RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attached(21 posts)

Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attachedaarontoy
Jul 30, 2003 9:06 AM
Can someone please offer some suggestions for me? For the most part I feel comfortable on the bike unless I get into a more aero position (in the drops or low on the hoods. Then I find that my large thighs hit my chest. I've tried raising the saddle but then I feel like I'm reaching too far in the pedal stroke and my hips start to rock. My height is 5'8", 183 lbs. Would a longer stem help? The bike is a 53.
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attachedmaurizio
Jul 30, 2003 9:32 AM
I'd say do whatever is comfortable. If your thighs are indeed hitting your chest, raise or get a slightly longer stem. Based on the arch of your back, I'd go for the longer stem, but I've been more of a traditonal fit kid of guy.
This will help your diaphram fall lower and allow you to breathe better, but if you're doing nothing by crits, it may affect your handling somewhat.
There's trade off's to everything.
You look like S. KellyMR_GRUMPY
Jul 30, 2003 9:50 AM
You need a longer top-tube/stem. If you have a 110, try a 120 or 130. If you have a 130, you need a new frame.
Better than R. Kelly (woo) nmpitt83
Jul 30, 2003 11:22 AM
Only you can decide, butjtolleson
Jul 30, 2003 9:56 AM
it appears that your tt or stem needs to be longer. I'm betting that you've got overlap between knees and elbows, and it looks like your head is out practically past your bars. Pics can be deceiving.

If you are comfortable, you may not want to futz with what works just because a bunch of anonymous people on the internet said so, however.
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attacheddivve
Jul 30, 2003 9:58 AM
What's your current crank length? Shorter cranks will allow for a slightly increased saddle height, and your knees won't come up as height relative to you body.
no, no, no...C-40
Jul 30, 2003 12:15 PM
The difference in crank lengths is insignificant with regard to frame fit. Crank length should be selected based on leg length and/or pedaling style.
well......divve
Jul 30, 2003 3:22 PM
....front that first pic it does look like his knee is at a rather sharp angle. He said his saddle can't go higher so there's not that many options to correct that aside from changing crank length, his saddle could also be too far back, thus too low as compensation, but I can't tell from that image.

What we really need is an image straight from the side with his cranks at 12, 3, and 6, his hands in the drops, and his hands on the horizontal of the bars with his lower arms horizontal with the top tube. We could tell a whole lot from pics like that.
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic AttachedMShaw
Jul 30, 2003 9:59 AM
Saddle a little too high, TT much too short.

See that hump in your back? It shouldn't be there. Longer TT is the answer (you may want to try a 2cm longer stem first). I'm about your size and build and I find myself fitting really well on a frame with a 54.5cm TT.

What size crankarms are you using? If you're racing crits, they probably shouldn't be any longer than 172.5mm. 167.5 or 170s would be best for spinning up to speed out of corners.

Try a new stem, see if that helps. Stems are comparatively cheap... Weyless is making some Ritchey look-alikes that will let you play with that position for not a lot of $$.

That help?

Mike
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attached03Vortex
Jul 30, 2003 10:11 AM
How it all feels to you is what the correct answer is but by the picture it appears as if you can be stretched out more. The stem appears short as evidenced by the hunch on your back. what size is it? I am just about 5'9" with a cycling inseam of about 32in or 81+ cm and I ride a 55 with a 55.5 top tube. I use a 110 stem.

Playing with the height of the saddle is not your answer. The height is a realtive constant while fore/aft can be adjusted slightly depending upon preferences.

Poll C-40 for a response as he is our local expert. My opinion is that once your saddle height is set, you will need a longer stem.
Better...PsyDoc
Jul 30, 2003 11:13 AM
...if there was a photo of you riding with your hands on the hoods. Your stem does look too short, but it depends on how the bike feels to you. I am 5'-9" and ride a bike with a 56.5cm TT, 73.5 STA and HTA, and a 110 stem. When I am in the drops, I do get a bit of knee elbow overlap, but it has never been a problem. Not that it really matters, but look at the pros when they are in the drops as they have knee/elbow overlap as well.
More pics and what degree rise should i go for???aarontoy
Jul 30, 2003 1:52 PM
Here are some addl pics that may help you guys help me better. One on the hoods. Will also post another in the drops but better angle.
More pics and what degree rise should i go for???aarontoy
Jul 30, 2003 1:55 PM
If you want a longer stem...FL_Rider
Jul 30, 2003 12:04 PM
I have one in the classifieds section here:
Extralite Road Stem (108g.)
http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=3f283beb389a277f&search_and_display_db_button=on&db_id=35613&results_format=long&query=retrieval&exact_match=on
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic AttachedPack Meat
Jul 30, 2003 12:13 PM
Off topic - you're an aerodynamic nightmare - lose the visor and the bottles behind the seat. If they don't fit on the frame then I guess they can stay behind the seat.

I think a longer stem will only make you reach more and straighten out your arms. This may be an issue of flexability. If you're not very flexible your hips can't rotate forward which allows your back to flatten and stretch out. I would work on flexability in your hips then try a longer stem with some rise to it. More rise will make up for a lack of flexability.

You look like you can put out some serious power.
saddle too high, stem too short...C-40
Jul 30, 2003 12:23 PM
From what I can tell, your saddle is too high. Your leg angle is OK, but your heel is above horizontal. Some folks pedal successfully with this setup, but it slows down my cadence, which reduce power. I'd drop the saddle 1-2cm.

It appears like your knees and elbows overlap. In this riding position, you should have at least a small amount of clearance between the knees and elbows. I have about 2cm of clerance in this position. The stem looks like a 90 or 100 to me. I'd guess another 20mm would be reasonable.
Advice as good as another...tempeteOntheRoad
Jul 30, 2003 12:27 PM
Looks like you have a proportionnaly long torso.

before changing the stem, did you try slipping back the saddle a cm or two... or more if you feel like it.

The rocking hips is a good indication you should not raise the saddle more (although, from the position, a cm could be possible; but watch out for any weird sensation in your knees...

Then, maybe you want to swap for a longer stem? Keep the same rise; it'll open up for breathing.

Nice bike anyway.
p.s. Don't cross your chain like that! : ) n.m.tempeteOntheRoad
Jul 30, 2003 12:41 PM
Man! How do you feel!?gtscottie
Jul 30, 2003 1:59 PM
Post a picture of yourself in bike shorts and everyone tells you that you need a longer stem....how rude is that!! :)
Like everyone says.....A longer stem, but a higher stem too.High Gear
Jul 30, 2003 6:55 PM
Part of the problem is that the frame may be too small. How is your knee over pedal? You know, crank at 3 o'clock, a string with a washer on it dropped from the bump just under the kneecap in relation to the pedal axial. I'm just trying to figure out were you are in relation to the rest of the bike.
re: Help with Bike Fit - Pic Attachedmainframe
Jul 31, 2003 6:39 AM
How is your general posture? I doesn't appear to me that anything close to a flat back could be realized by stretching out a mere 2cm., be it stem or TT.