RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Spin Doctor Pro Repair Stand II???(10 posts)

Spin Doctor Pro Repair Stand II???t-bill
Jul 30, 2003 7:43 AM
Anybody used one of these before? It looks like it folds up pretty small, but how stable is it? How is the clamp?

Thanks!
I like it ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 7:56 AM
... the sale price of $99 is pretty hard to resist.

Mine holds the 44-lb cruiser with no problem, at any crazy angle I need. You have a lot of adjustment options, but I picked it because it looked pretty stable with the legs adjusted fairly flat, so my clumsy feet don't trip over them. I've never tipped it over.

The clamp gets the job done. On the cruiser, I need to have the swinging part DOWN for most mounting positions (its a WIERD frame for a workstand), and it does take some strength to hold that particular lead-sled up with my left hand while operating the clamp with the right. Any roadbike mounts easily.
Me, too. For the price diff, though, I might get the EssentialSilverback
Jul 30, 2003 8:09 AM
A neighbor of mine has one that I've used several times--works fine, holds all the bikes, no complaints.
For just home, occasional use, though (which is all I do these days), I might save $50 or so and get the Spin Doctor Essential, the one that looks like an upside-down Y. I've had one of those for four or five years, and it does everything I need.
re: Spin Doctor Pro Repair Stand II???lemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 8:04 AM
I liked mine ok. It is fairly stable, but I can't get the clamp to rotate and lock so since I clamp from the seat post all most of the weight is in the front of the bike, so it always rotates forward until the front wheel is on the ground. So my gripe is that I can only get it to be in one angle and that is the angle with the front wheel sitting on the ground. It has been a fairly durable stand though.
Indexed or friction clamp?Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 8:10 AM
When I bought mine, the floor model had a funky friction clamp ... looked like it used the weight of the bike to lock it in place, and I wasn't going to buy it. Then I found the ones for sale had a very positive indexed system. It doesn't allow every conceivable angle to be set, but when set, it stays set.

This was last fall. Do you have the earlier model?
Mine is friction and it sucks! (nm)lemmy999
Jul 30, 2003 8:29 AM
Solve your problemsgtscottie
Jul 30, 2003 8:43 AM
with a ParkTool PCS1 it will hold any bike at any angle. Granted it is a little more expensive but well worth it. You can get all sorts of add ons too such as tool trays etc...
Thanks for the input! nmt-bill
Jul 30, 2003 8:59 AM
where can you get these?? nmPBWatson
Jul 30, 2003 9:45 AM
Performance (nm)Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 10:25 AM
nm