt Nutcases!

www.illinoisleader.com
Linkage...Chicago_Steve
Jul 31, 2003 8:20 AM
Hey Ralph,

Here's what gregario was referring to...

http://www.illinoisleader.com/columnists/columnistsview.asp?c=6972

It's a scary state we live in isn't it?
Fargit! Text of article posted here (as poster should)...Spunout
Jul 31, 2003 6:56 AM
School puts foot down on bikes
Riding ban causes stir in Wauconda
Advertisement


By Courtney Flynn, Tribune staff reporter. Freelance reporter Sean D. Hamill contributed to this report

July 31, 2003

Making the approach of another school year a gloomier prospect than usual for some students, a Wauconda district recently outlawed bicycles at one of its schools, prompting some parents to protest.

School officials said they banned bikes at Wauconda Grade School because of increased traffic in the area and an accident this spring in which a pupil was hit by a car, though not seriously injured, while riding to school.

But at least one parent said the accident was an isolated incident, fueling complaints that the ban is an overreaction.

"This is outrageous," said Jose Pineiro, 38, whose children often ride to and from school. "It's a knee-jerk reaction to something that could be easily addressed."

The ban, which takes effect when classes start Aug. 27, is fairly unusual, state school officials said. Although the state does not track such data, officials said they were not aware of a similar ban outside the district.

The decision in Wauconda already has drawn criticism from the Chicagoland Bicycle Federation, which backs Pineiro and other parents who plan to support their children in a protest ride Aug. 7 at the next school board meeting.

"We believe that no child should be prevented from bicycling to and from school, if their parents think it's OK," said Dave Glowacz, director of education for the federation. "To say that our children can't bicycle seems rather unenlightened."

Administrators for Wauconda Community Unit School District 118 said a similar ban has been in effect for about five years at the district's middle and high schools. Bike racks at Wauconda Grade School were removed this summer and moved to two elementary schools where bike riding is still allowed.

The district serves about 4,000 students in its five schools. About 650 to 700 students will attend Wauconda Grade School this fall, school officials said.

The decision to ban bikes on school property is made by individual principals, District 118 Supt. John Barbini said.

Hundreds of children mixing with heavy traffic around Wauconda Grade School, 225 Osage St. near Slocum Lake Road, can make for a dangerous situation, especially if pupils on bikes dart in front of cars, Barbini said.

"We cannot run the risk of ignoring a safety problem," he said. "The simplest answer is for the school to ban bike riding."

Pineiro and other parents said the answer is to ensure the safety of their children by controlling traffic around the school, not outlawing bikes.

Some parents also said they should have been told that administrators were considering the ban before they implemented it.

"They should not have made that choice without consulting with the parents or the kids," said Marilyn Glenn, 50, of Wauconda.

For the last two years, Glenn has allowed her daughter, Megan, 12, to ride her black 10-speed bike to Wauconda Grade School, six blocks from her home. This year Megan will attend the middle school.

Glenn said she doesn't understand why the district would ban what has become part of her daughter's routine. Riding to school "gives her independence. It's good for exercise. And she rides with her friends," Glenn said.

A crossing guard has been stationed in front of the grade school along Osage, but Pineiro said adding another guard could help with safety.

Barbini said more crossing guards will not solve the problem.

"It doesn't matter how many crossing guards, in our opinion, you have," Barbini said. "Given the way students at this age level tend to ride their bicycles, it's just not worth the risk."

Parents who have sent their children to Wauconda Grade School on bikes will have to make other accommodations, he said.

That doesn't bode well for childre
remaining text of article...Gadfly
Jul 31, 2003 7:54 AM
Guess you forgot to include the last few lines as you retyped the entire thing by hand on your IBM Selectric:

...children who enjoy biking to school.

Taylor Sherman, 11, said he likes riding his Huffy because it's faster than walking. He does not agree with the bike ban and said he had planned on riding to school this year.

"I don't think it's fair," he said. "I'm close enough to ride [to school], but if I walked, it would take me like a half an hour."
re: School bans bicyclesRockyHillClimber
Jul 31, 2003 7:34 AM
They are also banning motorized scooters. Seems the gangs are using them for drive bys these days. What is this world coming too?
Traffic around schools is crazy.Spoke Wrench
Jul 31, 2003 7:49 AM
I drive a school bus and I think that school is one of the most dangerous places kids go to. The elementary schools have adults outside the building every morning or we don't release the kids off of the busses. I still see something crazy happen almost every day.

Auto traffic in and out, school busses, parents letting kids out of cars in the middle of the parking lot, kids who walk to school, I see hazards everywhere I look. I think that it's quite a bit worse than a typical street where you only have traffic miving in two directions. I can understand why a school principal might think it a good idea to try to eliminate one category of user approaching the school.
No, Drivers around schools are crazy. nmSpunout
Jul 31, 2003 8:00 AM
Oh, no! I see Segway vs Hummer soon. (fiction)c722061
Jul 31, 2003 7:51 AM
2005 Chicago school board press release:
Due to recent accidents we decided to ban all Segway riding to all Chicago middle schools...

Chicago Tribune:
Road Raged - driver killed 4 students for riding too slow on their Segways which blocked his behemos hummer from passing.
In the interview with the driver, he said he did not see the kids because he was sitting too high in his truck. Eye witnesses reported that the driver got enraged for not be able to pass the students due to the roads too narrow for his hummer so he chose to ran them over.
Believe it or not, I actually went to school there.MR_GRUMPY
Jul 31, 2003 8:30 AM
Tons of School Buses pulling in and pulling out, not counting traffic from parents driving their kids to school.
I'm not sure if I agree with them, but I can understand why they might think that is a very dangerous area for kids on bikes. There are always lots of kids on the wrong side of the road, weaving around like nobody ever showed then how to ride a straight line.