RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which wheels (sorry to ask this question)?(11 posts)

Which wheels (sorry to ask this question)?lemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 10:08 AM
I am having problems deciding which wheels to buy. I am trying to decide between:
1745g Bontrager Race Lites($250-$300)
1740g Cane Creek Aerohead ($250)
~1450g custom built wheels (Sun Venus rims, 24/28 Wheelsmith AE15 spokes, American Classic hubs for $400)
1520g Bontrager Race X Lites ($575)

Would the X Lites or the custom built wheels be durable enough for normal daily use, or should they only be used as race wheels (I weigh 170lbs)? Do I have to use an aluminum-bodied cassette with the X Lites since they have an aluminum freehub body? Who makes aluminum bodied cassettes?
why not yer basic handbuilt w/DA hubs? nmgtx
Jul 30, 2003 10:27 AM
I agree.No_sprint
Jul 30, 2003 10:31 AM
Pretty hard to beat the CC deal at or about $250.
re: Which wheels (sorry to ask this question)?PaulCL
Jul 30, 2003 11:07 AM
The customs sound eerily similiar to Speedreams sans Sapim X-Ray spokes. Here's a question?? Is it worth $150 to save 3/4 of a pound (300 grams) of rotating weight?? If the answer is yes, go custom. If no, the CC's are good wheels.

By the way, I am in the mid to upper 180's (6'1") and am historically hard on wheels. My Speedreams - built on Sun Venus rims & one AC hub & one Campy hub - have been very durable except when something stupid happens. I've had to have them rebuilt a couple times after running over boulders, getting run off the road, etc....
re: Which wheels (sorry to ask this question)?lemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 11:45 AM
It is worth it to me to drop the weight, but I am worried about durability and stiffness. I have heard some say the X Lites are durable, but they are so expensive. I also don't like having the aluminum freehub body. I don't even know where to get an aluminum bodied cassette. I don't know if the AC rear hub is aluminum or not. So basically I don't mind spending the money to save the weight, but I am not willing to give up durability and stiffness for the weight. I just don't want to have to true the wheels on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.
My thoughtsspincircles
Jul 30, 2003 12:22 PM
I personally like my 32 spoke, 3x, box section wheels laced to smooth, durable chorus hubs.

You should check out IRD rims. They're the same as the AC350 rims with a little more material and eyelets. They're more durable and only weigh 390g. You can get a 32 spoke wheelset that weighs ~1600g on solid hubs for around $300.

For a race day wheel I'd look for aero first, light second.
I have thought of the IRD rims...lemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 1:16 PM
but a reputable wheel builder told me that he didn't think they would be as durable for someone my weight as the Sun Venus with the AC hub. He just said I would have to true them more often. Also the Venus may not be as light, but it is a little more aero than the IRD (and they have eyelets also).

Also, is the best way to increase aero is to have stronger rims (and a good aero profile) and fewer bladed spokes?
Attn: Lemmy999No_sprint
Jul 30, 2003 1:26 PM
The AC hub is absolutely not the most durable hub. In fact, it is likely the least durable hub out there. I'm not slamming them just telling you like it is. They are a sponsor of mine. I've got two sets of them. They are super light, which is what I like. I've get several wheelsets so none get 7000 per year. I'm light and not hard on wheels. I plan on rebuilding them basically every year. They are my race wheels.

I've taken them apart. The bearings are the tinyest of any of my hubs. The pawls have a bit more play in them than any of my hubs.

If you want durable, go Chris King or Phil Wood or Hugi.

You want a great compromise between performance, weight, durability, price, etc. go for something like the Campy Neutron.
Another hub option: White IndustriesBergMann
Jul 30, 2003 2:10 PM
The new White Industries LTA hubs are in the same ballpark both weight and pricewise as the Chris Kings and Hugis.

I've got 10 year old MTB wheels with their original "Tracker" rear hub. Still going strong.

PS -- want to hear an unending litany of woe? Read the reviews of the American Classic hubs over the last several years on RBR -- I wouldn't touch that junk with a 10 foot pole.
Another hub option: White Industrieslemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 8:18 PM
I checked the reviews and there are a few that said the bearings failed in 500 miles or less but a majority claimed them to be durable. Which reviews are you talking about?

I looked at the Chris King rear hub and it is not that much heavier than the AC (~40g).
Don't sweat the aluminum freehub bodyAllUpHill
Jul 31, 2003 12:19 AM
The left side of each spline will get nicked just a bit from the smaller loose cogs, but it's not a big deal (speaking from my experience with the Race X Lites). Dura ace cassettes have an aluminum spline body for the largest 6 cogs or so, but the smaller ones are steel and fit on individually. In both cases, it matters not.